Hurling is the greatest game in the world

You said he dived, then he fell down from from a punch to the stomach… he got two hits, one a punch to the chin outlined above and the second was to the stomach. The man was winded and then got a bandage to his chin to stop the bleeding. He didn’t dive when his hair was ruffled like the footballer lad last year or throw himself two foot in the air for a slight hand on the hip like the Mayo fella… Like i said, west brit football has introduced cheating into Irish sport.

Ah he’s lucky to be alive. Shur no way could a man be expected to stand up after receiving the thunderous blows he got :grinning:

Youre flip flopping around like your football heroes :joy: You’ve never been winded I suppose, lads who work down the bog don’t do winded :joy:

An intercounty player being winded from that tap, the poor aul divil. Is he the fella that had his mother fighting for him on twitter?

A tap — says the fella tucked up watching it on his couch :joy: You’re all over the place… Your self and Hislop just hate the Irish and their indigenous sports.

Shur it’d still have been a tap had I been the one giving it, my whereabouts don’t really affect the softness of it!

Listen mate, while you’re fighting for our sports on the internet, some of us like myself and @Brimmer_Bradley are out there on the ground coaching young fellas how to really drive a hurl into someones jaw and ribs. take a care there.

Fair play to @Brimmer_Bradley, a great man.

+1. There’s no one on here to measure up to him.

It’s certainly true that the clash of the ash was a great spectacle, and as you say pulling on the ball has been abandoned, as most of the time you have not much idea where it will end up. Something should be done about rucks, it would be hard to implement anything sensible though. The positives though are the level of accuracy of stick passing, the control by the receiving player, and just movement off and on the ball in general. From 1 - 15 you have to be able to deliver the ball very accurately now, and some of the build up play and finishing is top drawer (Galway’s first goal on Sunday for example). It’s still a great game, although I can see why the timber merchants pine after the old days.

Tactics are what has ruined hurling as a spectacle though, the defensive shit that Davy introduced to Waterford and brought to Clare. Hopefully teams can see after this past two weekends that ultimately you have to score more to win, and being brave and aggressive negates being overly defensive.

All sports go through changes.
There was a time in soccer when most teams lined up 2-2-6 and most games were goal fests. When 2-3-5 came along, people lamented the defensiveness of pulling an extra man back to midfield.

Never knew Eddie Keher posted here

Who?

Why do you always follow me around the place on here?

This is a thread im committed to

Full house today at Croker I presume?

What was the attendance at Coke park today, chaps?

Hi.

Bump

There was about 20 thousand more at today’s game than at one of the stick hurling semi finals.