Hurling League 2014

I also think 1B might not have been a bad place for Cork next year. It wasn’t for Dublin and Limerick this year only Limerick didn’t realise this when they were complaining about a disaster following the loss to Dublin in the 1b final.

The Kerry co board generally go about their business well Glas. They could do a bit more for hurling development alright but the hurling clubs themselves may also have to look in the mirror. Hurling is active in 11 adult clubs ( 8 senior , 3 intermediate) in Kerry which is not bad for a Christy Ring county

With Limerick - looking in from the outside I see the failure to build on the wonderful performances of the team of the Galvin, Lucey, Quane et al era in terms of developing the game in Limerick as a bigger crime than the recent Munster seeding issue

Could you imagine if Crystal Palace had been told “sorry lads, we know you won the play-off final, but we’ve decided to have only 18 teams in the Premier League next year, so there’s no place for you after all.”

Then two years later Manchester United finished third last of the 18 and were relegated but the Premier League decided to expand the league back to 20 teams to save them.

This is the second time the GAA have pulled this kind of stunt after the fact in the space of two years. In any other sport there would be massive lawsuits over this kind of thing. Only in the GAA does his type of thing happen, mainly due to the influence of one man.

[quote=“Sidney, post: 839971, member: 183”]Could you imagine if Crystal Palace had been told “sorry lads, we know you won the play-off final, but we’ve decided to have only 18 teams in the Premier League next year, so there’s no place for you after all.”

Then two years later Manchester United finished third last of the 18 and were relegated but the Premier League decided to expand the league back to 20 teams to save them.

This is the second time the GAA have pulled this kind of stunt after the fact in the space of two years. In any other sport there would be massive lawsuits over this kind of thing. Only in the GAA does his type of thing happen, mainly due to the influence of one man.[/quote]

are you sure that this is only the 2nd time this had happened in recent times!? Putting this mainly down to one man is also unfair. The league format has been changed in the past. Different counties have benefited others have been hard done by so I think its unfair to put all the chopping and changing in recent years down to one man. Plenty have their paws on this one. I have lost count of the number of inter county managers whining about the league format many of them making no sense in the process. Blaming one man isn’t fair here

No one would have a problem with league changes if advance notice was given 12 or 18 months out - “we’re increasing/reducing the amount of teams in the top flight the year after next”. That way teams know what they have to do to stay up or avoid relegation.

It is the decision to promote/not promote teams in between campaigns without any prior warning which frustrates everyone. Absolutely no long term or even medium term planning - just made up every October as the season ends.

Limerick were fucked over in 2011, won promotion on the field of play but then told “tough luck”. As it was we failed to get promoted on the field of play in 2012 and 2013 (I’ve no issue with that) but now it looks like we’ll be back up because Cork were relegated and the powers that be could/would not countenance that. It’s a joke really.

Frank to the rescue. Seems to be extremely unfair on Wexford and Offaly in particular.

Seriously though, I think everyone agrees this only works if Wexford are in the top tier after the shenanigans the last time.

[quote=“Mullach Ide, post: 839885, member: 141”]Now we know why Limerick voted for the seeded football draw in Munster.
Scratchy backs with Frankeen.[/quote]
How do you think these conversations go? Is it as simple an straightforward as this?

Frank: Listen we know the football thing is a bit unfair, but it’s great for the economy in Killarney an Cork to have the final every 2nd year. So if ye let that slide I’m pretty sure I have the boys talked round about the 2 of us playing Div.1 hurling next year. Do you think you’d be able to sell that to the executive?

Limerick Rep: Considerate it done Frank.

[quote=“caoimhaoin, post: 839993, member: 273”]How do you think these conversations go? Is it as simple an straightforward as this?

Frank: Listen we know the football thing is a bit unfair, but it’s great for the economy in Killarney an Cork to have the final every 2nd year. So if ye let that slide I’m pretty sure I have the boys talked round about the 2 of us playing Div.1 hurling next year. Do you think you’d be able to sell that to the executive?

Limerick Rep: Considerate it done Frank.[/quote]

That’s exactly how I imagine it goes.

Sounds like Kev not only knows Frank as well, but how he operates.

Nice little Leinster League feel to division Ib all the same. Wexford, Carlow, Offaly, Laois, Westmeath and Antrim all in the one division. Hard to believe that that league wouldn’t be competitive and lads will save a fortune on the mileage.

Presumably Wexford and limerick being the two teams that were relegated with the stroke of a pen will be in division 1. Cork who were legitimately relegated on the field of play will be in 1B.

I would have no real problem with the league staying in it’s current format.
We blew two great chances to get to Div 1, so tough shit to us. Obviously I’d rather for us to be hurling against the likes of Tipp, Kilkenny etc, but at the same time you should have to earn that right, not be automatically given it.

Does the top team in 1b get promoted or is there a ridiculous play-off between 1st and 2nd? 6 teams in a division is too few. Some teams are going to have 2 home games in the next 12 months. Which doesn’t exactly promote the game.

that is some absolute and utter horse shit. Cork fucked us over with their strikes the year the GAA decided in the board room to fuck us down a division, and now that Cork have been legitimately relegated the powers that be decide to keep them up?

and not only that, after all their fuck acting for the last couple of years on it, they now want to set this in stone for 5 years? the absolute shower of cunts.

[quote=“Gman, post: 840022, member: 112”]that is some absolute and utter horse shit. Cork fucked us over with their strikes the year the GAA decided in the board room to fuck us down a division, and now that Cork have been legitimately relegated the powers that be decide to keep them up?

and not only that, after all their fuck acting for the last couple of years on it, they now want to set this in stone for 5 years? the absolute shower of cunts.[/quote]

You need to find that other job

[quote=“Gman, post: 840022, member: 112”]that is some absolute and utter horse shit. Cork fucked us over with their strikes the year the GAA decided in the board room to fuck us down a division, and now that Cork have been legitimately relegated the powers that be decide to keep them up?

and not only that, after all their fuck acting for the last couple of years on it, they now want to set this in stone for 5 years? the absolute shower of cunts.[/quote]

Sure ye’re shit. Ye are better off in Div 1b, ye’d be better off having a focus of trying to win promotion in 2014, rather than going getting hammered by the more established counties.

We had moral victories over Dublin and Clare in the championship just finished and I, for one, believe we’re very capable of converting these into actual victories too.

Whatever about fucking over Wexford to the betterment of Cork’s status, again, this completely flies in face of developing the game evenly across all counties. Wexford make some strides forward at U21 level and draw with Dublin and Clare, Antrim get to an U21 final, Laois are starting to make progress as well and Offaly are holding a steady ship. Then the GAA proposes to keep these team away from playign the top teams in the country, take away another two strong teams from the second tier and bring up the likes of Carlow and Kerry.

In three years time they’ll start asking questions about what’s gone wrong with hurling in these counties.

To follow the best year of hurling in around 25 years with this bollocks beggars belief.

thing is, this makes it easier to get promotion, like the last time we went up to an 8 team division 1, and stayed up in it too. but its a fucking farce that they can just go change a set up of a league without any notice so that what happens on the field of play doesnt actually count.