Hurling League 2014

but sure they are parchuting ye back up with this one too. well done on your promotion!

I agree the whole thing is a farce. Thereā€™s nothing particularly wrong with the current system. As Iā€™ve said before, if Wexford and Offaly were hurling at the levels they have hurled to in the past then 1B would be a fine competitive division, as youā€™d have 4 decent teams, Cork/Limerick/Offaly/Wexford, you canā€™t keep changing league structures as the quality of hurlers in each county rises and falls. Thatā€™s what relegation is for.

And yet, in the case of Cork, they do.

It always has and always will be the case that the ā€œBig threeā€ hold all the power in hurling. Regardless of what is good for the game if one of them wants a change to the structure it will happen

Give that the Munster and Leinster champions were in Division 1b and Cork were condemned to this division, Iā€™d expect Laois and Carlow to give the All Ireland a right rattle this year.

Yes - Division 2 would have 2 all ireland semi finalists and Wexford who drew with the winners so quality should be decent. Win Division 2 and you get another game or two against Division 1 teams.

Consensus last year was the League worked very well and was interesting up to the very last round of games.

Main issue with the League is hurling is a very different game on cold, wet and windy pitches. We need an indoor dome for winter hurling under lights.

From a Limerick point of view Iā€™d selfishly welcome a return to division 1 and a better standard of matches to see next year. However, once again this fucks over weaker counties and does nothing for the development of the game. If it were two up two down Iā€™d be pretty delighted with it as it would ensure a competitive league and no county with designs on being competitive would/should get stuck in division 2 for too long. It absolutely sickens my hole that this comes in as soon as Cork are relegated when the GAA were perfectly happy to screw over Wexford and Limerick.

[quote=ā€œTheUlteriorMotive, post: 840041, member: 2272ā€]
Main issue with the League is hurling is a very different game on cold, wet and windy pitches. We need an indoor dome for winter hurling under lights.[/quote]

Thatā€™s a super idea. It should be incorporated into the new Pairc Ui Caoimh development

Limerick will be hurling Division 1B in 2015 if these changes go ahead.

Thatā€™s true to an extent, but what should be borne in mind is the fact that these decisions are made at Central Council and/or Management Committee which are largely populated by non-hurling counties and Padraic Duffyā€™s lackeys.
These are the boys for toeing whatever party-line that nefarious cunt Duffy is peddling at any given time.

If you put the 12/13 counties that actually take hurling seriously into a forum youā€™d have some hope at arriving at a consensus. Guys from Cavan. Monaghan, Fermanagh etc couldnā€™t give two fucks about hurling and will always go with the flow.

Frankā€™s hand is all over this undoubtedly, but I donā€™t think itā€™s linked to the football seeding farce which was a purely provincial issue. It should also be remembered that both Offaly and Wexford voted against restructuring the league when the issue was discussed last year stating that they were happier in 1B and it would give them more scope for rebuilding.

I havenā€™t seen the changes, are you just saying this because weā€™re shit? Or is that actually in the proposal?

I think heā€™s implying that weā€™re shit mate. The cunt. :frowning:

Thatā€™s bollix. Stand up for yourselves and the same for anyone else. Work the system and stop fucking moaning about the big 3. They are the big 3 for a reason.

[quote=ā€œElvis Brandenberg Kremmen, post: 840047, member: 1624ā€]Thatā€™s true to an extent, but what should be borne in mind is the fact that these decisions are made at Central Council and/or Management Committee which are largely populated by non-hurling counties and Padraic Duffyā€™s lackeys.
These are the boys for toeing whatever party-line that nefarious cunt Duffy is peddling at any given time.

If you put the 12/13 counties that actually take hurling seriously into a forum youā€™d have some hope at arriving at a consensus. Guys from Cavan. Monaghan, Fermanagh etc couldnā€™t give two fucks about hurling and will always go with the flow.

Frankā€™s hand is all over this undoubtedly, but I donā€™t think itā€™s linked to the football seeding farce which was a purely provincial issue. It should also be remembered that both Offaly and Wexford voted against restructuring the league when the issue was discussed last year stating that they were happier in 1B and it would give them more scope for rebuilding.[/quote]

Itā€™s definitely linked Elvis, itā€™s the same people representing each county.

True.we hurl best in sweltering heat.

I just feel the link may not be as major as people think. The seeding deal was all about revenue and nothing else. It probably suits Cork more than Kerry from that point of view as, with Pairc Ui Chaoimh going to be out of commission for a year or two, it will virtually guarantee a couple of big gates at Munster Football finals when it reopens.

Plus the mood for supporting the seeded draw came from the joke that is the Limerick Football Board who have done fuck-all to develop football in the county to the extent that every underage (and the senior) squad would rank 6 out of 6 in Munster at present. With the current structures and personalities governing football remaining in place, this wonā€™t change in the foreseeable either.

Cork, in fairness, have supported an 8-team league since this prick-acting started in 2011. Limerick were also of the same mind and, despite pissing away 2 league finals since, both counties have at least been consistent in their approach. Kilkenny also favoured the 8-team structure with only Tipperary, of the Big 3, prevaricating as their delegate was harbouring ambitions for the Presidency and was dancing to Croke Parkā€™s tune.

Why donā€™t the big teams enter a second team in with the smaller counties to make it competitive, just like they do in the European football leagues? They can stick in a mixture of minor/u21/intermediate players but no one who is listed as senior on a certain date. Clare could have three teams and could develop their younger lads and dominate for the next 15 years thenā€¦ W.Meath, Carlow etc would be better off playing against some up and coming quality rather than knocking lumps out of each other. Essentially it would make the stronger teams stronger but would also drag up the quality of each league. Which Limerick team would Glas and Dodgy support tho? Probably the one playing furthest from Limerick.

:smiley: :clap:

I wasnt sure if it had been public knowledge or not, but have since seen it mentioned elsewhere so it can go here. The financial issue of this is something that has to be factored in too.

Last year, Wexford got ā‚¬4,500 income after their league campaign. The home gate against Antrim was the lowest ever recorded income since they kept records on what has been paid in. If this proposal goes ahead, and we once again only have 2 home games against low level opposition, then the financial hit will be even worse. (the footballers income was close to ā‚¬30,000 for their stint in Div 2. Home and away gates get split hence their large total as they get fuck all home support anyway)

As a comparison, Kilkennys national league income was reported to be over ā‚¬80,000. I dont have figures on the other counties, but they would all generally be much closer to that figure than the paltry figure in the lower division. So by doing this, you are really creating a massive financial divide in the counties. Not only are they making Div 2 pretty shit with more weaker team coming into it and less competetive games, they are increasing the games in Div 1 and thereby increasing their revenues.

Wexford may well go up after the first year, but after playing a year of shit to effectively compete with them and Offaly, they will be hammered out the gate by the 7 teams left in Div 1 who will have had more competetive games against better opposition, and itā€™ll be Wexford and Offally yo-yoing up and down with some random side in Div 1 who will go down and more than likely come straight back up and then itā€™ll be back to the same crap they had where the Div 2 will be worthless once again.