Hurling League 2014

Eddie believes that cards have created a culture of cynicism, which encourages players to get other players sent off.

Loughnane reckoned on sat if Cody and Keher had their way they’d get rid of the ref as well.
There is a bit of amateur dramatics creeping into the game over the last few years.

Go on…

He has a good point, Tommy Walsh really did get Benny Dunne all hot & bothered a few years ago.

I only saw highlights of Tipperary vs Waterford but it looked like the hosts were lucky to come out with the win, the farce of a 2nd goal aside even. All this after beating Clare by 14 points the previous match.

The league this year is gonna be like last years, come the last day there will be nothing between being relegated and getting to the semis. I would imagine the loser of Dublin vs Clare next week is in a dog fight already however.

I wasn’t impressed with Clare at all yesterday, I thought Brain Gavin gave them handy frees to stay ahead and KK missed a few chances. I know they haven’t been trianing and they will be much better in the summer but this league season could easily get away from them.

[SIZE=6]Clare v Kilkenny: A new top rivalry?[/SIZE]

Could Clare’s narrow victory over Kilkenny in the opening round of the Allianz Hurling League be the first instalment of a fascinating rivalry in the months and years ahead?

The All-Ireland champions got the better of the Black and Amber on a 1-16 to 0-18 scoreline in Ennis in a clash that would not have been out of place in high summer.

RTÉ pundit Tom Dempsey was impressed by what he saw in Ennis and was in no doubt that both counties will be there or thereabouts when League and Championship is decided in 2014 and even beyond.

Indeed Dempsey made a bullish statement as to where Liam MacCarthy will reside from next September.

He said: “Clare haven’t lost the run of themselves since their victory last September and they are here for the long term.

"There is no doubt about that. In my book they are favourites to win the All-Ireland and that’s a very early call for me.”

A closer assessment of events at Cusack Park leads Dempsey to believe that we could be seeing the start of something wonderful.

He went on: “Against Kilkenny there was a needle all through, but it was a ‘good’ needle. There was a Championship feel about the game.

“I think we’re seeing the birth of a serious rivalry over the next couple of years.”

“I think we’re seeing the birth of a serious rivalry over the next couple of years” - Tom Dempsey
“Both teams will probably qualify for the quarter-finals, so they’re very likely to meet again in the league, whether it be a semi-final or a final – that’s the second instalment.

"Some people might say wouldn’t it be a wonderful All-Ireland final if they meet there! This is a real thing in the making at the moment.”

DJ Carey concurred with Dempsey about the intensity shown in Ennis. “It was a great battle and in the first half there was a fair old bite to the match.

"I’m not saying Henry (Shefflin) was targeted, but there was a ‘Welcome back Henry – you’re not going to get anything soft today.’ That’s the way it should be.

“There wasn’t one dirty belt in the game – we had plenty of rattles and shoulders and the odd push in the back when a free was given. Certainly, that’s how the game should be played.”

[quote=“chewy louie, post: 904916, member: 1137”][SIZE=6]Clare v Kilkenny: A new top rivalry?[/SIZE]

[/quote] Lovely stuff :popcorn:

Tom Dempsey :smiley:

FFS

An Uncle Tom.

Eddie believes it is humiliating for hurling greats to have cards brandished at them by triumphalist referees.*

[SIZE=3]*Thinly veiled “how dare that Barry Kelly cunt give our Henry a yellow card”[/SIZE]

[quote=“Fagan ODowd, post: 904971, member: 706”]Eddie believes it is humiliating for hurling greats to have cards brandished at them by triumphalist referees.*

[SIZE=3]*Thinly veiled “how dare that Barry Kelly cunt give our Henry a yellow card”[/SIZE][/quote]

“It goes against the ethos of the game” according to Eddie.

I’ve nominated him for COTY. If he continues this way through the spring and summer he’ll be a dark horse.

“I abhor the whole ritual of showing cards to our hurlers. It’s a pompous and triumphalist exercise causing humiliation to our great players in front of their families, friends and supporters.”

Eddie is making some spanner of himself here

I agree, he shouldn’t be left out the front door of his house without a helmet at this stage.

What’s going on with Cody and Keher? This is bizarre.

I did enjoy Tom Dempsey agreeing with everybody on RTE Radio yesterday though.

did ye see henry’s shuffle yet? I am surprised nobody posted in on youtube

They are fucking seething down in marble country. The PR machine is trying to set an agenda in the media before Cody unleashes ‘hurling on the edge 2014’.

Could be another great year.

[quote=“Bandage, post: 905011, member: 9”]What’s going on with Cody and Keher? This is bizarre.

I did enjoy Tom Dempsey agreeing with everybody on RTE Radio yesterday though.[/quote]
yeah, i heard that allright, jesus his fawning to Kilkenny is sickening tho at times, but then he’d nod his head and agree with opposite viewpoint as well
The interview with DJ Carey from Cusack Park or “dodger” as Tom was calling him was awful stuff, DJ was giving the “ah shur i suppose…” insight and Tom was saying he was making good points, the two of them will be in the studio next week…
keher seems like a right deluded bitter ould cunt tho, Cork ran the bollux off them last year with a different approach to the game and he is still seething, actually given the week that’s in it with all the gays, there is a very funny excerpt in Donal Ogs book where Frank Murphy made absolute bits of Keher and some GAA solicitor at some disputes resolution meeting in Portlaois back in 07 i think when Cork had lads suspended after handbags with Clare down in Thurlus… Donal tells the story very well of Frank up there like a defence lawyer with a CSI prepared case and carving up the GAA’s case … Frank will always have one over Keher, and Frank being the gent he is called the kilkenny co. board secretary after Shefflin’s sending of last year telling him he had the “authority” to get the red card rescinded as it would be Henry’s last game:D, they told him fuck off, @Beautiful City will love that one

Frankeen is a Kilkenny man mickee. He’s been quietly undermining every progressive effort down there for years.
The odd display of prowess when it comes to the rulebook has kept him in situ and in control, all the while doing our bidding. He is, ‘Our man in the Pana’.

Eddie is havin some craic here. The exasparated fume from all angles is great and takes the focus off the re-building process (team, not stand) currently underway.
Keep 'er lit Nedwin, keep 'er lit.