Hurling League 2014

Yes it was founded in Hayes’ hotel in 1884. Hayes’ Hotel in Thurles, not Clare

Sure i thought East Cork was the home of hurling!

[quote=“Beautiful City, post: 906432, member: 1616”]The following is not my words but it’s the truth!

The dreaded, dastardly Anthony Nash has only been playing senior championship for 2 years, and in that time has taken only six 20m frees/penalties/other close in free just outside 20m

2012 : Tipp, Offaly, Galway- no such attempts available to Nash in any of these games. One awarded v Wexford (converted) . No whinging from Wexford
2013 : Limerick, Kilkenny, Dublin - no such attempts available to Nash in any of these games, or in Munster match v Clare. But in All Ireland final and replay 5 attempts available due to cynical fouling by Clare ( 2 converted - 40% success rate though one hit crossbar and one illegally charged down): Cue media campaign and unrelenting pants pissing from Davy, even though they won.

It’s a unique motion. A motion directed at curtailing just one man’s unprecedented skill and initiated by just one man’s unprecedented whinging.[/quote]
well done Davy…winner alright…

I think what you are badly struggling to articulate (perfectly understandable ) is that you believe the Hayes’s hotel group founded the GAA?
Am I correct?

[quote=“Kid Chocolate, post: 906438, member: 553”]I think what you are badly struggling to articulate (perfectly understandable ) is that you believe the Hayes’s hotel group founded the GAA?
Am I correct?[/quote]
Do you not understand the word ‘in’? It was founded in Hayes’ hotel. I knew education wasn’t a priority in Clare but I thought you would understand prepositions

of course I do, I don’t think you understand the word “announced”…it was founded in Clare (and indeed Dublin) it was announced in Thurles, god help us but we really have a live one here?

Founded in Clare ffs :D. I didn’t think even the most deluded of Clare men would come out with that

we don’t, he also taught in Dublin, that’s why I specifically mentioned it above. look, if you think jumping up and down to a discrete announcement on a porter soaked carpet waving your hands about with bits of stale bread and ham hitting you on the head means you founded the GAA and are the home or hurling I am not going to be the one to upset you…off you go god help us

Ok, every person in Ireland with any interest in GAA or history knows that the GAA was founded in Thurles apart from some retard from Clare who doesn’t know the meaning of the word in

ok, whatever…:rolleyes:

Ah the old Home of Hurling chestnut, who the fuck cares what Hotel they held the meeting in, are Tipperary people that bereft of noteworthiness (and I thought they weren’t, their role of honour is impressive by any standards) that they have to continually claim this “honour”? And is it an honour? They held a meeting in what was a central location, its not exactly Jamie Naismith and the 13 rules or anything. The Hurling league is back, Congress is coming up, we’re about to elect a new President, we have Garth coming to rain money, would you ever fuck off with this shitehawkery.

[quote=“Beautiful City, post: 906432, member: 1616”]
It’s a unique motion. A motion directed at curtailing just one man’s unprecedented skill and initiated by just one man’s unprecedented whinging.[/quote]

It’s bullshit is what it is. Davy is terrible worried about the SOH getting maimed or even killed.
I see that bollix Skehan is after weighing in on his side too.
If this rule passes, I can see it being roundly ignored on the killing fields of European hurling.

[quote=“Beautiful City, post: 906432, member: 1616”]

No it’s not. It a motion designed to stop the coming trend of every free taker in the country throwing the sliothar that far forward. It’s a motion designed to stop teams training chaps to do it from an early age.

And it’s not unprecedented either. It’s not so long ago that you hand Tony Doran destroying teams with hand passed goals in hurling and the Bomber Liston doing the same in Gaelic football.

[quote=“croppy_boy, post: 906495, member: 306”]No it’s not. It a motion designed to stop the coming trend of every free taker in the country throwing the sliothar that far forward. It’s a motion designed to stop teams training chaps to do it from an early age.

And it’s not unprecedented either. It’s not so long ago that you hand Tony Doran destroying teams with hand passed goals in hurling and the Bomber Liston doing the same in Gaelic football.[/quote]
It is changing the rules because of one man scoring about four frees. No other sport would do that.

Limit it to two steps before striking. Simple. Also disallow use of the goalies hurl as stated above. What they should be looking at is the amount of steps stolen by free takers kicking from the hand in football.

Or wait four years and have to change them because eight or lads are doing it as well and it’s making a mockery of the game.

Don’t see how something that is a spectacle and excites the crowd is going to make a mockery of the game. It is a skill.

Lads dragging and not being penalised makes a mockery of the game.

Most sports try and give advantage to the attacking team. Nash himself doesn’t score all the time - maybe half the time. Defences will get cuter as to how to stop him as well as Clare tried to do.

[quote=“TheUlteriorMotive, post: 906572, member: 2272”]Don’t see how something that is a spectacle and excites the crowd is going to make a mockery of the game. It is a skill.

Lads dragging and not being penalised makes a mockery of the game.

Most sports try and give advantage to the attacking team. Nash himself doesn’t score all the time - maybe half the time. Defences will get cuter as to how to stop him as well as Clare tried to do.[/quote]

Whether it’s exciting or not it’s retarded to have a 21-yard free being struck from 12 yards.

Then again it wouldn’t be the first time that Cork sought to bend the rules and it probably won’t be the last either.

If Brendan Cummins did it then Frank would have had it banned years ago.

Just repeating myself, but all the anti-Nash law will do is make the game far more cynical, and make goal chances for rarer as defenders can deliberately foul 20 yards from goal with even less punishment.

its not unprecedented, and its not one man. fuck sake, people are dumb. its been happening in various places for quite a while now, and even happened in the Kilkenny senior final too. Yes, Nash has made it more prominent due to it happening so frequently in the AI finals, and also because of his particular technique where he fires it up extremely high and runs after it. Most others seem to have more control of their lifting and the ‘chase’ to the ball. The main reason why Nash, or other keepers can afford to be so loose with the high lob is because he has a goalkeepers hurl to meet it when he gets to the ball.

that video of the 20 yard free with Ring in it actually shows most players only get a couple of yards with the ball, and its not pronounced by throwing it forward. I hated Careys technique, as he threw it similar to Nash, but he also, IMO fouled the ball a lot on his frees by holding it on the hurl in the lift and balancing the ball before releasing it forward. But thats another days whinge.