in the opinion of some no mark idiotâŚI doubt that bothers him t be honestâŚyou show how little you actually know about the game by assuming good minors should make good seniorsâŚ
hope iâm wrong but donât think Dublin will doa nything this yearâŚ
They have more metal and a better manager (for IC at least) than Galway. If they got Watson they could do Dwyer, he is a liability. I know Watson isnât afraid of a bit of timbering either, but he is generally smarter and a much better hurler. Doubt it will happen at this stage though.
Itâs pretty obvious that the club scene in Galway effects the county team. They clearly develop that after Minor. Maybe they need to go with the next super crop they get that wins an All Ireland and let the same management bring them right thru. The only older lads to be allowed stay would be the one who clearly have given their all and are not disruptive and leave the club shit behind. There is not a lot of logic to their under performance. Or maybe there is and you have to be from Galway to understand it
[quote=âcaoimhaoin, post: 909412, member: 273â]They have more metal and a better manager (for IC at least) than Galway. If they got Watson they could do Dwyer, he is a liability. I know Watson isnât afraid of a bit of timbering either, but he is generally smarter and a much better hurler. Doubt it will happen at this stage though.
Itâs pretty obvious that the club scene in Galway effects the county team. They clearly develop that after Minor. Maybe they need to go with the next super crop they get that wins an All Ireland and let the same management bring them right thru. The only older lads to be allowed stay would be the one who clearly have given their all and are not disruptive and leave the club shit behind. There is not a lot of logic to their under performance. Or maybe there is and you have to be from Galway to understand it[/quote]
Eh, isnât that pretty much what they did when the current management took over? They cleared out a rake of the panel, including some they clearly shouldnât have, as demonstrated when they brought Kavanagh back.
Galway have more talent than Dublin. But I agree Dublin are probably in a better place to have a run at the title this year.
Maybe Glas, I really wouldnât open an article on Galway. But I donât think they brought a large number thru, an not convective ly like I suggest.
Like wouldnât Cunningham alone be an issue seeing as he was so involved in the club scene for so long?
Anyway, I also think a few of them maybe believed Joe would win an All Ireland single handily for them, and he was then given far too much responsibility for a young lad. It was bananas at one stage with th sidelines and all that shite.
[quote=âcaoimhaoin, post: 909418, member: 273â]Maybe Glas, I really wouldnât open an article on Galway. But I donât think they brought a large number thru, an not convective ly like I suggest.
Like wouldnât Cunningham alone be an issue seeing as he was so involved in the club scene for so long?
Anyway, I also think a few of them maybe believed Joe would win an All Ireland single handily for them, and he was then given far too much responsibility for a young lad. It was bananas at one stage with th sidelines and all that shite.[/quote]
There were a lot of young players brought through at once in fairness. They had it cracked in 2012. How they ended up as they did in 2013 is beyond me but the writing was on the wall when they were coming into the Leinster final with no idea who to play at 3 and 6. I think theyâll be back in the top 4 this year, especially if tannian at centre back works out.
[quote=âcaoimhaoin, post: 909418, member: 273â].
.[/quote]
I would have thought he would have been one of the better ones⌠would he not be out of that scene a bit while managing garrycastle and also st. brigids in rosscommonâŚisnât he a member of st. brigids?..think he might have hurled with a junior team when he played with galway, not sure though.
Cunningham is from the St. Thomas club who went to the All-Ireland club final in 2013. He was a star minor when Galway won the All-Ireland in 1983 and later had the ignominy of being substituted in 4 All-Ireland senior finals.
I think St. Thomas might have been hurling at a lower level in the '80s alright but Iâm not sure. Maybe @Kinvaras Passion might shed some light?
Ya I emphasized his IC aspect though in comparisoon with Daly I thought he had success in hurling in Galway, maybe Iâm wrong he is undoubtably an excellent coach, but youâd wonder would anyone from JBM to Cody have any luck with them. Someone like Canon O Brien would be ideally suited to them in his day.
Itâs not the coaches though and I shouldnât have used that as an explanation for galways lack of success, more a comparisoon with Dublin. They have every type of manager imaginable, good bad and indifferent, laid back, mad bastards, insiders, outsiders, Minor managers etc. it is nearly alwaysanagement youâd look at, but maybe Galway are just one of those teams where itâs almost unexplainable.
[quote=âcaoimhaoin, post: 909443, member: 273â]
They have every type of manager imaginable, good bad and indifferent, laid back, mad bastards, insiders, outsiders, Minor managers etc. it is nearly alwaysanagement youâd look at, but maybe Galway are just one of those teams where itâs almost unexplainable.[/quote]
Gerlock pretty much ticked all those options on his own
Are you suggesting what I think you are?
[quote=âElvis Brandenberg Kremmen, post: 909438, member: 1624â] later had the ignominy of being substituted in 4 All-Ireland senior finals.
?[/quote]
I think I remember seeing once that he had never scored a point for galway in an all Ireland semi fina in all those gamesâŚ
[quote=âcaoimhaoin, post: 909336, member: 273â]What a cunt you are. Iâm sure Tony regrets not climbing into the little box you created for him
I love sport and have been deeply involved for many years, I daresay contributing multiple what you do, but sport has itâs place too and the Clare Senior hurling team doesnât just exist to give jumped up cunts like you something to wave your flag about.
You are one seriously arrogant cunt.[/quote]
Tonyâs quite like you Kev, heâs âliving that dreamâ
[quote=âcaoimhaoin, post: 909418, member: 273â]Maybe Glas, I really wouldnât open an article on Galway. But I donât think they brought a large number thru, an not convective ly like I suggest.
Anyway, I also think a few of them maybe believed Joe would win an All Ireland single handily for them, and he was then given far too much responsibility for a young lad. It was bananas at one stage with th sidelines and all that shite.[/quote]
Cunningham was never involved in the Galway club scene in a coaching capacity. Earned his stripes with Brigids and Garrycastle before winning an -21 with Galway in 2010. Heâs an excellent coach but lacks charisma, certainly compared to an Anthony Daly. He often seems to lack a plan B too, in fact he sometimes conveys a sense of panic when the teams back is against the wall whipping lads off heâs just brought on. He did it to Conor Cooney in the 12 1st Final and If memory serves he done it to young Landers against Waterford last week.
All that said he deserves another year on account of what he achieved in 2012 alone. If Ronan Burke and Tannion can fix the troublesome 3 and 6 spots and Brehoney, Flynn and Mannion make the step up, itâs game on this year. Weâll know a lot more by the end of the league obviously but on the evidence of Walsh Park Cunningham s going to be up against it
[quote=âcaoimhaoin, post: 909412, member: 273â]They have more metal and a better manager (for IC at least) than Galway. If they got Watson they could do Dwyer, he is a liability. I know Watson isnât afraid of a bit of timbering either, but he is generally smarter and a much better hurler. Doubt it will happen at this stage though.
Itâs pretty obvious that the club scene in Galway effects the county team. They clearly develop that after Minor. Maybe they need to go with the next super crop they get that wins an All Ireland and let the same management bring them right thru. The only older lads to be allowed stay would be the one who clearly have given their all and are not disruptive and leave the club shit behind. There is not a lot of logic to their under performance. Or maybe there is and you have to be from Galway to understand it[/quote]
I think the parochialism and bitterness of the Galway club scene is certainly a hindrance to the County team. My (current) theory** is that it all comes down to rivalries. Supporters, in the absence of a provincial intercounty championship to generate local rivalries, looked to the county club championship instead to create these rivalries and because the clubscene is even more localised the rivalries and ensuing bad blood became even more intense and ultimately this leads to the detriment of the county team.
The rivalry with Tipp that time certainly did focus the County and maybe that is what we need again. Obviously now that Galway play in the Leinster Championship you might expect that another such rivalry can develop but with the respective distance involved and the Leinster counties being to chickenshit to travel to Galway you wouldnât hold out too much hope either.
**My other theory is that Galway Hurling is just full of cunts
Wouldnât it be a lovely irony if Cork beat Galway in the championship with a last second goal from an Anthony Nash penalty or 21 yard free!
Iâll slice you from ear to ear you mardyke cunt
it certainly seems to be bothering you
[quote=âcaoimhaoin, post: 909336, member: 273â]What a cunt you are. Iâm sure Tony regrets not climbing into the little box you created for him
I love sport and have been deeply involved for many years, I daresay contributing multiple what you do, but sport has itâs place too and the Clare Senior hurling team doesnât just exist to give jumped up cunts like you something to wave your flag about.
You are one seriously arrogant cunt.[/quote]
how will we measure it? are you multiplying by two, three , four or some far greater number.
let you throw up a list of your achievements there and any coaching or administrative fantasticery you have been involved with. You might break it down into headed sections so i can read it over time so i won`t get swamped
It seems only fair to allow you the platform to display this contribution you have made and will no doubt continue to make into the future.
you eejit :rolleyes:
[quote=âglasagusban, post: 909413, member: 1533â]Eh, isnât that pretty much what they did when the current management took over? They cleared out a rake of the panel, including some they clearly shouldnât have, as demonstrated when they brought Kavanagh back.
Galway have more talent than Dublin. But I agree Dublin are probably in a better place to have a run at the title this year.[/quote]
this is what all galway managers do and its a disaster generally. The more talent thing is a product of assuming that dubs players are not as good as other sides i don
t believe galway have anyone in their defence as good as any of peter kelly liam rushe and michael carton.
danny sutcliffe is among the very best players at his age in the country. Clearly canning is excellent but galway have a sh1t load of big strong plodders who would be dismissed if they were in a dublin jersey