[quote=âmyboyblue, post: 914153, member: 180â]
No offence, but there was a WORLD of a difference between Justin and Teddy. While Justin was an honourable man in bad situation, Teddy was a disgrace of a man who made a disgrace of himself.[/quote]
Great credit must go to McCarthy though for the job he did with NCW last year
[quote=âElvis Brandenberg Kremmen, post: 914370, member: 1624â]You are correct. Even if Laois lost their last two games and Antrim and Offaly won both of theirs, the head-to-head is the first eliminator. Laois have qualified by virtue of beating both.
Laois back at the business-end of a national competition. [/quote]
Could be a trimming as a result of it but thats where we need to be to progress.
My only concern is that this will leave a small gap before the Leinster Qualifying Group Games, and thereâs only a 1 week gap then to the first round proper against Wexford, where, all going well Laois will hope to be. Its a lot of hurling for whatâs still a developing squad, if we get that far, will need to be lucky with injuries to be able to give Wexford a game.
[quote=âdodgy-keeper, post: 914167, member: 1552â]Iâll respectfully disagree with you about Justin. He put his own ego before the good of a whole county. Should have fucked off after the shambles he presided over in 2009. Instead he dug his heels in, slaughtered a whole squad of players for an alleged lack of discipline (which was total lies), divided clubs and everyone involved, got us relegated and was happy to go through 2010 with a token team so he got to save face and avoid being axed by a second county.
Have to respect what he did as a manager elsewhere but he set us back years from his time in charge.[/quote]
Iâll have to pull you up on that one, mate. The dogs on the street know that most of that panel were alcoholics who probably dabbled in harder stuff as well. Justin is a gentleman and was just trying to keep them out of the pub or keep the needles out of their arms long enough to work on their striking skills.
[quote=âKinvaraâs Passion, post: 914382, member: 686â]Saw a few games/highlights yesterday.
Clare are going to take serious stopping this year. Intelligent hard working hurlers with a strong skill-set and complete believe in each other.
Tipp are at nothing as are Galway, both teams are reverting to players who just donât have it when it come to the big summer days and they fall well short. I suspect Dublin will have a few big performances but will get caught as there isnât enough depth in their squad if injuries kick in.
I havenât seen enough of Cork, Limerick and Waterford to comment.
That leaves Kilkenny. Too many lads with too many miles on the clock, though if they win Leinster and I suspect they will, they will be tinker it up big time when it comes to a match up with Clare.
That is all.[/quote]
Pretty much agree with that. Galway have more players than Tipp to come back in that will make a bigger difference though. Waterford seem to be really improving nicely and will probably surprise a few teams.
Who were Galway missing? Tipp were missing Lar Corbett, Seamus Callanan, Padraig Maher, Conor O Mahoney and Paul Curran(still our best full back) aswell as Eoin Kelly and John O Brien who may have to start if things continue as they are. Waterford were pure shite the day I saw them against Tipp.
[quote=âmyboyblue, post: 914391, member: 180â]Could be a trimming as a result of it but thats where we need to be to progress.
My only concern is that this will leave a small gap before the Leinster Qualifying Group Games, and thereâs only a 1 week gap then to the first round proper against Wexford, where, all going well Laois will hope to be. Its a lot of hurling for whatâs still a developing squad, if we get that far, will need to be lucky with injuries to be able to give Wexford a game.[/quote]
What format does the qualifying group take? Do all teams play each other or what? Winner is at home against the 1996 All Ireland champions, right?
Antrim Laois Carlow London and Westmeath all play each other on a league basis over 5 weeks starting 27th April. Top plays Wexford at home, 2nd plays Galway at home in week 6, June 1st. Its a ridiculous schedule all told.
Yet still should have beaten ye on the day. Tipp have conceded 9-35 in their last two outings and, but for a jammy goal, would be 0 for 3 so far in the league after 2 home games and being 9 or 10 points up in the other game. Worrying times for Tipp I wouldâve thought.
Tipperary were leading when they got their âjammy goalâ, bit of a stretch to say they would have lost that game.
In saying that, Tipp seem to be devoid of any sort of game plan at the moment and there was a real sense of despondency leaving Thurles yesterday.
[quote=âKinvaraâs Passion, post: 914424, member: 686â]Galway were missing Canning, Glynn, J Cooney, Grealish, Hayes, Smyth and Donnellan, HynesâŚ
Realistically, apart from JC and possibly Glynn, the rest are by no means guaranteed their places.[/quote]
Itâs close enough I suppose. Honestly Iâd take the Galway contingent given the option. Curran and OâMahony are not what they once were and Donnellan is more likely to hit past levels of form than Kelly. Canning will have more of an impact than any two of those tipp players.
Gearoid McInerney looked good for Galway yesterday. Certainly put his hand up with that performance. I donât think Galway were poor yesterday, in that they werenât making a lot of mistakes or poor decisions, they just seemed to get somewhat outhurled and dominated in the first half. The fact that Kilkenny went off the boil in the second half was a concern. Letting a big lead slip like that was asking for trouble.
Didnât really understand Galway taking off Glennon late on. Take off your dangerous forward when you need a goal. He obviously had Tyrrell for pace. Strange one.
The square ball looked wrong to me but Iâve not seen it on TV yet. For a patchwork Kilkenny team I was very happy with the performance. Mark Kelly had a good game, seems like a better attacking option than e.g. Matt Ruth. Richie Hogan had a very good game but he still has some accuracy issues.
Walter Walsh is like the family pet of County Kilkenny. The adulation for him to do something positive borders on patronising. Itâs hilarious to listen to. He is so cumbersome and awkward to look at but he is strangely effective all the same. A typically hard working performance from him. Couple of nice scores but a bad miss late on, 2 clear goals he should have now in the league. You can laugh it off now but when it matters he needs to be getting those.
Kennedy was good again, Geoff Brennan had some nice scores and Padraig Walsh did well too at midfield. Not too convinced by Lester Ryan at 6. So far so good from the league. 1 win from the last 2 should see us safe, anything after that is a bonus.
Damian Hayes still has a load to offer. I was pleasantly surprised with Galway yesterday, but actually a little concerned that the scoreline in no way reflected how far behind kk they were, and may lead to a slight complacency funny enough, because they were beaten all ends up despite really good performances. Iarlath tannion remains a hurler of genuine class.
[quote=âcluaindiuic, post: 914545, member: 258â]Was in Nowlan Park yesterday.
Gearoid McInerney looked good for Galway yesterday. Certainly put his hand up with that performance. I donât think Galway were poor yesterday, in that they werenât making a lot of mistakes or poor decisions, they just seemed to get somewhat outhurled and dominated in the first half. The fact that Kilkenny went off the boil in the second half was a concern. Letting a big lead slip like that was asking for trouble.
Didnât really understand Galway taking off Glennon late on. Take off your dangerous forward when you need a goal. He obviously had Tyrrell for pace. Strange one.
The square ball looked wrong to me but Iâve not seen it on TV yet. For a patchwork Kilkenny team I was very happy with the performance. Mark Kelly had a good game, seems like a better attacking option than e.g. Matt Ruth. Richie Hogan had a very good game but he still has some accuracy issues.
Walter Walsh is like the family pet of County Kilkenny. The adulation for him to do something positive borders on patronising. Itâs hilarious to listen to. He is so cumbersome and awkward to look at but he is strangely effective all the same. A typically hard working performance from him. Couple of nice scores but a bad miss late on, 2 clear goals he should have now in the league. You can laugh it off now but when it matters he needs to be getting those.
Kennedy was good again, Geoff Brennan had some nice scores and Padraig Walsh did well too at midfield. Not too convinced by Lester Ryan at 6. So far so good from the league. 1 win from the last 2 should see us safe, anything after that is a bonus.[/quote]
Thanks for that. Glennon looked very poor on the telly. Interesting that he looked more dangerous in the flesh. Iâve never understood the adulation for Walter Walsh, though I hear he is a gent. He is improving though. A high class defender can usually keep him quiet when Iâve seen him, but I know fuck all compared to the kk camp, and they keep picking him. He was decent yesterday and looks less cumbersome than he did.
Waterford looking good alright. Brickâs sending off looked harsh. McCormack got red for his usual tramping. Will be interesting to see how Waterford get on against Kilkenny and Clare.
As an aside, a word for the corner backsâ union. There were a ridiculous amount of steps being allowed these days. Mark Kelly for Kilkenny last week. Two of McGrathâs goals yesterday should have been disallowed. His first was a complete joke. He fouled his man and then ran about 11 steps. Patrick Horgan took a long stroll for one of his scores there on the highlights too. Its impossible to defend fairly if a lad takes that many steps.
[quote=âcorner back, post: 914728, member: 1572â]Waterford looking good alright. Brickâs sending off looked harsh. McCormack got red for his usual tramping. Will be interesting to see how Waterford get on against Kilkenny and Clare.
As an aside, a word for the corner backsâ union. There were a ridiculous amount of steps being allowed these days. Mark Kelly for Kilkenny last week. Two of McGrathâs goals yesterday should have been disallowed. His first was a complete joke. He fouled his man and then ran about 11 steps. Patrick Horgan took a long stroll for one of his scores there on the highlights too. Its impossible to defend fairly if a lad takes that many steps.[/quote]
Mark Kelly will have to watch the steps alright- I would see referees beginning to take note and maybe blowing him up which or whether , thatâs if he continues to get games. They are certainly giving him every chance to prove himself.
What do you make of the backs this year-debate emerging over Lester as Centre Back or wherever , I never saw Jackie doing the shouting he did yesterday, organising the full and half back lines towards the end of the second half