[QUOTE=āmyboyblue, post: 923951, member: 180ā]Fuck it but that was some finish. Fuck it but we could have done it. Fuck it but Iām proud as fuck of those lads. Not sure how much you could read into Clareās form in relation to how well they played but a 14 man Laois side gave it hell and that all we ask for.
Hon Cheddar.[/QUOTE]
Was Cheddar in charge when Galway played Laois last year in Championship? Wasnāt at it but we were lucky enough to come out with the win that day I believe. All very promising for Laois. The more you think about it the more itās clear Wexford are sitting ducks this year
He was. Cheddar was appointed in January I think, of last year after being in charge of searching for the successor to that prick of a man Teddy McCarthy. After failing in his efforts to get some big names, Cheddar was asked to take the job himself. He managed Laois in the past briefly, and has been a revelation since taking over this time. Cheddar is pure passion, its hard to describe unless youāre in his presence, picture a Liam Griffin type individual. Hes put together a great backroom now between Ger Cunningham, Paul Cuddy, Damien Culliton, Brendan Cummins with the goalies and Br Ryan on skills. Its looking very promising but after a few close calls in the league, heāll need a scalp to really lay down the marker in this revival.
I would have said Laois were maturing well under him
[QUOTE=āmyboyblue, post: 924034, member: 180ā]He was. Cheddar was appointed in January I think, of last year after being in charge of searching for the successor to that prick of a man Teddy McCarthy. After failing in his efforts to get some big names, Cheddar was asked to take the job himself. He managed Laois in the past briefly, and has been a revelation since taking over this time. Cheddar is pure passion, its hard to describe unless youāre in his presence, picture a Liam Griffin type individual. Hes put together a great backroom now between Ger Cunningham, Paul Cuddy, Damien Culliton, Brendan Cummins with the goalies and Br Ryan on skills. Its looking very promising but after a few close calls in the league, heāll need a scalp to really lay down the marker in this revival.
I would have said Laois were maturing well under him[/QUOTE]
It was a vintage performance.
If Cork stop giving teams 10 point advantages and show up at start of games they will take stopping. Harnedy Was double marked in second half. He is some player
How far along are the first players that have been brought through the (setanta?) youth development squads?
Thats a remarkable progression in the space of a year and a half, a leinster minor/21 would really get ye going more so than a big senior scalp.
If wexford get lads healthy and fit they will truly have been lurking in the longest of grass.
Yeah - I wonder where is best place to out him. I would stick him in fill forward for some of the time and then move him to centre forward
He seems to have bulked up a bit from last year. If Cork go on a run he is a bet for hurler of the year
[QUOTE=āBad Winner, post: 924046, member: 2406ā]How far along are the first players that have been brought through the (setanta?) youth development squads?
Thats a remarkable progression in the space of a year and a half, a leinster minor/21 would really get ye going more so than a big senior scalp.
If wexford get lads healthy and fit they will truly have been lurking in the longest of grass.[/QUOTE]
Setanta is over 10 years going now, to best of my knowledge Cha Dwyer and PJ Scully may be first from it but I could be out by a year or two. Dwane Palmer is the first jewel from it though.
Weāve contested Leinster finals in Minor and U21 in past 2 years, and this years u16 minor crop are said to be further along again.
Agreed, they have much more scope for improvement that tipp, those Tipp forwards all while quite skillful look on the slow side to me(Callinan excepted). Corks player by contrast are much more suited to Summer conditions, add to that the fact that Tipp are under huge pressure to deliver right now and iād predict a comfortable reversal should both those sides meet this summer