Hurling Qualifiers 11th July Semple Stadium

Cork have some big lads and are bigger than Clare. When they bring work rate they can match a lot of teams.

However up close there is noticeable differences between Cork and KK, Galway, Waterford.

Clare-Cork game was a different level to Dublin-Limerick alright. Very noticeable change in the pace.

Clare’s attacking setup is utterly retarded and completely robs us of the threat that should be there with the players we have. It’s hard to get any sense that Davy knows what he’s doing in that regard. Were completely on top for a long stretch of the first half and got no return from it.

I like how Cork play and would like to see them go further, but to date it’s hard to see anyone producing the performances needed to topple Kilkenny in particular. But time will tell. The championship is about to start in earnest now.

Our subs offered very little. Donnellan did little of note while Galvin, Cunningham and Reidy tried we were simply too light weight in the middle third for a finish and Cork wrestled the momentum away from us as their big men like Ellis, Murphy, Harnedy and Murphy powered onto ball.

Don’t know why Morey was removed and the second half switches didn’t work. Honan and O’Donnell were doing well inside yet both were brought on the field with Kelly, McGrath and Cunningham all spending time inside yet no ball going in.

In management you have to live and die by the sword in a tight game Corks subs worked to an extent and ours didn’t.We are badly missing a couple of powerful players for the middle third. We badly need a freshing up of ideas and personnel

Found

Found Aidan Walsh’s form before this in 2015 a mystery. He was outstanding in the Munster Championship last year but shite all year in 2015 and his hurling got worse after he gave up the football! Was excellent today and repaid the faith JBM showed him

By far the best game I’ve seen him hurl in red. Ellis excellent as well as Brian Murphy at the back.

I also think the lack of wins and closing out tight games in the last 18 months really counted against us today. Game was there to be won with ten to go

Morey’s substitution was surprising. Thought he was having one of his better games at senior level.

He did go down from a heavy blow to the knee in the first half but didn’t look to be struggling. I thought our backs held up alright. Dillon struggled on Harnedy but had a fine second half, some of the switches and set up from midfield upwards in the second half was bizarre.

I thought he was having a great game and was very surprised to see him go?

Basically without the high level S&C and hurling coaching Davy has been found out.

It was clear for a long while the '13 sub-management had put Clare where they were. Since they left it has fallen apart.

Things just bounced for Cork at the right time tonight. They are better than they have been showing, but much like the footballers there is a passiveness to them and they have to be insulted and written off to get a reaction.

I love you all, guys, even the young Limerick fan who aggressively confronted me 30 seconds after the final whistle and shouted in my face and stood on my can of McArdles.

Support us now.

Support us,

@Bandage, maybe you could offer some support to Sidney in his time of need given your previous life threatening encounter with a Limerick / Munster fan

Why wasn’t McInerny assigned to Harnedy?

As they needed him to mark Leg and as he had the pace to live with him and he did an excellent job on leg and too.

We are quite poor in the air for an Intercounty side. We have no real dominant ball winner in this regard. Think Cork beat us 19 to 4 in contested aerial balls

That davy fitz is a rotten cunt

There was a perception that Clare had the game plan and skillset to beat big physical teams without getting drawn into a battle and maybe on a drier evening ye would have come through.

Maybe. As I have said before the shoehorning of both Donnellan and Colin Ryan into the middle third doesn’t help. Connor Cleary is a fine forceful hurler who can dominate in the air yet saw no game time after early March. Conlon was very poor but surprised they pulled him. Then playing David Reidy wing forward in a team struggling to win ball in the air was even worse.

We were fine from 1 to 7 for the most part last night and Kelly did well when midfield/centre forward but the our shape and constant switching in the forwards second half was terrible

Having McGrath play the Podge role is fine but who was playing the McGrath role… I also thought Cleary had to come on yesterday but Conlon came back in…and for all the brilliant work SOD does, some poor shooting \use of ball let him down…If ye had tapped over a few first half instead of running into dead ends ye could have been 4/5 up at halftime, I thought Honan was a bit lack luster at times…when he had chances to run in on goal he stopped and when he should have pointed he ran in on goal and was swallowed up.

now now you dont know him

O Donnell was shocking pal, he wasted countless Clare attacks running down blind alleys. Clare missed galvin for a small bit of aerial prowess, I hope for his sake he’s in Shannon waiting to board a plane to the states so he can go mental for a few more weeks over there.