Hurling Qualifiers, July 4th

Very interesting stuff @caoimhaoin and @myboyblue.

I guess I donā€™t have a right to be vocal as I donā€™t contribute to coaching in any way whatsoever. But I was pretty dumbfounded watching our minor hurlers against Laois a couple of months ago.

Playing against a first half gale, they set up 6-2-6 and hurled away as normal even though our puck outs were barely going beyond our own '45. I queried on the Wexford GAA thread at the time as to whether we even coach or train for game scenarios like that. Have small sided games, where one team might have more players even, developing a system to play against conditions like that, more men behind the ball, work it upfield cohesively with support play and runners (rather than lorrying it up in the air and watching the wind take it back towards you) etc etc.

Last year our seniors were wayward in their finishing but the creation of space, general movement and support play was very good for the most part. I thought it might be signalling a sea change in how Wexford teams go about things but our seniors showed no semblance of that against Kilkenny and the minors were very disappointing. Check out the u21 hurling thread for the outrageous goal we scored last night though - movement, delivery, touch all quality. There may be hope for us yet.

I said I would be very surprised if Moylan had left.

Oā€™Brien didnā€™t make the U-21 team against Waterford Kev. I assume his older brother is Patrick Oā€™Brien who played U-21 a few years back.

Anyway all three were added on the basis of weekend performances.

You also hinted that 1/2 were leaving or on the verge of leaving.

sounds like a county not in unison? All management set ups working off different play sheets and approaches. Very same as Cork.

For that reason alone, and for organisational qualities and knowing minor/u-21 set ups, Denis Ring could sort out a lot of the issues in Cork if he got the job after JBM. His coaching has been questioned, but his management canā€™t be and he now is getting good coaches around him.

Wonā€™t play again. Not leaving.

a fairly narrow view alright, and the fact that he is from Landers club makes it look a bit sus alright.
You would have to wonder have they gone to see players in other parts of Cork.

BTW, I heard 3 of the minors were extremely impressive for Imokilly the other night. Thatā€™s very encouraging that they are up to that standard and dominating. Pity Dalton is a keeper, apparently heā€™s good and confident enough to play Senior now and his puck outs are supposed to be unbelievable. But its outfield players we need really.

Liimerick will feel at home in westmeath :smiley:

LOL. Wexford donā€™t do movement or thinking. Put the cones down there and fuckin use them.

We have nothing to do with limerick bar helping ye manage limerick teams UL, LIT CLUBS, THE LIMERICK TEAM

Of course you are a Limerick man.

This is why you are obsessed with Limerick hurling.

You could not have possibly been born in clare, there has been no clare people born for many generations.

Eh? The whole Tipp game plan is based on the players making their own decisions and trying to create space kev

Yea teams think too much if you ask me. Let players hurl none of this tactic shite as we see in clare

Podge and Galvin, first names on the sheet

I fear next week bud

put a money on offaly no mess

on offaly

Ya but it takes a good coach 2-3 years to instil this. What I am saying is this comes from the coaching at underage and clubs.

I am looking forward to our trip to Mullingar next week

TJ and his team of men will have a nice day out to prepare for our path to the All Ireland 2015.

Up Limerick :grinning_face_with_smiling_eyes:

Ellis doubtful now as well. Could be done four first choice defenders for this.

cork / dub/ clare/lim will all win by +10 points.
another farce of a hurling weekend

they should just pack it in and let kk/tipp play off a best of 7 game thing like North Kildare ladies div 3 basketball , at least that way weā€™ll get a few decent games to watch