Kavanagh is an unusual choice (for me) in any case, I could think of a good few that I’d have ahead of him
Yes sir
From a stylistic perspective I always liked him. Very accomplished on the ball and great positioning. Tyrell hadn’t half the hurling of him
Wayne Sherlock was an excellent back for Cork as well but don’t think he was on the mid 00’s team?
He was and was in the mix but didn’t play long enough.
Kavanagh was a fine player but in terms of “buzz” or “doing something out of the ordinary”, I wouldn’t have had him in there. Fairly understated in what he did.
A pure hurler like Nash or a more abrasive type like Noel Connors or someone would seem to stand out more.
I recall him marking Eddie Brennan out of the match in one All Ireland final, held him scoreless, which says it all really.
An outstanding player, I’d argue that he was as good a corner back as played in this period, I often have
He started the 04 final, missed the early part of 05 and Pat Mulcahy had done little wrong
Natural corner backs are tough to pick outside of natural defenders like Finn, Murphy, Tyrell et al. I always liked Kavanagh’s style. It was him or probably Cathal Barrett for the spot and the team needed more Kilkenny men.
The best corner backs traditionally tended to be like that. Like the best referees.
Canning must have been the most stylish corner back there was, years ahead of his time for the position for the hurling and skill he had.
Whelehan never played on the left and neither did Mullane.
I’m pretty sure Mullane played on the left vs Tipperary in 2008.
Gooch over Canavan all day. And McCaffrey is a pace merchant and fair little else after it. Would be one of the first names on the most overrated 15 ever though.
You mamaged to shoe horn 4 Clare lads in - fair play
I’d have literally nobody ahead of Canavan.
You can believe what you want about McCaffrey. He has a Footballer of the Year award, another nomination for Footballer Of The Year, and two All-Ireland final Man Of The Match awards. They don’t hand them out for nothing. Style + greatness = the total package.
How can you come to that conclusion?
They wouldn’t get very far without pace for a start
Was Noel Connors not desperately overrated? Especially by himself?
Take Christy Ring for example. He was a boy wonder and the best player at his age group from a young age. Obviously an exceptional talent.
If he was born in the year 1995, he would still have all of this talents with the modern benefits of coaching, diet, equipment, S&C etc etc.
Any of the greats that play until they are 40+ are still as skilled as the youngsters coming up or the Stars currently playing.
That’s great and all but it’s no guarantee he has pace.
Gman stated a fair way of comparing players above.
Would the modern game suit Eoin Kelly?