[quote=“briantinnion, post: 571466”] I had a hugh in my first weekends back but that was only to catch up with friends. It was awful.
Get fucked Tinnion.
[quote=“briantinnion, post: 571466”] I had a hugh in my first weekends back but that was only to catch up with friends. It was awful.
Get fucked Tinnion.
Is that never contacting me again?
It maybe easier through an internet forum but fair play to you Thraw for being open. As we all know, Irish lads are fucking useless when it comes to speaking about feeling down. I suppose nobody likes to be perceived as weak for all sorts of reasons. Hopefully this mentality will change as the amount of lives that could be saved from suicide would be phenomenal.
I’d find it hard to believe that nobody at various stages didn’t question life and the point of it all. I know I do quite often. We are humans at the end of the day, with emotions that naturally can flow up and down. Personally, I actually don’t trust these people who are super happy all of the time. Maybe I’m just a cycnical grump, but I find something false about it.
I think the early 30’s are a strange time in ways for many of the average middle class lads in Ireland (the spoilt generation as you say) .Your college years were good craic and hassle free, J1 summers in Boston or Chicago, then travelling for a year or 2 after graduating, more craic and fuck all responsibilities. Come home then and start a graduate type job which in another way is just an extension of college for the first year or 2. I know shit loads of lads who followed this exact path - myself included. Before you know it, work becomes boring, you are burnt out from boozing and wondering about ‘where to next?’ Our parents generation were all married with 2 or 3 kids at this stage. Today’s society is much different though and alot harder in certain ways, especially if the so-called next logical step of settling down with a lady isn’t on the agenda for whatever reason.
Thraw, I empathise with your hollow feelings towards women. For years I have been underwhelmed by the vast majority of women I have encountered. It can be much easier just to bang them senseless and walk away. The gas thing is, I’ve quite a few females friends who I get on very well with but I wouldn’t go out with them in a million years.
It is fair to say my old mate CM has shagged a fair amount of women in his day (one massive fat bird in a Monaghan jersey on the night Limerick beat Waterford in 2007 being my favourite). But he is a big believer in true love and all that and I’m sure he’ll be along soon to encourage you to give this work bird a proper chance. In fairness, he has a point but that will only work if you buy into it also.
Life can be shit no doubt. Mickee covered the work stresses brilliantly. Outside of that, the biggest thing is to try as much as possible not to sit around feeling sorry for yourself and questioning the point of things. Try and take up new hobbies or challenges. I did a 10K cross country adventure race last Saturday - was buzzing after it.
Also don’t forget, Limerick are going to win the Liam McCarthy in the next 2 to 3 years. It will be the greatest day of them all and memories for a lifetime
That’s a great post, Phil. I wouldn’t say true love, I don’t think it exists, but I am certainly a believer in love yes. If you start with the premise that women are mentalists then you’ll be fine and for all the mental shite they carry on with there is nothing like the connection of two lovers, be it gay, straight, trans bi cross breed.
It’s not even the big things that make it Phil, It’s the simple nights in on a couch eating shite and watching shite, the Sunday morning lie ins, the little in-house jokes, facial expressions, getting your head or back rubbed etc etc. And of course the intimacy, both mental and physical.
These are all great, great things Phil. Things worth living and indeed dying for. The oldies had it right in lots of ways, pick an Apple, take a bite and get on with it. People have too much choice and are too self absorbed these days and It’s distracting, or even blinding them, to one of life real beautys- that connection with another.
But it’s not all roses, quiet the opposite, and demands some god damn hard work. But It’s like everything else in this life, the precious good times will always outweigh the bad and that’s what keeps us going. It’s through our relationships with others that we define our life or get worth from it and a big part of that is a significant other.
Now. I’m all gayed out. But if we all found someone, made lots of love, the world would be a better place. Be warned tho, this better place may involve watching xfactor on a Saturday night.
And yeah, I forgot. You are correct Phil, I have banged an amount of women. Thanks for reminding me pal.
CM, nite that Phil closes his posts with much more uplifting and promising stuff than you do. You could work on that please …
I can’t let that happen, I won’t let that happen, and I can’t let that happen!!!
How could I outdo Limerick winning Liam ??
back to back championships in 14/15 it is then.
Hear hear!
2 good posts Phil and CM…this is such an irish male problem…i really believe a lot s to do with being stuck in boys schools up to 18 years of age and then sent into the world to mix with women…by this stage men see women purely as objects to crawl up on…i have mates who have girlfriends and go out and rip them off with anyhting that looks back…these guys would be 32 ,33 years of age…i find it totally pathetic…its pure caveman instinct -follow your cock around the place…at the end of the day , no matter whether you´ve a head like a second hand camel there will always be some bird looking for a jump…its a pure ego trip…if thats the sum of your existance then no wonder lads get depressed…how many lads here could genuinely say they have a lot of genuine friends that are girls instead of having them as an option for a shag…
Fellas can’t be friends with girls.
point proven… :lol:
most Irish lads just see them as objects…just like a caveman…so if you go out and spend a fortune on beer, get pissed and bang some bird dipped in orange tan that you wouldn´t have the interest to talk to outside of a niteclub and a raging horn…why the fook wouldn´t u be depressed the next day when you wake up with hangover and an empty bag??..its not rocket science…
Great point. It’s a completely unnatural environment. Another thing to thank the church for. Was in boys schools primary and secondary and it definitely is just wrong.
totally agree…its pure suppression…
The hedonistic lifestyle will never bring true happiness. You just wake up one day and realise you are too old for it and where is the ego then?? There is more to life than carnal pleasure, be it love, spiritually or for some people It’s in charity or community work. Again, It’s about connections, our life really is defined by our relationships with others. Riding around is grand to a point but the emptiness of it becomes boring after years of it.
An element of it is that we, this generation, don’t want to put the work in like our folks did. We want to do what we want, when we want it and not have to compromise or consider someone else in the equation. We are the me generation and it can be a very hollow and empty existence.
I’m depressed reading this shit. I’m off to Russia to find me a bird with a great ass who does housework but enjoys Chekhov.
You go brother. Bring one back for Dunph too.
Have you watched Shame yet? It covers much of this. A truly fantastic if grim movie
she´ll come to u pal…just email her and tell her your better in bed than her brother…