[QUOTE=“TreatyStones, post: 1024563, member: 1786”]That actually came up in the discussion last night.
I think there are flights from Shannon too.[/QUOTE]
Hit Bristol pal. And go on a weekend when the mighty Bristol City are in town. You’ll have a fucking belter of a weekend.
Bristol is a very good spot to go out in. Decent music scene there and seriously cheap booze in some places. Do one night in Bristol and one night in Bath
Moving around on a stag is a no-no.
Up early on the second day, find an early house and bate on.
This is a thread for feeling suicidal, not a thread for planning a fucking jolly up in some Northern English shithole. :mad:
You can’t fight in here.
This is the war room.
Sorry, I thought it might have included the build up to feeling suicidal.
You’ll be feeling rightly suicidal after your jolly-up in Hull so log back in then.
Bristol is in the south west mate.
Bath is a very nice city also. Even though I hate rugby I have to admit the Rec is a lovely ground.
Manc is ok. Need to be vaguely careful. Nightclubs not bad, but the better ones again would be wary of big groups of lads. The press club will serve til daylight. Only cans of red stripe though, for some bizarre reason. See could you get to a rugby league match. Great game to watch and you can drink benignly all afternoon. Nearly over for the season now. Have a look at the didsbury beer festival if you really want an all weekend drinking spree in safety.
Ps Newquay is the best place for a stag in the UK. If the weather is nice it is anyway. You can short rent a house right on the beach. Great town for surfing. Place is full of stag and hen do’s, and usually a great band in the walkabout.
Pretty sure the Bristol flight has been discontinued. Newcastle from cork, jobs a good 'un.
[QUOTE=“Kinvara’s Passion, post: 1026721, member: 686”]signing in.
@Rocko, Can you add Generalised Anxiety to the thread title please.[/QUOTE]
Nothing worse than a dose of general anxiety.
I went in to work on Friday having been off for the guts of three weeks. The last day I had been in work previously a good friend of mine was on his last day before getting married and a few of us had a couple of drinks with lunch and decided not to go back to the office. We were due to go to a dinner for yer man that evening at 7pm but as happens you wouldn’t be that hungry when drinking all day. We sent a young lad from the office down to the resteraunt at 8 to explain our delay and told him to sit tight and not let the table go. We rocked into the resteraunt at 9.30 and ordered a bit of grub and about twice as much wine.
After that it is mere speculation as to what might have happened. What I do know Is that I was supposed to put the dinner on my card and I couldn’t because I could not remember my PIN number; I was told this on fri by the mortified young lad who was the only one sober enough to pay for the grub and who had probably maxed out his student MasterCard in doing so and was now trying to broach getting back his money.
I know I got home at 3.15 am because my wife filled me in on this bit. She said I seemed reasonably coherent which was impossible unless I had sobered up somewhere for a few hours, I don’t want to think where. For literally the first two weeks of my holiday I had this general anxiety about what may have happened. Every day I had a different flashback from the night but realised it was not possible that all of it happened the same night. I think my brain was releasing a collage of drunken incidents id forgotten over 20 year period or something!!! Pretty fucking disconcerting!
Anyways. Positively, despite my own view that I’d never ever been as drunk in my life, not one person appears to be one bit thick with me. I didn’t insult anyone and got into no trouble whatsoever. Still get bit panicky thinking about it and that the guards could be calling some evening.
Drink is an awful curse. Only that I fucking love it I’d be off it
One thing I do remember from the piss up though. Fellas were talking about the drink and why would you do it to yourself etc. one lad cut through the bullshit…sure we wouldn’t half know each other if we didn’t drink. And that’s a fact. Great bit of bullshit talked after a few pints and the moderate shared shame at the balls you were talking the night before is a great way to make friends!!!
You’re alright, for cunt, Dan.
[QUOTE=“dancarter, post: 1026966, member: 122”]Nothing worse than a dose of general anxiety.
I went in to work on Friday having been off for the guts of three weeks. The last day I had been in work previously a good friend of mine was on his last day before getting married and a few of us had a couple of drinks with lunch and decided not to go back to the office. We were due to go to a dinner for yer man that evening at 7pm but as happens you wouldn’t be that hungry when drinking all day. We sent a young lad from the office down to the resteraunt at 8 to explain our delay and told him to sit tight and not let the table go. We rocked into the resteraunt at 9.30 and ordered a bit of grub and about twice as much wine.
After that it is mere speculation as to what might have happened. What I do know Is that I was supposed to put the dinner on my card and I couldn’t because I could not remember my PIN number; I was told this on fri by the mortified young lad who was the only one sober enough to pay for the grub and who had probably maxed out his student MasterCard in doing so and was now trying to broach getting back his money.
I know I got home at 3.15 am because my wife filled me in on this bit. She said I seemed reasonably coherent which was impossible unless I had sobered up somewhere for a few hours, I don’t want to think where. For literally the first two weeks of my holiday I had this general anxiety about what may have happened. Every day I had a different flashback from the night but realised it was not possible that all of it happened the same night. I think my brain was releasing a collage of drunken incidents id forgotten over 20 year period or something!!! Pretty fucking disconcerting!
Anyways. Positively, despite my own view that I’d never ever been as drunk in my life, not one person appears to be one bit thick with me. I didn’t insult anyone and got into no trouble whatsoever. Still get bit panicky thinking about it and that the guards could be calling some evening.
Drink is an awful curse. Only that I fucking love it I’d be off it[/QUOTE]
After the hurling final replay last Saturday I ran into these lads that I kind of know and decided to go drinking with them. As the pubs were packed we got a rake of cans and drank outside on the street outside McGraths. Later on we went to Quinn’s. I was talking to two girls and went up to order a jaegerbomb for each of us. After I got the drinks I looked around for a couple of minutes and couldn’t find them, so I just drank the three jagerbombs one after the other and staggered out of the pub on my own. By this stage I had at least 11 or 12 drinks on me. Then when I got further up Dorset Street I stupidly decided to take one of those Dublin bikes and somehow got the thing down to Stephen’s Green. Went into Flannery’s after that. It couldn’t have been any later than 12:30 given I’d been able to take one of the bikes, but I’m pretty sure it was earlier than that. Remember walking into Flannery’s but have no recollection whatsoever of anything after that until I staggered out at what must have been about 2:30. I can only presume I must have fallen asleep on a seat somewhere in the place. Didn’t eat anything but bread and butter for two days and ended up with a monster of a cold which I’m still getting over. The bike thing is scary. Could easily have gone under a bus or something.
A summons can take a while, so hold tough yet.
There are many fine establishments in Nottingham, the newest being Dowling’s Irish Bar in Sherwood - had a couple of magnificent nights there. If you’re Irish they’ll treat you like a king.
There are no more rough areas in Nottingham than there are in any other city. It’s a bit like saying don’t go to Dublin or Cork because there are rough areas there outside the city centre! Jesus you can say that for any city. For what’s it’s worth, I’ve walked through The Meadows on a couple of occasions with friends after nights out on the way back to accommodation in West Bridgford, been fine every time.
Been spending nights out in Nottm since 2001 and have never had an ounce of trouble. The city centre is safe, a lot more so than bigger towns like Birmingham or Leeds. It’s a young vibrant city and the Irish are very well liked there.
1st time I went drinking with work for about 2 1/2 years, was going across to the pub with the plan to leave at 7. woke up in a taxi in Malahide at 2.30. Had no recollection of most of the night, didnt get up to take my kid to tennis on saturday morning so the Brisbane Lion is seething with me. Last 2 days I have been an anxious nervous wreck, convinced myself I either started a fight or tried it on with someone,
shitting myself walking in today, spoke to a few people there, turns out nothing hppened, we were all sitting around having a laugh & that everyone was equally as drunk. Still though the last 2 days have convinved me that nutri bullets & water are the only things to drink
[QUOTE=“The Selfish Giant, post: 1027602, member: 80”]1st time I went drinking with work for about 2 1/2 years, was going across to the pub with the plan to leave at 7. woke up in a taxi in Malahide at 2.30. Had no recollection of most of the night, didnt get up to take my kid to tennis on saturday morning so the Brisbane Lion is seething with me. Last 2 days I have been an anxious nervous wreck, convinced myself I either started a fight or tried it on with someone,
shitting myself walking in today, spoke to a few people there, turns out nothing hppened, we were all sitting around having a laugh & that everyone was equally as drunk. Still though the last 2 days have convinved me that nutri bullets & water are the only things to drink[/QUOTE]
I warned the forum last week about the hazards of drinking fresh. You should have paid heed to it