I'm on top of the world thread

I think I’ve read most of the TFK back catalogue at this stage…recovering from somewhat serious illness (massive post partum haemorrhage, 15+ blood transfusions- I feel I should be a better cyclist but alas no…, complete organ shut down etc ) gives a person time to read stuff and most other forums are way too earnest.

Anyway, your yearnings after the French lady(I think it’s in the Girls thread) and the Tales from the Brothel are amongst the highlights plus I think you should do something on Limerick’s Unlimited Optimism at a remove

[QUOTE=“Midshipman Asha, post: 989132, member: 1508”]I think I’ve read most of the TFK back catalogue at this stage…recovering from somewhat serious illness (massive post partum haemorrhage, 15+ blood transfusions- I feel I should be a better cyclist but alas no…, complete organ shut down etc ) gives a person time to read stuff and most other forums are way too earnest.

Anyway, your yearnings after the French lady(I think it’s in the Girls thread) and the Tales from the Brothel are amongst the highlights plus I think you should do something on Limerick’s Unlimited Optimism at a remove[/QUOTE]

Sorry to hear about your troubles but that’s some fucking commitment :clap:

Considering the new front page couldn’t we get a page for Thraw on here?

[QUOTE=“Midshipman Asha, post: 989132, member: 1508”]I think I’ve read most of the TFK back catalogue at this stage…recovering from somewhat serious illness (massive post partum haemorrhage, 15+ blood transfusions- I feel I should be a better cyclist but alas no…, complete organ shut down etc ) gives a person time to read stuff and most other forums are way too earnest.

Jaysis, there’s an article in there anyway. Hope you’re doing better!

And thanks, though the tales of the French lady are still a constant source of pain…

Oh I’m in perfect health now and I’m loyally waiting for a thread as great as the dressing gown one to emerge…

You’ve obviously not read @ClarkeyCat’s thread on audio books.

Now I am going to have to look for that but I am positive it will not surpass the dressing gowns

the softest part of a kk man is his teeth

Apart from that time your wan from Golden refused to wear the Tipp jersey to bed.

Bump please!

@Thrawneen - saw these - maybe worth a look

Arts charity IdeasTap is looking for a journalist to write a weekly 500-word column for its popular online magazine IdeasMag.

The column must be entertaining, inspiring and relevant to IdeasMag’s young, creative demographic.
The successful applicant will receive £100 per week for a 500-word column that’s bursting with original opinions about arts and culture. They’ll also be offered the option to take up free, full-time desk space at IdeasTap’s London Bridge office.

IdeasTap is an arts charity that helps creative people get to where they want to be. We work with leading arts organisations to create industry opportunities for our members as well as providing access to funding, competitions, jobs, training and advice. Since launching in December 2008, IdeasTap has awarded more than £1.8 million worth of direct funding and accompanying expert mentoring to emerging artists. Its membership currently stands at 150,000+ and its partners include BFI, Magnum Photos, Mother London, The National Theatre, Royal Exchange Theatre and Sky Academy.

Irish News Review (www.irishnewsreview.info) is looking to recruit a large number of writers for various positions. Positions are unpaid, but provide great experience for writers. Previous writers have gone on to obtain permanent positions with various national media outlets including The Irish Daily Star and The Sunday World.

Applicants must possess a high standard of writing and be capable of producing their own material. Writing experience is not essential but is beneficial. Applicants must also possess a high level of self motivation.

Editors are looking for reporters, columnists and reviewers in the following areas:

Arts

Books

Current Affairs (*Fluent Irish speaker among those required)

Entertainment

Films

Games

Health

History

Hockey

Irish Boxing

Irish News Reporters

Music

Politics

Technology

Travel

World News reporters

Contact… irishnewsreview@gmail.com.

KRANK.IE seeking more contributors…

Krank.ie is a place for people to share news and views. The site is looking to hear from potential contributors. There are a variety of areas you could help out with, including (but not limited to):

• Writing articles, reviews, opinion pieces and news stories.

• Attending events such as plays, concerts, film previews, protests, debates, lectures on behalf of Krank (and writing about them afterwards).

• Photography or videos, vlogging or podcasting.

In particular, we are always looking for contributors who would be interested in covering news, politics and/or current affairs.

Contact… admin@krank.ie

[QUOTE=“TheUlteriorMotive, post: 989776, member: 2272”]@Thrawneen -

Contact… admin@krank.ie[/QUOTE]

Definitely worth a look, thank you so much. Getting your initial writings published somewhere is vital for pitching an idea to an editor of a decent newspaper or a magazine. I wouldn’t go for the London thing though, I dislike London and Brits too much. That said, I will give it a look, as I’m sure I could bullshit 500 words and it be great to be in print. As my pal says, editors want on time, to the word count, on-topic pieces and then “good” in that order so it would be great practice even if I got in it just once.

Appreciate the support lads…it’s a scary thing to be getting into but I even had the much missed @dancarter PM with advice and the even more missed SS** on Facebook telling me he’s about to strike it rich by winning a short story competition.

He said he’d come back for a day after we trounce (my second county) Wexford. It all helps.

[QUOTE=“Thrawneen, post: 989794, member: 129”]

Appreciate the support lads…it’s a scary thing to be getting into but I even had the much missed @dancarter PM with advice and the even more missed SS** on Facebook telling me he’s about to strike it rich by winning a short story competition.

He said he’d come back for a day after we trounce (my second county) Wexford. It all helps.[/QUOTE]

:clap::clap::clap::clap:

I read last years winnners and runners up. He should trounce the competition, with his wordsmithery honed here and on AFR.

http://www.munsterlit.ie/Southword/Issues/25/dumbleton_molia.html

Sure a yank won it last year. And a female at that.

Anyway, your yearnings after the French lady(I think it’s in the Girls thread) and the Tales from the Brothel are amongst the highlights plus I think you should do something on Limerick’s Unlimited Optimism at a remove[/QUOTE]
Hope everything worked out well @Midshipman Asha. Are congratulations in order?

[QUOTE=“Thrawneen, post: 989794, member: 129”]Definitely worth a look, thank you so much. Getting your initial writings published somewhere is vital for pitching an idea to an editor of a decent newspaper or a magazine. I wouldn’t go for the London thing though, I dislike London and Brits too much. That said, I will give it a look, as I’m sure I could bullshit 500 words and it be great to be in print. As my pal says, editors want on time, to the word count, on-topic pieces and then “good” in that order so it would be great practice even if I got in it just once.

He said he’d come back for a day after we trounce (my second county) Wexford. It all helps.[/QUOTE]

Thraw, we could write it for you. An expert on everything here. You could make horse racing trendy.

Sure go for it so. I like to think I’ve given some entertainment to the board since I joined…so anything I get in return would be useful! Especially since most of my posts would be only likely to be published in expanded form if my name was Olaf Tyranesen and Hot Press still featured “edgy” writing.

Christ I hate that cunt of a man

Only one sharp tool in the box here… Take a bow Fagan

[QUOTE=“Thrawneen, post: 989794, member: 129”]
even more missed SS** on Facebook telling me he’s about to strike it rich by winning a short story competition.

He told us that last year also. And was beaten by a bag of chips FFS.