I'm on top of the world thread

Up early myself. Porridge with a banana and blueberries along with orange juice for breakfast before a stroll from my parent’s place to the local shop for the paper*.

A brief glance at it upon my return and I then got changed into my gear to continue my injury rehabilitation programme. A tough 45 minutes of good, solid work was completed and I’m now showered and dressed and about to tuck into a salad bowl prepared lovingly by my wonderful mother.

I’ll stroll over to Wexford Park at about 12.20 and hopefully catch up with my chum @Appendage and maybe 1 or 2 others. My father will join me for the hurling as he can’t be arsed heading over early for the football.

It’s a typically beautiful spring day in Wexford town and I’m in a cracking mood. I certainly won’t let Ireland’s victory yesterday spoil things for me.

*not The Sunday Independent.

Im trying to attend the patricks day parade in leeds to represent my country. However i have a crushing hangover and dont know where it is on. Currently nursing a pint in wetherspoons trying to work it out

slightly down at the moment, never really thought much of Paddy’s weekend but im feeling it a bit more lately, missing the craic
what’s 'home" tho? this was the first Christmas i spent away from the parents house, you feel the ties being cut more, you can leave it go or can hang on, I find tho the longer im away the more i really value being irish, you think about things, history , music, did i need to leave and go live elsewhere to value my home and native culture tho, ? its an interesting concept one that me and the few other Paddy’s resident out here no doubt will be debating into memory filled Guinness glasses at 3am tomorrow night.
The odd thing about Israel is that there is no Israeli culture, you have a chaotic mish mash of immigrants from all over the world living mixed up on top of each other , most dont even identify with each other, they have nothing in common, we just bring the irish card to the table , our own “settlement” so to speak, that’s a challenge and one we will make work, i feel we need to.
i sure as hell will be giving the young fella an education in cork and limerick hurling from 1987 on wards using old Gael Sport annuls, the 87 edition in particular is a classic, those things should be on school curriculum, ive already started him on the cobh ramblers 1983 FAI cup run and he watched the VHS of Limerick of Bohs in the 82 cup final when Tony Ward and my ould fella ran riot in those blue shirts when he was sick the other night.
I was listening to OTB the other night and John Egan son of a famous kerryman gave a fantastic interview about life playing for Southend and what it meant for him and his family when he scored a screamer the other night after 2 hard years out with injury, listening to the fella talk would make you proud to say you were from the same place as him… an absolute gent, that made my Paddy’s weekend.
Fuck rugby football, that shit yesterday in paris means nothing to me and never will, i have no association with it, its about as Irish as Alan Shatter.
Im off back to work anyway, we’re practicing set pieces in training tonight, ill feel better if i belt a few in wearing the old euro 88 jersey.
thanks to lads like @Peter G[/USER] for all the support, if [USER=361]@Tassotti is still alive , hang in there man
interested to hear @balbec[/USER] and [USER=236]@Fitzy 's thoughts

@Bandage , that breakfast / lunch sounds disgusting

I dont even know where home is anymore. This is the first time in my life getting this paddys day bollixology.

[QUOTE=“mickee321, post: 917286, member: 367”]slightly down at the moment, never really thought much of Paddy’s weekend but im feeling it a bit more lately, missing the craic
what’s 'home" tho? this was the first Christmas i spent away from the parents house, you feel the ties being cut more, you can leave it go or can hang on, I find tho the longer im away the more i really value being irish, you think about things, history , music, did i need to leave and go live elsewhere to value my home and native culture tho, ? its an interesting concept one that me and the few other Paddy’s resident out here no doubt will be debating into memory filled Guinness glasses at 3am tomorrow night.
The odd thing about Israel is that there is no Israeli culture, you have a chaotic mish mash of immigrants from all over the world living mixed up on top of each other , most dont even identify with each other, they have nothing in common, we just bring the irish card to the table , our own “settlement” so to speak, that’s a challenge and one we will make work, i feel we need to.
i sure as hell will be giving the young fella an education in cork and limerick hurling from 1987 on wards using old Gael Sport annuls, the 87 edition in particular is a classic, those things should be on school curriculum, ive already started him on the cobh ramblers 1983 FAI cup run and he watched the VHS of Limerick of Bohs in the 82 cup final when Tony Ward and my ould fella ran riot in those blue shirts when he was sick the other night.
I was listening to OTB the other night and John Egan son of a famous kerryman gave a fantastic interview about life playing for Southend and what it meant for him and his family when he scored a screamer the other night after 2 hard years out with injury, listening to the fella talk would make you proud to say you were from the same place as him… an absolute gent, that made my Paddy’s weekend.
Fuck rugby football, that shit yesterday in paris means nothing to me and never will, i have no association with it, its about as Irish as Alan Shatter.
Im off back to work anyway, we’re practicing set pieces in training tonight, ill feel better if i belt a few in wearing the old euro 88 jersey.
thanks to lads like @Peter G[/USER] for all the support, if [USER=361]@Tassotti is still alive , hang in there man
interested to hear @balbec[/USER] and [USER=236]@Fitzy 's thoughts[/QUOTE]
Thats a cracking post. Right there. I identify with that.

yeah man , i came home drunk last night , never want my youngfella seeing me like that again, sometime tho we need the drink to escape to go somewhere else, even if it involves singing Grace by The Dubliners on your own at a bar ignoring callas from the wife

You have to do what you have to do to get through the day mickee. I have starting smoking fags again over the pressure. I have drank 5 pints here and its not lifting the pain of this hangover. Its looking like i will have to get some drugs in. I’ll give it half an hour

Well after a 2 hour slog in the peaks, I now have a hangover down only one side of my face and head. Either that or it’s a stroke or a brain tumor. Fucking hell. :frowning:

:clap:Some great posting there lads. We are a nation opulent with tomorrows

Fuck sake there is a drink related depression thread for this shit. Stop dragging us down. This thread is for people who are on top of the world.

Poets, writers, artists cannot be put into “thread” straight jackets Rintintin. The beauty of these posts is you can see the brush strokes as their imagination and stream of conscious colours our thoughts and shades our emotions

Happy St. Patrick’s day @mickee321 . I never had a lot of interest in the day when I was at home. It does mean something though when you are away. Nice if there are a few of the diaspora around to share it. Was home Thurs & Friday then flew to Warsaw yesterday for the St. Patricks Day ball. Great night, 500 at it. Must go upstairs now and put the Tricolour out for tomorrow.

:clap::clap:

Just had a surreal expieremce. 3 21 year old slappers wanted a selfie with me in it with them. Ive had an absolute skinfull. But that is the power of st patricks day

Did you do a few lines off their tits, pal?

[QUOTE=“mickee321, post: 917286, member: 367”]slightly down at the moment, never really thought much of Paddy’s weekend but im feeling it a bit more lately, missing the craic
interested to hear @balbec[/USER] and [USER=236]@Fitzy 's thoughts[/QUOTE]
Been away at a company conference thingy in QLD all weekend, so I’m extremely tired and hungoverand also in work today. I live outside of Sydney, so I miss the parade etc. To be honest, Paddys day has never been a big thing for me since I left the motherland. It was great when I was growing up and especially living in Dublin when I did. But now its a day where you try to avoid people talking unintelligible shite about Ireland, or worse, cunts emailing Irish jokes to me. In the car earlier on the radio, they were asking if it was acceptable to tell Irish jokes now. The presenter, who’s an english knobend, was actually refreshing in saying he found it a bit offensive and it must just annoy Irish people, which it does. I don’t find them particuarly offensive, but I find the people who tell them to be the worst kind of moron.
Paddys day just all feels very false and I feel like I’m being forced into some type of stupid stereotype. A client said to me earlier “Ho, Ho, I thought you’d be down the pub sinking pints of Guinness since 7am”. Well no, I’m in work doing a submission you need for tomorrow.
I’m Irish every day. I don’t need a day that celebrates the tool that brought catholicism to Ireland to tell me that.

In saying that, I’m wearing a fetching green tie in work today. I would also like to wish each and every one of you a happy Paddys day, I hope you all enjoy it. Gwan Mt Leinster Rangers!

Happy St Patricks Day @Fitzy

I remember Irish jokes being very popular in Australia. It was a bit strange considering the level of intelligence of your average Australian is very low