In The Courts

Good to see they have referenced misogyny here
In the posterā€¦means itā€™s ok to wear your limerick jersey to the assault = suspended sentence March

Would it be possible to bring a civil action against the Army rather than scrote Crotty himself?

Undoubtedly, she was brave to confront him, but consider where it led her. The broader issue at hand is the rampant gratuitous violence occurring on the streets of every town and city in Ireland, driven by alcohol and drugs. My advice to young people is to avoid involvement, keep your mouth shut, and keep walking.

I know what you mean tbf.

Absolutely. silly to get involved. Just from listening to her interviews, she seems like a fairly fiery, confrontational woman.
Unfortunately for her, she ran into the wrong person that night.

Iā€™d say the socialist feminist movement would be some craic to have a few pints with

This takes victim blaming to unprecedented new heights.

I think Judge O Donnell posts here

Is observing that she ought to have avoided this type of situation for her own benefit considered victim blaming now?

Maybe Iā€™m wrong but there was far more alcohol induced fighting in the years gone by?

When I started going ā€œoutā€ there seemed to be a fight every night out between lads from different parishes/teams etc. The fellas who were older than me would contend there was even more fighting in the 90s/00s.

It generally took place after the night clubs which were two a penny at that stage in Ireland.

The big difference between the violence nowadays is it is more likely to be drug induced which leads to a different type of violence than a slobbery fight after 15 pints.

I could be mistaken on all of the above but Iā€™d rarely see a fight when Iā€™m ā€œoutā€ these days. Most young lads know each other from sport and/or social media so that small town gang mentality is not there. Young lads these days donā€™t go out as much either.

So many people go to college now too it cuts a lot of it out I reckon because again you are mixing a lot more with people outside your area. Even gaa clubs are joining teams to field are underage too so lads are mixing more.

The likes of Newcastle west in Limerick were mad back in the day. People nearly came for the fight and a night out might break out.

I wouldnā€™t be out much anymore but there was big fights almost every Saturday night when we went out in late 90s / 00s.

On one of my first nights out I got an awful, unprovoked, slap in the jacks of a nightclub.
Then you had the usual parish faction fights.

But in all that I donā€™t ever remember hearing of a girl getting set on and attacked by a man.

ā€œWe went to the fight and a disco broke outā€

When the drink comes in, the wit goes out .
Hooch =no good.

I remember working with a lad from Longford in America years ago and he telling me about the big disco in Carrick on Shannon. Theyā€™d come from 4 or 5 different counties to go to it . The way he described how these small parishes would send in their troops on the minibus and all hell would break loose between the different lads in the disco . It was like Band of Brothers or something

Cartown - you had Leitrim Roscommon Mayo Longford (mad for rows) Cavan & Sligo roasters all in the mix. Be fights breaking left right and centre