International Elections Thread

Any reaction from Germany yet?
According to good British* sources the anti austerity crowd in Greece are NOT good for us, ie the British isles

• BBC4 radio. My fav by a long shot.

Just shy of an overall majority it would seem

No way Angie can make a deal with these guys.
You’d imagine there’s no way Syrzia can back down from some fairly strong rhetoric either.

Seems to be an assumption the Greek lad will cave. Not so sure though.

The Far Lefties have gone into power with the far righties. :popcorn::popcorn:

One of the far right party policies is to persue German War Reparations :popcorn::popcorn::popcorn::popcorn::popcorn:

[QUOTE=“Julio Geordio, post: 1080763, member: 332”]The Far Lefties have gone into power with the far righties. :popcorn::popcorn:

One of the far right party policies is to persue German War Reparations :popcorn::popcorn::popcorn::popcorn::popcorn:[/QUOTE]
65bn owed in reparations

this lad seems an awful greenhorn
im thinking he is going to find out its easier to sit on the backbenches heckling than it is to actually be in power…
he’ll be gone in no time and the status quo will return
far left groups are meant to protest , not govern… this will be a clusterfuck for them

[QUOTE=“mickee321, post: 1080797, member: 367”]this lad seems an awful greenhorn
im thinking he is going to find out its easier to sit on the backbenches heckling than it is to actually be in power…
far left groups are meant to protest , not govern… this will be a clusterfuck for them[/QUOTE]
Classic pawn of the establishment response there, mickee

What’s the craic with these reparations? I like the sound of this.

from WW2. The Germans owed millions, all written off…

Yeah, of course. Any link to some history on it? Surely Greece has given up its claim to this or it’d have been brought up before now.

As an aside, the documentary “touched by auschwitz” is on tomorrow evening, and gets very good reviews.

What is the total amount of war debt that Germany is said to owe Greece and the other countries as well?
The debt to Greece was to the tune of a little bit less than 500 million reichsmarks; total debt to Western Europe on clearing accounts was about 30 billion reichsmarks. Now this doesn’t sound like a lot, but it becomes a little bit more meaningful if I tell you that the grand total is about a third of Germany’s gross national product in 1938, the last year before Germany started World War II. Now, that is not the only debt, because Germany manipulated the value of the debt through the exchange rate system that it had under its total control.
There are calculations done by German government officials toward the end of World War II, so still under Nazi rule, where they were trying to figure out what is the realistic value of all this debt that was incurred in occupied Europe, and they arrived at a figure that was closer to 85 or 90 billion. That gets very close to Germany’s national product of 1938; let’s say about 85 to 90 percent. Now we are talking really big sums. Just to give you an idea: Germany’s national product last year was somewhere above 2 trillion euros, so let’s take 90 percent of that. We are still above 2 trillion euros, just to give you an idea of what that debt back then was relative to Germany’s economic potential.
Is there any way to quantify that debt and its value today if we adjusted for inflation and the changes in value over the past several decades?
There are several ways of doing it. What I just did is one way of doing it, and here we would say the grand total of that debt, if we take German GDP as the yardstick and don’t try deflating it, the total value of the debt measured as a percentage of Germany’s GDP in one given year, would today be over 2 trillion euros.

here’s the full link - http://truth-out.org/news/item/27261-germany-s-unpaid-debt-to-greece-albrecht-ritschl-on-germany-s-war-debts-and-reparations

ah , im also old enough to be a realist fagan
the romantic robin hood type politics that these lads have just sets them up for failure

[QUOTE=“mickee321, post: 1080797, member: 367”]this lad seems an awful greenhorn
far left groups are meant to protest , not govern… this will be a clusterfuck for them[/QUOTE]

The Greek centre or right parties haven’t exactly been successful in the past.
There is an argument to be made Greece is ungovernable. Be you right, left or centre.
The whole place is corrupt as fuck, the rich particularly so. They’ve even stopped paying taxes in the run up to the election.
http://www.ft.com/cms/s/0/b47c6d76-a320-11e4-bbef-00144feab7de.html#axzz3Pw5J9sUF

The Syrzia lads are allegedly offering increased tax compliance to the Germans as a a carrot to give them some flexibility on their loans.
Imagine that one of your negotiating points was, we’ll actually go and collect the tax we are supposed to be getting. :smiley:

A serious sheep.

The Greeks and all the Western Allies were owed small fortunes from the Germans as reparations for the war.
These were delayed as the allies were helping the Germans out against the Russians.
The claims are brought up every now and then when the Greeks hit a rough patch. They’ve obviously taken on a new significance given Germany is basically the one in charge of their bailout.

The Germans say the debt has been wiped long ago, with a final solution :eek: upon reunification in 1990.The Greeks dispute this. The amount in dispute varies significantly.

The more interesting aspect of the story is a forced loan the Germans took from the Greek central bank during WW2, which being a loan, would have to be paid back at some point.
There’s a whole pile of complexities around that as well though and it varies in whats owed between $11 billion and $100 billion.

The new greek mp interviewed on Morning Ireland fairly skirted around the issue of tax avoidance. Just flipped around to say they would get more tax of the wealthy people rather than pursuing the small business man.

The article @feck it[/USER] posted is very interesting, makes for a very interesting slant of the no default allowed narrative. Agree [USER=332]@Julio Geordio, reparations are unquantifiable, nothing will ever happen regarding them. But the loan is a different story. Presumably ze Germans pulled the same trick in a rake of other places so the likelihood of it being repaid is pretty low. I’d like to see the Greeks take this to the ICJ.

The Germans pay for the EU instead of war reparations. Wasn’t that the whole point of the EU?

not in the Treaty of Rome days, but it may have morphed into that.

This guy means business…:clap:

https://pbs.twimg.com/profile_images/543370535669751809/CHoJGPGY_bigger.jpeg[B]rui borges[/B] ‏@homo_viator [/URL] [URL=‘https://twitter.com/homo_viator/status/559722134373949440’]40m40 minutes ago
First act as PM, #Tsipras[/URL] visits Kaisariani rifle range where Nazis executed 200 Greeks on 1 May 1944 v/[URL=‘https://twitter.com/dgatopoulos’]@dgatopoulos

load of populist bullshit
that’s their fucking beal na mblath… itll buy him time as he was elected by simpletons who appreciate such futile acts of nationalistic bravado… the mob as Ceasar found out are indeed fickle… they want some show of two fingers to the German, easy to drag up some WW11 bullshit.
this is a dangerous move i think, Putin tried to use WW11 politics to stir up some nationalistic fervour calling the ukranian governement nazis in order to get the common man on board , in 1993 it also happened in Yugoslavia, Kaeadzic calling Croats “Ustasha” ( a WW11 term for Nazi in the Balkans)… Tudjam and the Croat paras calling Serbs " chetniks"… all to inspire war, these man were elected on the basis of a nationalitic principal…
i presume he is there today to give some of this back to his voters, allow them have their “revenge”… it wont help him put bread on tables tho… all that shit does is alieniate and discriminate… ull see this crowd purge all foreigners form Greeec id say, this is not the act of a “leftist”… this is some right ring nationalist hoping that radicalization of the country will buy him time … when this guy cant deliver he is fucked, the country will be lawless id imagine, Merkel should just cut that mess loose now