I think Harryâs point is more that ye wonât be long jumping off it and moving on to something else.
Just like the World did to all those girls that were kidnapped, or all those Syrians that are being murdered as we speak or like the World forgot about Gaza the ten other times this happened.
Never underestimate peoples ability to be distracted.
Iâd love to see the world take some sort of sustained action like the boycott during apartheid where no sports teams went there etc. but our attention span is too short to focus any sort of issue these days.
[quote=âcaoimhaoin, post: 995053â]Selling them is just keeping them in the market.
Anyone know how keeping them in the market would benefit the Israeliâs? Anyone?
Carryharry is being unfairly lambasted here also, his point is valid regarding the amount of people attempting to outdo each other in their outrage on this matter in the media, both online and traditional. Of course whats going on there is wrong, he never claimed otherwise but lets see how long people keep their focus on this matter. While one angry man in Australia dumping his tools is one thing, has he actually done anything relevant to really make a difference? Even tweeting Charlie Flanagan would be more worthwhile than that!
meanwhile these lads continue to saunter thru the middle east
of course if the US / UK try to stop them the rent a crowd mob will be outside the GPO saying stop the war, western imperialism, etcâŚ
the hypocrisy as @caoimhaoin would sayâŚ
whats the hypocrisy Mickee? Maybe Iâm taking you up wrong, but there are arguments out there about Gaza and people saying, sure look at Syria, thats terrible there, or look at this place etc, its going on there too as if because it is going on elsewhere and its not making as much noise, then the argument for supporting Gaza is null and void if you arent making the same noise about Syria or elsewhere. Whilst it is shocking what is going on in a shit load of places, it doesnt make the argument any less valid. Its all shit, it just happens to be the case right now that Gaza is getting all the media and social media support. I think all the other places should be getting it too, but just because it isnt, doesnt mean the argument for supporting Gaza is any less valid, which is the counter debate by a lot of people.
I agree with @Gman all these counter arguments are pointless and just clouding the issue.
Most of these âput-downâ counter arguments are ridiculous really. So what if itâs a bandwagon and so what if people werenât moved before, theyâre moved now. Apartheid was ignored for years until a slow ground swell became a mass movement, should the bandwagoners have stopped and said, âactually Iâm only moved on this now so I shouldnât be offended muchâ - Bosnia the same. Also, people change, mature and change their outlooks. Iâve 2 kids now and that changes perspective on things for me.
Other laughable belittling is the call for people to throw out their laptops etc. having already purchased them whereâs the benefit in that? Silly.
The happenings in Syria and Iraq are terrible and the deaths and displacements horrendous, I think why people are more moved on Gaza is because itâs a democratic superpower Israel flattening a small strip of land and wilfully killing innocent people and children and theyâre getting away with it.
Bandwagon cunts is right. Myself, Kev, Glas, WTB and Scrunchie have always stated our hate of the Israeli pigs. Particularly Kev and I. Iâm glad the rest of you have had your eyes opened however. I hope the Israeli bastard that put a knife to my throat in Thailand has been beheaded by Hamas.
I must be alone in thinking that what ISIS is doing is worse than whats going on in gaza. They are massacring people, carrying out clear genocide. Similar to what boko harem are attempting but there seems to be some sort of reluctance to condemn islamic fundamentalism. Is that in case its seen to be racist?
Israel are also killing civilians and are of course wrong but can someone tell me what israel is supposed to do, right now, if there are rockets fired at it or if hamas are attempting to tunnel into israel. I accept fully that Israel has carried out decades of human rights abuses but if people keep referencing that theres no hope of any peaceful outcome on either side. Right now what do posters here expect israel to do when being fired at?
[QUOTE=âJulio Geordio, post: 995059, member: 332â]How long have you? When did you buy the tools?
Did their previous murdering of citizens not bother you? Or is it just this round?[/QUOTE]
My first real mature attention was brought to it when i lived in the US, about 12 years ago. Again, thats irrelevant and you are still trying to skirt around the dickheads you and harry have made of yourselves,. If i took up the cause last week then more power to me too, the more people know the better.
I bought the tools in the past 3 years.
But you are clearly ignoring the fact that i didnât even know the tools were mostly israeli made until a week ago.
Next.
[QUOTE=âmaroonandwhite, post: 995098, member: 1406â]I must be alone in thinking that what ISIS is doing is worse than whats going on in gaza. They are massacring people, carrying out clear genocide. Similar to what boko harem are attempting but there seems to be some sort of reluctance to condemn islamic fundamentalism. Is that in case its seen to be racist?
Israel are also killing civilians and are of course wrong but can someone tell me what israel is supposed to do, right now, if there are rockets fired at it or if hamas are attempting to tunnel into israel. I accept fully that Israel has carried out decades of human rights abuses but if people keep referencing that theres no hope of any peaceful outcome on either side. Right now what do posters here expect israel to do when being fired at?[/QUOTE]
Seriously? You want to go back over the whole thing again?
For what it is worth, some political analysts who donât seem to have agendas were on tv last night and they think ISIS are going to have to be confronted soon and are a real danger, and basically they are in the midst of starting WW3
[QUOTE=âcaoimhaoin, post: 995099, member: 273â]My first real mature attention was brought to it when i lived in the US, about 12 years ago. Again, thats irrelevant and you are still trying to skirt around the dickheads you and harry have made of yourselves,. If i took up the cause last week then more power to me too, the more people know the better.
I bought the tools in the past 3 years.
But you are clearly ignoring the fact that i didnât even know the tools were mostly israeli made until a week ago.
Next.[/QUOTE]
So you intermittently jump aboard the bandwagon?
Fella, you are bollixed here, just put the thread on ignore, i even have glas and rocko agreeing with me amongst others. I mean, i must be unbelievably right to get the nod from rocko.
And women. And civilians. And end their oppression and collective punishment of a nation. And stop their efforts at ethnic cleansing. And stop being an apartheid state. And stop their various other human rights abuses.
[QUOTE=âmaroonandwhite, post: 995098, member: 1406â]I must be alone in thinking that what ISIS is doing is worse than whats going on in gaza. They are massacring people, carrying out clear genocide. Similar to what boko harem are attempting but there seems to be some sort of reluctance to condemn islamic fundamentalism. Is that in case its seen to be racist?
Yes that is the case, people are so afraid of being the racist word that they are afraid to criticise certain groups. The thing is that these groups now this and at the first sign of criticism they are throwing out the racist defence to deflect from their actions. It is usually the biggest offender offenders that use this defence to deflect attention away from them and onto the people criticising them.
With all eyes firmly focused on what going on in Gaza it allows groups like ISIS to carry out more atrocities, unfortunately that is the way of the world at the moment leaping from one crisis to another. It is has to be near impossible to have people covering Boko Harem, ISIS, Ukraine. North Korea, Israel/Gaza and god knows how many other countries and groups carrying out atrocities on their own people of their own people.
[QUOTE=âcaoimhaoin, post: 995100, member: 273â]Seriously? You want to go back over the whole thing again?
For what it is worth, some political analysts who donât seem to have agendas were on tv last night and they think ISIS are going to have to be confronted soon and are a real danger, and basically they are in the midst of starting WW3[/QUOTE]
It is almost inevitable that there will be a huge Muslim v the rest fight in the coming twenty years.
If these ISIS boys can in fact establish a state, and become a focal point for Muslims around them, they may be the catalyst to bring it to fruition, presumably with a war against Israel. They have fuck all chance as it stands, but if they really got momentum and got going youâd never know.
The Muslim World is seething with Egypt for standing by and doing nothing as this went on. Hamas were allies of the Islamic Brotherhood that the Egyptians overthrew and as such Egypt sees them as enemies as well. They are now being accused of being US lackies, which is probably a fair statement. Traditionally Egypt have positioned themselves as the focal point for Muslims (prior to them it was the Ottoman Empire) but there is a potential vacuum now that ISIS could exploit.
Its a weird concept for us to understand but Muslims believe in a super Muslim state as part of their religion and as such would have no issue dropping their national states (most of which are relatively recent anyway) or at least allowing their states to be subsumed into some federation of sorts.
*I realise Iâve used some pretty sweeping generalisations about âMuslimsâ above which are obviously not true of many of them.