Iraq / Middle East / Murder Thread

Very difficult to bomb ISIS. Sure they’ve fuck all equipment.

[QUOTE=“TreatyStones, post: 996154, member: 1786”]
I find it mad that Hamas started firing rockets again once the ceasefire ended. Although looking at the state that Gaza is in after the first bombardment it’s going to make much odds to them.[/QUOTE]

Hamas are in it to win it now. They want to blockade lifted and have the World watching for a change.

How can you tell one rag head from another? You can’t… Bomb the lot of em.

[QUOTE=“Lazarus, post: 996128, member: 286”]They were known(at least to the West) as AQI(Al Qaeda in Iraq), for a while under Al Zarqwi, but have taken on a much more virulent strain then even Al Qaeda since their operations in Syria and new leadership, Al Baghdadi. (Bagdhadi pretty much told Al Zawahiri, AQs spiritual leader, to go fuck himself earlier this year when he fell out with the other opposition forces in Syria). Actually their probably no worse now than they were during the Iraq War but the difference is they have the means now to carry out their massacres on a grand scale. Their most likely being funded by Saudi and Quatar but have gained a high degree of self sufficiency because of their success’s. Perception among fellow Muslims has generally been opposed to them, even amongst fellow fundamentalists, but if they are seen to make some sort of a stand against the great Satan that could change quite quick. The yanks have no choice though, if the puppet government can’t look after their oil then they’ll just have to go back in and do it themselves.

No definitive docs yet on ISIS but I came across this which isn’t bad. Although it’s barely a month old it’s already it’s already out of date as ISIS has evolved into the Islamic State now but a decent account of how they came to be nonetheless.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zzttGCSjT_0
Interesting stuff.

I was always under ye impression that Al Queada was something the yanks dreamed up, or at best grew out of their last invasion of Afghanistan. That the name nor the organization never really existed although there was certain powerful groups who independently were willing to carry out terrorist attacks. It never seemed like a great big organization.
The yanks imagination/governing by fear/paranoia brought a lot of this on themselves (well really the region as it doesn’t really affect the ordinary American. )

[QUOTE=“caoimhaoin, post: 996173, member: 273”]Interesting stuff.

I was always under ye impression that Al Queada was something the yanks dreamed up, or at best grew out of their last invasion of Afghanistan. That the name nor the organization never really existed although there was certain powerful groups who independently were willing to carry out terrorist attacks. It never seemed like a great big organization.
The yanks imagination/governing by fear/paranoia brought a lot of this on themselves (well really the region as it doesn’t really affect the ordinary American. )[/QUOTE]
They essentially created this jihadist shite in It’s current form, they brought it to the Muslim world.

[QUOTE=“Scrunchie, post: 996168, member: 1408”]Good Arab = Dead Arab

http://www.theguardian.com/world/2014/aug/07/palestinians-return-home-israeli-troops-faeces-graffiti?CMP=fb_gu[/QUOTE]
It seems the Israeli army is made up of young, uneducated, indoctrinated, indisciplined, extremist thugs.

[QUOTE=“TreatyStones, post: 996154, member: 1786”]What’s happening?

I find it mad that Hamas started firing rockets again once the ceasefire ended. Although looking at the state that Gaza is in after the first bombardment it’s going to make much odds to them.[/QUOTE]

yeah, look i despise the IDF but they did pull out, after 72 hours of talks in Cairo they (hamas) fired on Ashkelon this morning, FFS, our match has been cancelled now
Look guys, Hamas dont give a fuck about Israeli or Gazan civilians, they want to destroy the state of Israel at whatever cost.

As opposed to any other army is it?

So similar to every army in the World then?

Not really. Conscripted 18 year olds that have been entirely indoctrinated to believe the Palestinians they kill are sub-human.

[QUOTE=“caoimhaoin, post: 996173, member: 273”]Interesting stuff.

I was always under ye impression that Al Queada was something the yanks dreamed up, or at best grew out of their last invasion of Afghanistan. That the name nor the organization never really existed although there was certain powerful groups who independently were willing to carry out terrorist attacks. It never seemed like a great big organization. . )[/QUOTE]
Yes and everyone here told you were that you were talking through your hole but you didn’t pay any attention to us. There’s a trend here for those observant enough to see it.

To be fair I don’t think they need too much indoctrination for that. Seems to be bred into them.

[QUOTE=“flattythehurdler, post: 996132, member: 1170”]Agreed but I don’t think hypocrisy is the word. The us/eu recognise Israel as a state. It is recognised as a state under international law. Isis is no such thing really.
I don’t actually think Isis is an incredible force per se, more a small bunch os highly motivated, well organised and funded psychopaths with local knowledge. The only solution to them I suspect would be back to a military dictatorship of sorts in the affected countries a la Egypt, if those countries continue, or want to continue to exist as things are. Europe will be awash with traumatised people if this continues.
Whilst what the IDF is doing in Gaza is shocking and wrong, I personally despise fundamentalism in all its’ forms, and if push came to shove, would rather live in an Israeli style “democracy” , than the style of “democracy” that exists in Gaza currently, where a rabidly fundamentalist govt came to power and immediately dismantled the opposition. I would not want my wife or kids living under sharia law, and would sign up to fight against it were that a serious threat.[/QUOTE]
You are right, double standards is probably a better description.

As for the rest, it’s pretty clear Israel is a fucking great place to live. It would have to be or there still wouldn’t be hundreds of Jews each month applying to live there.

[QUOTE=“mickee321, post: 996180, member: 367”]yeah, look i despise the IDF but they did pull out, after 72 hours of talks in Cairo they (hamas) fired on Ashkelon this morning, FFS, our match has been cancelled now
Look guys, Hamas dont give a fuck about Israeli or Gazan civilians, they want to destroy the state of Israel at whatever cost.[/QUOTE]

What are they supposed to do? If they don’t get the blockade lifted then prison life continues.
What’s that saying “a man who has nothing to lose, has nothing to fear”

[QUOTE=“Julio Geordio, post: 996196, member: 332”]What are they supposed to do? If they don’t get the blockade lifted then prison life continues.
What’s that saying “a man who has nothing to lose, has nothing to fear”[/QUOTE]
While I agree with the sentiment the fact that Hamas more or less, at least any direction or leadership, lives in many other countries around the region and even in parts of Europe kinda dilutes the whole blockade theory.

Why can’t Hamas coordinate a simultaneous barrage of multiple missiles aimed at Tel Aviv? Surely the Iron Dome wouldn’t be able to take them all of them down?
Or are the rockets they are using just wildly inaccurate and it’s pot “luck” where they land?

[QUOTE=“TreatyStones, post: 996233, member: 1786”]Why can’t Hamas coordinate a simultaneous barrage of multiple missiles aimed at Tel Aviv? Surely the Iron Dome wouldn’t be able to take them all of them down?
Or are the rockets they are using just wildly inaccurate and it’s pot “luck” where they land?[/QUOTE]

I don’t think they have any great ability to aim them.

[QUOTE=“TreatyStones, post: 996233, member: 1786”]Why can’t Hamas coordinate a simultaneous barrage of multiple missiles aimed at Tel Aviv? Surely the Iron Dome wouldn’t be able to take them all of them down?
Or are the rockets they are using just wildly inaccurate and it’s pot “luck” where they land?[/QUOTE]

I would expect Hamas not to be using top of the range rockets. I guess they just fire the rockets in the general direction of the target they want to hit and then say a prayer to allah or whoever and cross their fingers it hits the target.

A bit like the Wexford forwards last weekend?