the lower you are the better horsebox
if at ground level the shrapnel will you fly up in a 60 degree angle from the point of the explosion, its not like say a nuke where you can see that wave effect accros the ground, staying low will prevent getting shrapnel in the face, etc
[QUOTE=âJulio Geordio, post: 980105, member: 332â]@mickee321 you are insane.
I was reading something recently about the bombing of London during WW2 and they quoted some old lad who was asked to evacuate and he said something like âWhat and miss this? This is the most exciting thing that ever has or ever will happenâ.[/QUOTE]
its a buzz allright, i know lads who dont go to the shelter as they want to see the iron dome in action or see the impact⌠mad
[QUOTE=âKinvaraâs Passion, post: 980092, member: 686â]All the work on the prowler should have improved your explosive strength.
Can you make the safe room in 15 seconds from the bedroom, with young lad in your arms?
Sounds like hell though mate, if you have any sense youâll get out.[/QUOTE]
yes
but its awful
âFrom Home Farm away to Hamas away -
how one brothel-creeping Cobh Ramblers fan ended up in the midst of the Israeli-Palestine Warâ
[QUOTE=âThrawneen, post: 980249, member: 129â]âFrom Home Farm away to Hamas away -
how one brothel-creeping Cobh Ramblers fan ended up in the midst of the Israeli-Palestine Warâ[/QUOTE]
Would you ghostwrite the book for him?
thrawneenâŚwith his way with words the kip would end up being a popular holiday destinationâŚ
I reckon me and Mick could collaborate on something rather entertaining alright
@mickee321 - There must be all kinds of shenanigans got up to in these safe rooms? You must have heard some right crackers over the years from couples/girls/guys/relatives/in-laws that thought they were gonna die?
I spoke to a lad in Tel Aviv today and he said everything is grand apart from the warning sirens. No one appears too worried.
This is surreal
Went down to the little merkaz there to get a pack of fags and the place is totally deserted
There is a total sense of waiting, Anthony Loyd said in this fantastic book âMy war gone by I miss it soâ that in Sarajevo the locals knew an air raid attack was imminent as there was an awful silence followed by dogs barking , we donât have the dogs but the silence out there now is horrible
A few rockets landed in Bat Yam a suburb just outside TA about 6pm, the wife reported a huge boom that woke yer man up at half six as a rocket smashed into Nes Tziona just laterâŚbit nothing since.
Hamas have now fired rockets at Dimona a town in the south that is home to Yossi Benayoun and a nuclear reactor⌠anyway
6 hamas chaps were just shot dead trying to enter Israel via sea, the IAF just reported that they took out 80 rocket launch sites in the strip, we need to see know how they react.
On the subject of safe rooms, every new house apartment has a safe room per house , but in the older buildings its usally the stairwell or an underground bunker⌠the stairwell gatherings are meant to be entertaining, given that you have 15s to get dressed people tend to show up in various states of disrepair⌠its usually small talk along the lines of âŚ
â should have stayed in ZurichâŚhahaâ⌠â
(wait for boom)
âdid you hear it ?â
âyeah was that itâ
(check app on phone to confirm that was the boom)
âright then catch you laterâ
In times of multiple attacks tho you are best just sitting in the protected area with a few cans and chatting with the neighbours, its great for single lads or chattin up really hot single young young knacker moms who will ride ya in a shotâŚ
Edit:
15 rockets in the last 2 minutes , none fell near us , heard a loud boom allright 10kms away
Well done Mickee, one of the best threads. The posts have me fascinated. Keep them up please if you can⌠but more important keep the Missus, the lad and yourself safe!
sound lads
1am
explosion in the distance
thnks for the PMs , ill get back to ye later
Stay safe mickee, whats the app that tells you the rocket has exploded? This is fascinating.
Ps was the god awful wrestling movie âhere comes the boomâ renamed in israel?
@mickee321 your boys must be getting ready to cross the border soon?
Or are they wary after the last big push ye made?
[QUOTE=âThrawneen, post: 980249, member: 129â]âFrom Home Farm away to Hamas away -
how one brothel-creeping Cobh Ramblers fan ended up in the midst of the Israeli-Palestine Warâ[/QUOTE]
@mickee321
Iâve been on to Robert Fisk and heâs agreed to do the Foreword
[QUOTE=âThrawneen, post: 980707, member: 129â]@mickee321
Iâve been on to Robert Fisk and heâs agreed to do the Foreword[/QUOTE]
With Pat Dolan
[QUOTE=âmaroonandwhite, post: 980540, member: 1406â]Stay safe mickee, whats the app that tells you the rocket has exploded? This is fascinating.
Ps was the god awful wrestling movie âhere comes the boomâ renamed in israel?[/QUOTE]
here is the app in english
https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/red-alert-israel/id873642097?mt=8
i have the hebrew version that alarms or beeps after the iron dome has intercepted the rocket , ( you;ll hear the massive explosion anyway if its a Fajr - 75 overhead), obviously if it hits the ground or a target it wont alert but the explosion will be severe
some more sustained attacks today on both sides, the resistance of Hamas is admirable TBH and they certainly are doing their level best to get around the iron dome and sending in fighters by sea, the BBC reckon they can keep this pace up for another 6 weeks before they run out of ammoâŚ
regarding the IDF going in, its virtually impossible to justify going in there with the civilian causalities that will occur, Hamas know this and netanyahu even tho under massive pressure from the hardliners does not want it⌠its like a game of bluff now, Bibi put 40k troops on the border, hamas have now targeted Dimona where there is a nuclear reactor and no iron dome!!!, they scored a few good hits on Tel Aviv earlier and have totally fucked the country upâŚ
The deaths in gaza are horrible, Israel are trying to minimize it by dropping warning grenades on sites , telling Hamas TV to evacuate areas that they know are launch sites before attacking them, both sides bizarrely agreed on the early knock MOO that Israel drop a small mortar in the garden of a Hmas members home telling him he has 15 mins to evacuate his family before bombing itâŚlook thereâs 2 fucking million people in a tiny area, collateral damage and human shields are a horrible reality, the IDF are by no means perfect but in this situation they are i believe showing restraint⌠if they wanted Gaza would be a parking lot in 10 minsâŚ