Ireland politics (Part 1)

Democracy is decadent.

He is a great man

Oā€™CĆŗivā€¦Ah here!!! Probably a decent man and most likely a diligent rural TD but heā€™s perceived as somewhat of a dinasour within party ranks.
The party needs overhauling from the top down, we arenā€™t overburdened with talent currently.

Youā€™ve just proved his point then

In reality heā€™s 70 and has never held a worthwhile ministry in his 30 years in the DĆ”il.
Heā€™s history with a small h, entrapped in some mystic land of the GĆ”el within his own head.
No doubt an honourable man heā€™s pining for the partyā€™s fortunes but heā€™s hardly the man to prevent the slide into oblivion.

FF polling at 4% in Dublin. Behind Solidarity PBP now.

O Cuiv didnā€™t put himself forward, more an observation Iā€™d say.
FF donā€™t have a direction. They are the Boris Johnson of politics, blown like a leaf on the media wind.
The first thing they need is a strong leader, and the equal first thing they need is a team of spin doctors.
Leo is miles ahead on the spun doctors, has the metropolitans in thrall, and still needed a freakish global ā€œpandemicā€* to save his neck.
FF are level pegging despite appalling leadership and politicians for a generation.
They need another CJH without the islands.

Guess who sorted out @flattythehurdler planning permission :thinking::grinning:

Nobody yet. :slightly_frowning_face:

Thereā€™s always hope. A mere 3 point difference at half time, the wind in his back, playing down the slope and the extra man (Eamon) to bring home the bacon. How bad!!!

A great summary.

I refrained from that oft used quip ā€œthe fix is inā€. Nothing to be embarrassed about, weā€™ve all done it.

I think O Cuiv is well above putting a fix in, unfortunately.
He will help if he feels you have a genuine case. Otherwise he wonā€™t entertain you. He doesnā€™t fuck about, is absolutely up front and honest, but if he takes it on, he does his absolute best.

FF are in a shite situation, a significant amount of their core vote is backwards arsed ignorant fuckers and people with ā€œcatholic valuesā€ that were against the equality referendum and the repeal of the 8th amendment. Many of their TDs are of that ilk, like o Cuiv. They need to maintain that vote for now. But you donā€™t build a party for the future by catering for those types. Martin is trying to make the party look current and palatable, knowing heā€™s propped up on these yokels shifting like sand under his feet.

Hereā€™s how it goesā€¦

You donā€™t come across as particularly tolerant to people not of your view yourself glas.
FF ang fg are just a pair of buttocks.

There are no votes to be garnered from having ā€œprogressive ā€œ values of social issues . FF are goosed at present because :

They were poor in opposition . C&S was seen by most as rubber stamp of FG government
They are struggling in government
They were at the tiller in 2008 when the economy went tits up
Their front bench is pretty underwhelming .

If social issue garnered votes Labour would be top dogs .

Where did I say anything about tolerance there?

Yes there are. But not from people that would be inclined to vote FF. And anyway, FF need to maintain their vote from those against progressive social values. Martin knows this, he is trying to show a progressive front while the likes of o Cuiv and worse appeal to the ignorant bolloxes. He is trying to ride two horses.

If someone is ignorant, education is more likely to help than calling them a bollox, you ignorant bollox.