Ireland politics (Part 1)

thereā€™s no educating bigots like glas

Heā€™d better reply to that given I went to the trouble of writing it.

Perhaps. But sometimes ignorant bolloxes need to be called out and shown up for what they are.

Maybe you could fund a scholarship for your ignorant bollox nogra brethren? We could call it ā€œFlattyā€™s scholarship for ignorant nogra bolloxesā€.

Clearly PJā€™s ignorant Limerick bollox scholarship was wasted on you.

In the short term Iā€™d agree. FG got very little credit for that. Glas will just say they swam with the tide but why didnā€™t they get punished by the electorate in the 2000s and 2010s?

For the most part, people vote on their own pocket and on personalities.

I think it leaves FG better set up for the future though. They do poll better with younger voters. Martin has been a shit leader all told.

In fairness to Oā€™Cuiv, social values aside he was right about the future of FF with SF around. They needed to corner them into government in 2016 and even if the numbers wouldnā€™t have worked, made it out that theyā€™d go in with them this time.

Spot on but Martin wasnā€™t having it. Heā€™s an absolute dud. Thatā€™s the Cork in him. Grrrrrrā€¦

John McGuinness is the man.

Martin has been an unbelievably watery Taoiseach pretty much from Day One. As McSharry pointed out the other day, Varadkar has run rings around him in recent months.

About half an hour before todays meeting finishes up, Leo will excuse himself to go to the jacks and announce the new measure before Micheal has even finished the prayer at the end of the meeting.

Martin was effectively pointless in opposition with C&S . That set a tone . It really couldnā€™t end well .

Big Jim has positioned himself beautifully here, let everyone else do the lifting.

He has always been watery even when he was a minister. If there was decent talent in the party he wouldnā€™t have been within an arses roar of the leadership. Martins own desperation to be Taoiseach has let Leo and FG run rings around him.

Except the part that he definitely wonā€™t get reelected

This

Oā€™Cuiv should invite Martin to a clear the air meeting in West Cork.

Aontu should subsume FF with Tobin and Oā€™Cuiv leading the way for a party that is left leaning and upholds traditional catholic values. Thereā€™s a decent percentage there judging by the recent social referendums. FF are at nothing as FG lite

Great underrated post

I think thatā€™s slightly harsh. Heā€™s a social Conservative. Iā€™m a social Liberal but he comes across as a really decent fella. Honestly, that lad to me and to a lot of the public encapsulates nearly everything that was nice about the values of old original FF and old original Ireland. If you think Oā€™Cuiv is lost in a Gaelic wonderland why did you support FF in the first place? Iā€™m a little surprised that other FFers would have a problem with a guy like that, it doesnt reflect well on them. Social liberal issues aside Oā€™Cuivā€™s judgment on the big issues (SF, Micheal Martin etc) has been far more accurate than anyone else in FF. He has genuine common sense, he seems to be genuinely connected to the public instead of an institutionalised policy wonk like Martin. Oā€™Cuiv has far better respect for the real values of the country.

If Oā€™Cuiv has never been given a ministry then serious serious questions have to be asked about why so many cunts-to-the-backbone have been promoted ahead of him and everyone in FF seems to just accept thatā€™s just how it should be. Like how the fuck did Martin give Donnelly a ministry ahead of Oā€™Cuiv and why does everyone think thatā€™s normal? The national politic is a farce really if you think about it, itā€™s just a circus.

Oā€™Cuiv is obviously not near leadership material but heā€™s a decent and rare truth talker in FF. Heā€™s one of the very few people in the Dail that Iā€™d like to be mates with, Big Jim, Charlie McConologue and Barry Cowen being a few of the others.

Big Jim is as dull as dishwater.

Id say thereā€™d be some difference between a night out with Jim and a night out with Barry Cowen.