Ireland politics (Part 1)

Are you saying that they should have prevented that decision? There were plenty of protests then. Murphy hasn’t appeared from nowhere on the water charges issue.

No but they eventually got him noticed

I’m referring to the large numbers of the general public not the ring leaders. Apologies if I want clear enough.

You mean “prom night”? When the taxpayer only found out at the last minute that a load of pissed TDs were going to beggar another few generations

No dude. I mean the last 7/8 years in general.

Animal Farm politics is what we’re living through at the moment

Please outline how labour or Joan Burton benefit politically from this. It’s a fucking shambles for them. A continuous reminder of how they fucked their former core vote.

They won’t benefit. But that’s been par for the course for them in this government. They have constantly made poor choices, they’re constantly attacking the left to try and cosy up to FG. They’re constantly losing any ideological battles with FG, if they’re even raising these issues privately. Burton is at the centre of this issue and has done, absolutely nothing, to diffuse the situation. At best, it’s reckless neglect.

great post , people wanted change but labour and FG wanted to bring us back to where we were

Simply explained by them being interested solely in their own cabinet skins. Their ideals, if indeed they ever existed, left the building long ago. They are cowards, and greedy cowards at that. SF have pedalled a consistent line. It remains to be seen how this holds up if they actually achieve some form of coalition. Power corrupts, even the vestige of power.
There is no Labour Party any longer.

Cannot see any form of coalition
At best Labour and FG will get 60 seats.

That would be an interesting scenario. I actually think that when it boils down to it, the fg PR machine will have imparted enough positive spin that people will vote for them. They are a cowardly and opportunistic govt, but the economy has,on the surface of it, improved on their watch. All their eggs in the one fdirinvestment basket, but if that collapses for whatever reason, the current individuals will be long since snouting away in the pension(s) trough.

Labour have always been like that.

Everywhere.

So you think the labour party are machiavellian enough to have the gardai do their bidding but are too stupid to know what’s good for them? I think you have no idea how ramshackle an organisation the labour party is.

I don’t think it takes much cleverness to have the Gardaí and the DPP doing what they’re doing. It’s not exactly a sophisticated tactic. I’m not naive enough to believe that the trumped-up charges of an opposition politician for an incident involving a high-profile member of the government just happened to materialise and that Labour were powerless to intervene.

Labour clearly feel extremely threatened by the independents, AAA, Socialists, Sinn Féin and anyone else on the left. They make panicked and idiotic decisions, and the fact that those decisions will probably ultimately hurt them isn’t much of a defence. Idiots do idiotic things.

Rocko you’re all over the place. What’s the story with the commas here?

I reckon this is a solo run by the guards. The upper echelons of that organisation don’t seem to need Labour to make poor decisions. The Clare Daly incident you mentioned was hardly as a result of government pressure, She’d been highly critical of the Gardai for a good while and some eejits on the beat saw an opportunity to get their own back.

I think you are a fool if you think labour are driving this. Daly and hairy went after the gardai. Murphy is the poster boy of all the water charge arse holes who have been annoying the gardai for 2 years. That is reason enough for the gardai. It suits the gardai. No way a corrupt institution like the gardai would be ordered around like that unless it suited them, especially after their boss man was taken out by enda.

I see in the indo today that FG are taking about limiting Kennys involvement in the general election campaign. Why don’t they just rid of the dumb cunt if he is that bad that he can’t be let out in public on his own in case he is asked a question.

On the Guards going on a solo run regards Murphy, if that is the case then we are in serious shit if the government can’t control the Guards.

You are willfully ignoring the role Shatter had in the Wallace incident. If you don’t think there was political collusion there then you’re pretty much turning a blind eye to everything.