Why is he roaring?.To be fair to ROD he landed up to Jackās the evening before the All Ireland last year in his RODmobile and bought the house a round.
āDonāt you dare lecture meā: Sparks fly in the DĆ”il on housing 'Don't you dare lecture me': Sparks fly in the DĆ”il on housing
Monty bites back
SF cute enough keeping Eoin o broin hidden away during the no win situation of covid and letting cullinane make an eejit of himself instead
Populism
The cost on a 100k journey is 0.82 cents
Isnāt he the dude that didnāt turn up to any of the committees on rural ireland
Some amount of unparliamentary arm flailing from that roaster.
Itās great. Theyāre all out now that COVID is done telling us great they are.
Thatās some article. Bad man Eamon Ryan stops any amount of hardworking Fine Gael lads from doing wonderful things for the country. Says Blue Hugh. Shameless shit.
The Army Barracks and Broadstone are just attention seeking by the Greens. There is plenty of planning permissions out there if we all just stopped objecting to homes.
Longer term plans are needed for both sites. Broadstone in particular should not be turned into 100% housing, that would be madness. Regardless of that, we are 10 years from that even being a possibility given the money spent on it by the transport authorities. Youād think Green ministers would be aware of that.
Asking for a feasibility study is attention seeking
The Barracks in Rathmines is a very obvious spot for housing and fair play to Eamo for pointing this out. It made sense to have a barracks there when the two lads with shillelaghs were running the country in case they needed quick back up and it made a lovely (and free) home for General Mulcahy and his insufferable offspring to have an idyllic childhood. But it makes no sense now to have a military installation in the city centre.
They got rid of the barracks in Monaghan, right by the border, surrounded by Brits on all sides, and kept the barracks in Rathmines. Just shows where the power lies.
Some Senator on the Gavin Reilly the other day piped up on this; said the bomb squad were based in Cathal Brugha Barracks and most of the calls they get are in Dublin city centre. You couldnāt have them driving in from Kildare or Drogheda, apparently
Iāve no issue with those lands changing in public use, but a full plan is needed and long term thinking needed. In fairness, as @Little_Lord_Fauntleroy points out this is a feasibility study, though Eamon jumped ahead with potential. There is rampant NIMBYISM in Ireland and thereās always a pot of gold there for someone to point to as an alternative to the site they donāt want built on.
In the capital?
Surely they could be satisfictorily housed in an underground carpark or something?
is that not the blueshirt policy for dealing with the homeless?
Sounds like OāBroin was fairly disappointing? Gas how housing is apparently the biggest issue in politics in Ireland today and not one comment on it on here and not much even on Twitter on a debate between the housing minister and the main opposition
Sounds like OāBrein was obnoxious and wouldnāt let the other person speak but then again I suppose it is what side of the fence you sit on. The only real thing that came out of the debate is that anyone looking to buy an affordable is fucked and the political parties on either side are either not capable of solving it or couldnāt be arsed trying to solve it.
One bedroom houses for 350k are affordable according to FFG