Ireland politics (Part 2)

For those more versed on the intricacies of the housing crisis than me, is the building of accommodation in the port the equivalent of pouring water into a leaking kettle?

In that there are so many issues with the whole housing area in general that, without sorting, the building of accommodation is only going to have a minimal impact.

The Port is never moving. Those lads down there wouldnā€™t budge. Not a chance.

They are building a new bridge so the trucks dont have to go over the East Link

The Government would look at the CIE sites and relocate them outside the City before they would look at the Port.

sea water levels are rising mate

Why do the councils and the RTB not regularly enforce existing laws in the current environment do you think?

I canā€™t understand it anyway

Cosgrove?

They spend their days posting here?

Yeah the response from the head of the port to Ryan that I mentioned above was strident. But itā€™s a decision for government, if they decided to make it. I donā€™t think they will.

:dizzy_face:

its a symptom of any regulatory law in ireland, thereā€™s also issues with most of them being brought in the district court where the judiciary can be quirte partisan

Thereā€™s an element of large amounts of that area being gradually converted into residential/commercial anyway so maybe thatā€™s the way it continues in time - bit by bit.

Like the whole area behind the Point and similarly around Grand Canal Dock was all port wasteland about 20 years ago and now has been transformed.

The Glass Bottle site development may trigger further adjacent developments on the south side there.

Thereā€™s loads in it. We have a massive massive undersupply so getting tens of thousands of additional units as fast as we can is priority, the second biggest part is that the state needs to build own and operate a large stock of housing for the market to normalise. Those are the biggest planks.

You really think that the judiciary are political and biased donā€™t you :joy:

never been in a district court outside dublin pal? local and limited is very much the way to describe it

Insufficient powers and resources.

Well enforcing existing powers doesnā€™t require more powers so they could start with that ā€¦

Sometimes it does. There might be rules but if the authority doesnā€™t have sufficient powers to investigate, compel, enforce, punish, then the rules are ineffective. SIPO is a good example of this.

regulatory powers for authorised officers in ireland are generally template: they provide for wonderful powers of entry etc, but lack some powers that may make a regulatory enforcement action easier such as proper obstruction penalties and the ability to do plea bargains

Air BnB is a completely overblown issue.

It should absolutely be regulated, but more so because of the costs etc associated with them that others are forced to bear.

Itā€™s a tiny number of units.

Perfect for lads wanting to feign concern though, much like the ones doing the same craic on random evictions, when they themselves also support evictions long term.

I see the EPP head office was raided by police today in Belgium. Who are FG associated with at all !

Itā€™s not a solution but I think itā€™s important. Itā€™s thousands of units, and those all help. Itā€™s an emergency, we should require all these units used. Itā€™s also about equity, and prioritising people taking up short terms letā€™s over people in long term need in the current crisis is just wrong.