Ireland politics (Part 2)

I think that’s a fair point but that argument equally applies to politicians opposing local developments.

3 times more properties available on airbnb than daft and 90 % of airbnb property owners say they would rather let the property go empty than engage a long term let. sure, totally overblown.

Air BnB is a great way to hollow out a city centre. You’d see new blocks here without a light in them Monday to Thursday, all weekend rentals.

It really isn’t important. Deep analysis was ran and it made up about 1 months worth of rentals for Dublin.

It’s a distraction. It is funny though that many of those keenest to lambaste them were also those who hated hotels getting built.

That seems convincing, thanks.

it was the attention to detail that swung me, along with the helpful links

Tell us you’ve a property on Air BnB without telling us you’ve a property on Air BnB.

We are using hotels to house the homeless and apartments to house the tourists :man_shrugging:t5:

Agreed. Like when they said the covid vaccine would prevent transmission, me and my friends knew it wouldn’t prevent all transmission, similarly putting AirBnBs on the rental market would not reduce all homelessness.

That’s Ireland for you.

The German equivalent of Joe.ie has a wacky story about Ireland doing this.

My sources tell me Bertie flying the kite last weekend for the next coalition is more than just him spouting shite in front of a microphone.

Its very telling……relations aren’t good between the two main parties being held together by the Greens.

Its a great little country all the same

We’re flying it. If politicians would stop objecting to houses we’d be grand.

Buy all the private landlord gaffs. Sorted.

Heather Humphreys finally showing that somebody in Fine Gael knows how to play the game. She told some person from that Ditch yoke to “fuck off and leave me alone”.

Humphreys 1 Glorified Party Planner 0

C19 is your best example of this as you had a virtual shutdown of Air BnBs private market.

This is what happened;

So in fact, less than one month’s supply came back to the market. This ignores people who got out of long term leases and may have left Ireland altogether or have moved back to the country (ie the 3k Air BnB number might be an exaggeration) as mentioned.

But still, at best it is three week’s supply. It gets the blood boiling and allows people to show how much they care, but it isn’t something that is going to make any tangible difference to the market. You are getting down to talking about tourism multiplier effects at that stage.

I don’t have an issue with taxing it heavily or regulating it btw. I think it is grossly unfair that you have people renting out to different people every week in an apartment block, for example. It is a security issue for other residents and is leeching off others. They’re built as places to live, not to be hotels.

@artfoley

Chilling

You sound like a lad has an Air BNB Tim,do you?

I think that is pretty spot on. SF and FF will be in government. Micheal and Mary Lou will spar away until the election because I’m pretty sure MM won’t be the leader then, stepping away before he is known as the leader who took them into a coalition with SF. I think it will be interesting to see the tone of the debates in the Dail after the summer recess. SF vs FF won’t be as bitter as SF vs FG.

It’s the coalition that should have happened after the last election to be honest.