Ireland politics (Part 2)

Looking good @Little_Lord_Fauntleroy

Says fella posing in front of patio heater.

Mustnā€™t get cold , you know :grin:

Itā€™s powered by his own self importance

God help us. I actually watched all of this (for my sins, as the man says). This chap is some dweeb. Some of his mannerisms/quirks & the delivery reminded me in style ofā€¦one of those painfully cringe Ryan Tubridy Late Late Covid era monologues.

https://twitter.com/finegael/status/1771989599197315363?s=46&t=0sQkcb7z4szDmx1-2Xlm0w

Alexa show me a man with zero charisma

Fine Gael are fookedā€¦ heā€™s like a 70 yr old man the poor crateur

Fine Gael need to reset and this man will energise them. The country is in safe hands.

Lovely slow handclap from La belle safe Dublin Helene therešŸ˜

The ā€˜you ainā€™t seen nothing yetā€™ line from Harris put me in mind of this scene from Phoenix Nights.

I watched it last night with the sound off and subtitles on and thought it might have been ok. Flip me pink itā€™s horrific with the sound on. Trying to make himself sound like a roaster by dropping the g at the end of ing and saying aul. FG are obviously going to move themselves a little bit away from the woke crew though.

My read is that Varadkar and Mcentee are despised by old school FG.

Themselves and FF may as well pivot back a bit more right wing socially. They donā€™t really get any credit for being progressive anyway

I could only watch about 20 seconds of it when you first put it up. Itā€™s horrendous.
I went back and listened to it there. It is beyond brilliant how shit he is as a speaker and how tits up this will go imo.
Some observstions
He looks horrendous. Like yer man from despicable me but less warm. He looks genuinely unhealthy for a man in his 30s. Iā€™d say most would say heā€™s 50s.
For a lad from greystones, he sounds nothing like it. He actually sounds quite like Matty McGrath in a lot of it.
He struggles to say the words ā€˜Fine Gaelā€™ without a weird guttural role. It makes him sound a bit drunk.
His oratorial style is poor. He has very little charisma or warmth. It comes across as sneery or like an angry teacher. No matter what he is saying, nor its substance, normal people will struggle to warm to him or trust him.
The ā€˜take back the flagā€™ bit is comedy gold. He clearly gets high on the whooping from the masses and just repeats it too many times. He sounds like a mix between a deep south yank whod march on the capital and a deranged gaa coach screaming at lads losing at half time in the under 12s blitz.
This was his big moment. Iā€™d say the speech was half wrotten for years. Itā€™s not brilliant content wise. I shudder to think of but lookforward to hearing the utter shit he will come out with when under pressure or speaking off the cuff.
It says a lot for FG that this fella is their big hope. There is obviously a chance that this lad is a genius who will change the country and there has just been little evidence of his genius until now. However, on the balance of probability, its more likely hes a snake who has been utterly centred on this for years and thats all he gives a fuck about. From a stability point of view youd think its important for him to carry on as much as was in terms of the coalition but youā€™d imagine his ego and the fact that heā€™s been mocked most of his life leaves him with a bit of small man syndrome. Heā€™ll be dying to put his stamp on things and itā€™ll lead to friction with ryan and martin who are desperate to see out this government term.

I wonder could we convince Leo to come back

Simon has really improved the lot of minorities and women in third level education apparently.

Agree with most of that. On looks, hasnā€™t he a long term illness that must affect somewhat. On your final para I think youā€™re a bit unfair on saying heā€™ll be dying to put a stamp on things for his own ego. Heā€™s being parachuted in to save the party and will be under pressure from them to show a different focus or energy or emphasis I a very short time frame that is going to save them in the upcoming election.

You could feel the energy leave the room as the speech went on.

Like turning up to the first game of the year under a new management, and knowing instantly, no matter what you do, the whole thing is fucked.

That is a truly excellent summation.
Youā€™ve pretty much hit the nail on the head in every aspect. His shtick wont endear himself with anyone. There is a very faux sincerity about him. He tries too hard. Iā€™d also lean more in the snake in the pit reference than any underlying genius tendancies. A lesson I was told in life is never conflate good communication skills with actual intelligence. Simon Harris is a prime example of this. Once you scrape beyond the veneer there ā€œaintā€ much there.

He was half Liz Truss and half Stephen Kenny.

The worst bits were how he said ā€œā€¦and we value people who go deh workā€ very quickly, almost muttering like somebody who has had 10 coffees in the last three hours.

ā€œNo matter who yeh are, where yeh come fromā€ and ā€œhackneyed oulā€™ sloganā€ sounded very forced. Itā€™s not a good look for a Taoiseach to be trying to channel Oulā€™ Mr. Brennan.

He pronounced ā€œequalityā€ as ā€œequalidyā€. Substituding Ts for Ds is a very unendearing linguistic tick that is unfortunately quite common on the eastern seaboard.

Mucksavages have the reverse tick where they substitute Ds for Ts (Old Traffort, Wimpleton).

The numerous implorings of ā€œtake our flag back, take it back, take it backā€¦take it backā€ reminded both of Alan Partridge shouting ā€œDanā€ 37 times and somebody instructing their dog to chase a tennis ball.

ā€œThis party stands for supporting the family farmā€ was Liz Truss ā€œpork marketsā€-esque.

Then he threw in a helpinā€™, in the bleeding anyways. He only missed out on whaā€™.

The ā€œIā€™m up for it, are you?! Iā€™m ready, are you?!ā€ was Howard Dean screaming.

He has a very tinny, shrill quality to his voice. He grimaces a lot and cannot smile properly.

I think Simon Harris is probably a decent enough fella behind it all. But his public speaking skills are a fucking disaster.

I might as well be the first to call him Spock Harris as somebody is going to call him that anyway and it will stick.

child GIF