Both Molumby and Knight are over-rated. Both do a lot of running around without ever really doing anything. I know they’re other 20/21 but some lads would have you believe they’re the saviours of Irish football.
He has a very weird manner to him. He was practically in tears after the Luxembourg game and looked ready to take a long walk off a short pier. He was back to talking big and giving it the big one today. Maybe a bit too much for a fella with 0 wins in 11 games. The way he goes on about the Serbia game you’d swear we played them off the pitch.
He’s a weirdo. He can hardly string a sentence together when he’s talking about the players or the tactics and then suddenly a passion will seize him and he’ll give a 60 rant before breaking down again. His speech last night about how he would lead Ireland in the future sounded like Bela Lugosi in Ed Wood.
If you were a teacher and a student answered every question like “you know, you know, you know” you’d assume he was an idiot and never going to achieve anything.
This is a very weak era for international football (is how somebody looking to start an argument might frame it).
I agree. Also winners find a way to win no matter who you are playing. Saying that, he might come good yet but based on the pressure he’s under, that’s highly doubtful
I think there is merit to that but by the same token the weaker nations are far more organised, better coached and have more money/resources than they were a generation ago. The 5th and 6th seeds will still take the occasional trimming when they play the top 7 or 8 countries in Europe but the gap between the lower second seeds and 4th seeds in Europe had closed considerably in the last decade.
Our most important players in my opinion are Randolph, Coleman, Egan, McCarthy, Brady, Connolly, all apart from Coleman have hardly been fit. Cant cope with those losses.
How many times has McCarthy played for Ireland since Euro 2016? How can he be deemed an important player when he has hardly played in 5 years and has been at best mediocre for Ireland for the majority of his 40 odd caps?
Brady has been one of the most often available players under Kenny
John Egan is doing his reputation and standing a lot of good by being injured at the minute. He looked decent beside a dominant Duffy late in the last campaign and is now seen as our best defender simply because he isn’t playing. He is a nice solid centre half in fairness to him but is he really all that much better than what we have available that he will make a massive difference when he returns?
Richard Keogh was every bit as solid as Egan before the crash/injury at Derby
You must forget Duffy played Braithwate onside v Denmark?
Kenny dropped Coleman. Brady cant get a game anywhere. And Connolly is a striker who hasn’t scored a goal.
Constanly half fit as last night shows. Would be a certain starter if he could ever get himself fit.
Connolly is a lot better than Collins and Long which doesnt say much for him.
Your beloved Mick ignored McCarthy for a 36 year old Glenn Whelan. Again if he could get fit would be an upgrade on what we have.
Kenny started his reign by talking up McCarthy and the likes of O’Dowda. A lot of these players, as you allude to, have been unreliable in terms of injury and availability, and in consistency of performance when available too. I referenced Tony Mowbray’s Celtic reign in Kenny’s early stages, as it reminded me of it. Talking about grand visions without having the basics nailed down and putting faith and emphasis in individuals that I felt would be misplaced. Kenny reminds me of a successful camogie manager thrust into the senior men’s inter-county role.
It doesnt say much for anything.
That was Doherty wasn’t it?
Glenn Whelan was our best player along with Didzy under Mick