Ireland's Greatest Sporting Moment 1962-2012

Ruby is a national hunt jockey. As far as I can tell only two countries allows this activity yet he has been described as world class. Bizarre

Also the horse does the work

This was a great moment. Gutsy Irish man, an underdog beating an Olympic gold medal winner and world record holder.

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=BDCYrlN3UeQ

It was that. The celebrations that night were the wildest I’ve ever been involved in. The news of the Loughinisland massacre subsequently put a dampener on things.

“One feels that there’s only one man with the killer threat here” up your bollix

Cunt celebrating prematurely against the World Cross Country champion.

What it all boils down to for the soccer fans

Ovett is a massive prick?? I recall the great Gary Smith piece about all the mile record holders meeting up for a Bannister anniversary and he was the only one who couldn’t be bothered travelling to London.

Wild celebrations all over the nation happen because a sporting result occurs that means a lot to the people of the nation.

Eire v Italy 1994 ticked the boxes of both i) actual achievement on the true world stage against the best in the world and ii) mattering deeply to the people of the nation.

ii) was because of i).

Work it out.

USA
Australia
France
Ireland
United Kingdom
Czech Republic
Italy
Canada
Japan
New Zealand

Maths was always a bit of a weak point of mine but I think there’s more than 2 countries there. Maybe you can double check for me?

Edit - I forgot Germany too

That’s a serious clamping.

It’s been a truly horrid week for tsg

He’d want to step away from the keyboard and take a nice soak out the back.

National hunt in oz?

Shall I bring up the watch incident?

Yes mate. Ruby even went out and rode the winner of the Australian Grand National in 2015, the money hungry cunt. You can have a watch of it here if you wish

https://youtu.be/weqpOFJSHVY

Nothing new there

thanks mate, i was wrong ,apologies

Takes a big man to admit it mate. I only wish everyone had your level of maturity.

Five to be chosen from the following for tonight’s show.

I expect the half a million people who attended Munster beating the New Zealand midweek team in 1978 to swing it.

1962 All Ireland Hurling Final Tipperary v Wexford (1962)
First All Ireland Final broadcast live on TV
Jim McCourt, Olympic boxing bronze (1964)
The Ulster southpaw won the only Irish medal of the ’64 Games.
Cork win the All Ireland Hurling Final (1966)
It remains one of Cork’s most romantic titles, won without expectation (12 year famine) and savoured all the more as a result
Galway’s 3-in-a-row 1966
The first Football 3-in-a-row since Kerry in 1941.
Arkle wins Gold Cup beating Mill House by five lengths (1964)
A horse so good he caused the rules to be changed, a national treasure, known simply as ‘himself’, this was the first and the most iconic of Arkle’s three consecutive Gold Cup wins.
Ireland beat Australia in Australia (1967)
The Irish rugby team recorded their first ever test victory on Australian soil.
Shamrock Rovers win FAI Cups in-a-row (1964–69)
In this period, Shamrock Rovers remained unbeaten in a staggering 32 FAI Cup ties, as they captured the public imagination like no team before. Remarkably, the club used just 31 players in the course of those six successful finals. A total of 17 Rovers players from the six-in-a-row side were also capped for Ireland at senior level.
Vincent O’Brien trains Nijinsky to Derby victory with Lester Piggott on board (1970)Perhaps foremost among the incredible achievements of the Corkman, achievements which included back to-back wins in the Prix de L’Arc de Triomphe’s with Alleged (1977 & 1978)
Ali at Croker (1972)
‘The Greatest’ beat Al ‘Blue’ Lewis with a 11th-round knockout in front of a crowd of 25,000 Irish fans in Croke Park.
‘At Least We Turned Up’, Ireland v England, 1973 Five Nations Championships
An Ireland team featuring rugby legends Fergus Slattery, Mike Gibson and Willie John McBride beat France and England away in 1972 but were denied the Grand Slam many believed they would’ve completed as Wales and Scotland refused to travel in the face of ‘The Troubles’. In Ireland’s first game of the 1973 Championship, England travelled and were well beaten, drawing the quote ‘We may not be any good but at least we turned up…’ from England Captain, John Pullin.
Don Givens hat trick v USSR (1974)
With the Iron Curtain fully drawn, the home of Irish football played host to football powerhouse the USSR in a European Championship qualifier. With John Giles in charge and Liam Brady making his debut, QPR’s Don Givens stole the headlines with an incredible hat trick.
Dublin v Kerry 1977
Bernard Brogan’s late goal sealed an incredible turnaround in the All Ireland Football Semi-Final, a game that is often described as the greatest of all time.
Cork’s 3-in-a-row (1978)
In 1978, there was much speculation as to whether or not Kilkenny could halt Cork’s progress to a three-in-a-row. However, Cork came out on top by four points.
Dublin v Kerry 1978
In the 1978 All Ireland Final Dublin looked on course to complete an historic 3-in-a-row, when a Paddy Cullen foul led to him being chipped by Mikey Sheehy to spark one of the most remarkable turnarounds in GAA history.
Munster v All Blacks (1978)
Munster beat the undefeated All Blacks at Thomond Park in a game that has come to define the Munster rugby mentality.
John Treacy wins back-to-back Cross-Country World Championships (1979)
30,000 fans cheered Treacy to his second successive World Cross Country Championship in Greenpark Racecourse, Limerick. A year earlier Treacy became the youngest ever winner, this time he started as favourite and obliterated the field.
Ireland win the Aga Khan (1979)
Ireland became only the 5th country to win the Aga khan trophy outright by winning 3 consecutive titles, a feat that hasn’t been repeated since.

Did they pick one from the 2000’s yet?

Why bundle 60’s and 70’s in together?