No, that’s the self titled first album.
The title is there above the band name
No he is referring to a different record
Contender for the best opening track ever
End of side one. I think I might be upgrading this record from a grand record to a great record.
Next up
I think it’s my second favourite album cover. My favourite is Hot Buttered Soul by Isaac Hayes, which coincidentally was released in the same year.
On occasion here the Wolfies sound like Peter Paul and Mary.
The aul fella played it every Sunday morning when we lived in Manchester.
Never realised you lived in the UK. Presumably that’s where your supporting of Man Utd came from? Fair play.
Yep, despite a Man City goalkeepers family living 2 doors up from us.
The cover shows the band members dressed in the traditional dress of the IRA. The folk singer Christy Moore said of the cover, “I equate that particular record sleeve with Foster and Allen, dressed up as leprechauns. It was the very same thing. It had the same significance at the time.”
The cover used on Spotify is the pic of the IRA lads walking up grafton Street.
That, and the first one, were defining albums in trad music and set a template, for better or worse, of how trad music would be played for next four decades, esp for musicians who came to the music outside of Ireland.
Kevin Burke playing the fiddle on that one, and Tommy Peoples on the first. Both geniuses with albeit very distinct and disparate styles of play.
Real music for real people with no bosca ceoil ruining it
Christy should lighten up the odd time.
He would have been a rastooler himself back in those days wouldn’t he
Listening back to these lads, and they do have some really really good songs, this one a good example,
Inspired by listening to radio as the events of 9/11 unfolded.
Didn’t know this. I have a best of on the hard drive. I think it was a German release so is in one of the brother’s names, not as the 4 of Us. (Can’t recall which fella it is, Brendan maybe). Every single song on it is a cracker.
I’m not sure if they ever got the credit they deserved in Ireland? Maybe they were never cool enough, though at the height of the “Mary” fame, I would have been way too young to know what was going on in the music scene in Ireland to know if they were well regarded or not.
Saw them live a few times as a duo and they were excellent. Not the most challenging music by any means, but just really good solid songs.
They were well regarded but never cool. They scrapped their third album in mid 90s (recently re released it and it was not very good). Came back in 1999 with classified personal which was just the two brothers and guitars and that sound suits them and their songs much better IMO