Irish People Poppy Watch

Fair play to her. She’s a fine woman.

Why do you want to contribute money to soldiers abandoned by their government?

Are they being nailed to the cross or ropes around the wrists and feet?

Is that it? You’re a worthless, gutless piece of shit.

Even your avatar has his face hidden away, you spineless, faceless, veiled behind your keyboard waste of a boy!

You stupid cunt. If you are an Everton player(for example, as I noticed this on the telly last night) how could you choose not to wear one, its sown into their jersey for fuck sake. They had a big screen up with a picture of Howard Kendall as well, with a giant poppy in the corner of that. What the fuck, did Kendall die in the First World War or something.

Forty years ago the Brits were mature enough to let a soccer or a rugby team take the field without sewing a poppy into the jersey. But commencing with the Falklands War and through to the Iraq war, the establishment have found it necessary to foster a culture of militarism through the annual cult of the poppy, to glorify feeding a generation of working class chaps to a military machine, and you say it doesn’t matter if people object to this.

That’s in Kingstown, pal. Nobody would be in the least bit surprised.

What a cuntfest.

Governments don’t contribute to lots of stuff I support mate.

I’ll be interested to hear Locke address the issues into this post in due course.

It’s the site of his old gaff pal

Soldiers is different. It’s the government that sent them off their and “charities” like this allow the governments to abdicate their responsibility there. Also, the soldiers signed up, it’s their job, unlike say, the homeless.

Thank you, I am aware of that. Legendary former tfker Shannonsider used to use an image of him as his avatar.

It’s honestly not a big deal now. I’m sitting in a busyish coffee shop in a nice town square and having walked a half mile or so to get her I haven’t seen a single person wearing one. The average Joe doesn’t care either way, and couldn’t give a shite whether one is worn or not.
I’d happily wear one if it was a remembrance of all the ww1 dead, and a reminder of the utter stupidity, futility and horror of it, but it has been twisted out of shape.
Lads on here are more vexed by the whole non event than any English person I have ever encountered.

You’re not in London though, it really is fuckin mental there.

There are social programmes/education/welfare ect. all along the way to stop one becoming homeless. They may not sign up but most if not all contribute to their own situation.

I see my small contribution as just a small token of my appreciation for us being so fortunate that we share a landmass with the UK and benefit from the overspill of their military arsenal which we don’t pay a dime for.

You really are an utter wanker at times.

I’m with lockes on this. I can’t judge anyone’s reasons for wearing one so each to his own.
2 million people marched against the Iraq “war” in London.
That wanker Blair should be in guantanemo, he is the war criminal.

Ah yeah, the State should take all responsibility and the individual none

slurp slurp says the soup taker