thatâs my point itâs untapped - there are a hell of a lot of lads there playing ball. Itâs ripe. It needs infrastructure put up around it. there is no existing LOI club there - Dundalk is the biggest club in the catchment area and could but wonât do it.
There is no LOI club in Tipperary and some big populations with big junior teams. Another area ripe for the picking. I know for a fact Rovers are sniffing down that far.
Tipp is a big county so depending on where you are different clubs will see it as their area but I know down our way thereâs a few with Waterford.
My point is that you can look as much as you want but you are probably never going to find that many top class lads in largely rural counties where GAA is king
you certainly wonât with no will or desire to change things.
Duffy is from Derry and played GAAl, Coleman Donegal etc. Plenty of examples of lads with GAA backgrounds making it, Egan, Meyler etc.
If theyâre made chose at 12/13 they could be lost because of Doktors initiative.
Shane Long Tipp.
There are loads of examples of it mate and these have been found by chance really, without looking too hard. Imagine what theyâd find if they looked and nurtured it.
Heâs basically fighting the GAA and he wonât win. They need to coexist
Never realised we were in an U19 semi-final in 2011. Look to have taken a bad beating off Spain in the semi-final but still a fair achievement. A young Jeffrey Hendrick listed in the squad of the tournament.
dundalk district league and meath district league are two different leagues at school boy level, both form part of the north east counties league at junior level or maybe u17s
i coach under 7s and 8s at times at a club in the MDL, we train x2 a week and play friday, the coaches are all volunteers like myself and we try to do the FAI player development courses as they come up.
Its no different to GAA except by the time kids are 9 parents will start taking them to clubs for trials in dublin like at belvo or shels ( i have no idea if coaches get paid there or not a those clubs) , then for u13s a load of them would try for trials at drogheda , longford , dundalk, maybe one or two might be successful like say jame macgrath going to cherry orchard from athboy.
for lads left playing for us , if they dont make the county team kennedy cup squad at 15 then theyâll never make it at a level above intermediate level
dundalk district league at schoolboy level would be same standard as us but dundalk FC dont take in any players until they are 13
Must be the bones of 20 years ago there was a lad from home (West Tipp) was picked up by the Dublin schoolboy clubs. Got capped at under 14 and 15. One day The Examiner decided to do a big profile of the squad asking them the usual stuff about clubs they support, favourite playersâŚ
One of the questions was where do you see yourself in 10 years time. The usual answers were playing for Ireland/in the premier league. Our man puts down winning an All Ireland with Tipp. By all accounts Brian Kerr had some role up in the FAI at the time, saw the article and ensured our man was never called up again even though he had scored in his previous international.
However all things ended up alright with our man winning an AI with Tipp in the meantime.
id believe that
the anti gaa element amongst some members i meet in soccer is unreal, now⌠i only get it here from Dubs, locals and country fellas are all the same and dont have this chip on there shoulder ( edit there is one prominent FAI board member i know from limerick who despises the GAA)
It shocks me at times tbh⌠i have never heard it at GAA, ever and the funny thing is there is a lad from england who coaches with me in soccer and he is an outstanding gah coach as well.
the anti gaa attitude in soccer i find is rooted in the working class mind only⌠i dont really get it at all but its sad at times to hear a grown man voice opinions like this in front of children
would dundalk send out coaches to ye? Help in any way, have any contact whatsoever with ye? It would be in their best interests to ensure lads are getting the right coaching in their catchment area. Maybe running coaching sessions etc because as sure as shit the FAI wonât do it. Coach the coaches kind of stuff
You can do the coaching badges and stuff, but thatâs at your own expense.
What Tipp hurler was that? I heard a good yarn on a podcast about former Wexford hurler Darren Stamp deciding he couldnât be arsed togging in an Irish soccer trial of some sort and deciding to get the train back from Dublin because he only wanted to be hurling anyway.
no, there is absolutely no link at all between us an dundalk, i would say in 99.5% of soccer clubs in the country there is no link or contact in anyway between them and a LOI club bar where there are already established links like Springfield Ramblers in Cobh or the newer link last few years like Bohs/SKBâŚ
now in not sure in the Dundalk DL would they go out to places like Muirheavnamor or Rock Celtic but id imagine not - the first they get involved really is when the open their doors for u13 trials and pillage clubs of their best players.
Shelbourne and big clubs like Shamrock Rovers also have u7s all the way up but in the case of Rovers certainly they arent relying on the parents of the players to volunteer to coach, wash jersies, or float plastic ducks down the river boyne to raise money for trips to DortmundâŚ
What kind of things would they be saying? I donât hear much of that at all to be honest. Iâd see a lot of absolutely zero interest in or knowledge of gaa but most would pay lip service to âthe dubsâ and not be open in their hatred of the gah at least
Thereâs a fine anti soccer element in the Gaa too. Mostly older fellas. Big mullocking city based muldoons screaming at Juhy Junior that heâs not allowed kick a sliotar would be a simple example. âItâs not fecking soccerâ.
But certainly for the most part where we are they co exist happily. Helps that we have about 5 of us who coach both at his age.
A kicked goal is a thing of beauty. The amount of apes at club level who miss scorable goals because they are incapable of getting a strike off is incredible. Know your limitation you fucking fuck. Kick the fucking thing.