Irish soccerball nil - That boy Jinky will save us (Part 2)

This is really all we have to go on here. Other than maybe heā€™s happy in the UK, and an Irish gig would be a grand aul couple of years. Coupled with young eager and willing talent who will do what theyā€™re told, it might possibly slip through. But yeah, the top table in the issue alright.

The reality is a manager that will keep things tight and put them under pressure is what we should aim for.

Bielsa wouldnt get enough time to impose his style on the team.

Iā€™d argue that the reason those managers were successful was because of their loyalties to a few players. That loyalty paid dividends and you had players highly committed and well suited for what we were trying to achieve. All three of the managers you listed also had credibility.

Oh I agree. It can be frustrating looking ok but thatā€™s what international teams do. Kenny has dropped the likes of Duffy and Coleman while also having them captain the team on other occasions.

He hasnā€™t had the conviction to pick a playmaker and stick with them either. The likes of Jack Byrne and Jamie McGrath have struggled with injuries and club form and got left out of squads immediately as a result. But heā€™ll eventually get around to giving Byrne 30 minutes again and expect him to control a game and create chances on his own.

Parrot looked a bit lost last weekend but again heā€™s dropped and doesnā€™t come off the bench in the next game. Itā€™s not clear whether Kenny even rates him. We have a paucity of strikers and there are lots of question marks about Parrot but giving him a start every third game when youā€™re desperate isnā€™t how you support a young player.

Ireland started with 2 premier league players last Wednesday, 1 a sub with Liverpool and the other a sub with Brighton yet fellas think Bielsa will take the job. John Giles said it on the radio that the present team is the worst group of Irish players ever and he is 100% right. Fella here on about Jack Byrne who is ruled out of this camp through injury. Jamie McGrath cannot make the Wigan squad. Do a bit of research.

Kenny has not been brave enough and should have left out Coleman and Duffy permanently, both finished. Thats the problem with the Irish team, harder get off the team than on it.

Youā€™re giving out about the lack of EPL players and jettisoning two of the only ones we have :joy:

This lad thinks he is playing fifa

Football manager heā€™s playing. Begging for more time three months into the season.

Club form has rarely mattered a jot when it comes to how a player plays for Ireland. Jamie McGrath hasnā€™t suddenly turned to shit just because a new manager doesnā€™t rate him

Thats just bullshit. Coleman is still better than any other option at the moment. Not as good as he was but still our best option while doherty is injured.

Have to agree.

On one hand you do need to try players.

But on the other there is no continuity either and it must be difficult for players to understand his system with so much changes.

Spockā€™s logic is utterly bizarre, we have no real quality or depth at left back or left wing back. Not that he is fantastic but Liam Scales was very solid for the under 21s and Shamrock Rovers for a couple of years.

Spock gets the gig and proclaims he wonā€™t be afraid to use LOI players, ignores Scales for the first year and a bit and then calls him up a couple of days after he gets the move to Celtic as if he had suddenly improved and is good enough to be in the squad in the space of a few weeks despite being very solid for a number of seasons .

Leave out our most experienced players?

One our top scorer & the other the leader in the group.

Pull the other one. I can smell poor wumā€™s a mile off as Iā€™m in that group.

There was a lot of talking about the quality of younger players and structures after the humbling of Euro 2012 ā€¦ Whatā€™s changed since then at youth level? LOI clubs looked to have put more emphasis on academies / youth teams but how much support from FAI do they get? Of course half of them are more concerned with getting some of these kids signed up just with the hope of making money. St kevins boys remains one of the biggest ā€˜academiesā€™ for players getting picked up by scouts but thatā€™s again concerned with making money off kids as young as 11/12 and a lot of politicsā€¦ Lads using the LOI the get a move over a little later in life is great but at that stage itā€™s gonna be championship/League 1 and the gulf in quality between these types of players and top players around Europe is widening year on year. LOI is going be the route for a good few lads going forward but the likes of @Perez2017 spits on it so how can we ever move forward? :person_shrugging:t2:

Martin Oā€™Neill used knock some tune out of lads who may not have kicked a ball in months for their clubs.

Tbf our youth players have improved a lot in recent years. The u21s getting to at least a playoff with all their best players missing is a testament to that. Whether weā€™ll get any superstars out of that crop which is what really matters is another question though

Awful pity for Idah when he just started to break into the Norwich first team he got that bad injury

Same for Doherty. Conte would have made a beast out of him. Hopefully he still will

Ogbene out injured today and heā€™s left Festy out of the 23.