Is shiny happy people better than how soon is now? The REM thread

Listening to Fables of the Reconstruction here now. Couldnā€™t get Canā€™t get there from here out of my head the last few days. What a record.

I canā€™t say that I love Jesus
That would be a hollow claim
He did make some observations
And Iā€™m quoting them today
ā€œJudge not lest ye be judgedā€
What a beautiful refrain
The studio audience disagrees
Have His lambs all gone astray?

Some say they were nevet sameonce they joined Warner Bros
I think thatā€™s a bit harsh

I cant lads. I just cant. Im perplexed every time i see thread bumped. Itā€™s just not meant to be.

My 12 tracks from the Warner albums, Eponymous II

You Are the Everything
World Leader Pretend
Orange Crush
Losing My Religion
Near Wild Heaven
Drive
Man on the Moon
Nightswimming
Whatā€™s the Frequency, Kenneth?
E-Bow the Letter
Electrolite
Imitation of Life

Pop Song 89
Tongue
Country Feedback
Find the River

Couldnā€™t leave em out

I used to work the graveyard shift at a busy pub in the middle of Sydney in the early 2000s, last orders on Saturday were 5.30am so weā€™d be doing the clean up around 6am.

Daysleeper was the perfect song after the craziness of the previous eight hours.

I can help you to appreciate the song nightswimming. Itā€™s a ten week course for 350quid. A steal

A lot of the REM songs that I like the most - Nightswimming, Shiny Happy People, Answers from the Great Beyond, Man on the Moon - have feel like itā€™s Stipe really expressing his lonely struggle with coping with himself.

You can almost feel what heā€™s going through. Then the have some magnificent more upbeat songs like Whatā€™s the Frequency Kenneth? and Itā€™s the End of The World.

A brilliant album.

Recorded in London amongst a lot tension yet it sounds like itā€™s straight from the American South.

One of the many characters referenced on the album. This one from Maps and Legends.

Green is the first Warner Bros album and itā€™s one of their best in my opinion.

New Adventures ā€¦ I like that one

What a genius

I love that man

What an impact he has had on music.

A beautiful kind gentle soul

Not just music.

General popular culture as well.

Iā€™ve had a serious return to Lifeā€™s Rich Pageant the last few weeks.

The opening four songs on that. Wow.

Lets put our heads together
Start a new country up