Is shiny happy people better than how soon is now? The REM thread

Just listen to Murmurā€¦there isnā€™t a bad moment

Lifes Rich Pageant album.

Or any album really pre and up to Automatic. Things started to go a bit wrong then after the 9th album but things were pretty much faultless up to then.

An album a year from 83-88. Six glorious albums. The worst of them youā€™d give 4/5

its been a while but

slagging aside, new adventures is probably the one REM album where there isnt at least one song that id happily listen to on repeat

Electrolite is a masterpiece.

Itā€™s superb.

That and E-Bow the Letter are probably two of their very best.

The Patti Smith song ebow is excellent. The rest of the album is just meh, it was a further erosion after Monster imo. When I got it that summer I thought it was quite good but it hasnā€™t aged well. Certainly unlike the irs albums or Green anyway

This has reminded me to start listening to REM again. Iā€™ll take them on my vinyl journey.

The album that followed, Up, is a better one for me.

Murmur - 6.5/10

Thereā€™s just something about their sound thatā€™s too polished or too clean cut ā€“ same with a lot of American college bandsā€¦

I like the grit of bands from industrial shitholes in the north of England

There is nothing clean cut or polished about the Murmur sound.

Murmer is a solid 9/10 you ape.

Nothing remarkable about it to me. Safe, and a bit bland and a bit samey samey.

I thought Pilgrimage, Laughing and I think Perfect Circle were very good ā€¦ Overall, that archetypal American rock sound just doesnt appeal to me. I thought Catapult and Radio Free Europe were shite enough ā€“ you had @Tierneevin1979 trying to be billy big bollix, as usual says you, the other day putting down that new Irish band whose name now escapes me ā€¦ that catapult song is awful and heā€™s bigging it up as itā€™s REM and a few lads here regard them so heā€™s now in the clique ā€” in the know ā€” etc. etc.

Iā€™m on to Reckoning nowā€¦

You said Fontaines D.C. were shite yourself, so you largely agree with me. I wouldnā€™t call them shite but thereā€™s nothing new or original about them. You have to judge Murmer in the context of the time it was released and at the time it was a breath of fresh air and launched the alt rock and indie rock genres.

Radio Free Europe is a great song, especially the EP version.

I preferred their early stuff.

I was thinking maybe if I heard it 10/20 years ago I might have had a different opinion ā€” I was listening to Harbocoat there and itā€™s a cracking song ā€” but thereā€™s still something about them I cant warm to and I think itā€™s Stipeā€™s voice

Agreed, I donā€™t get the fuss about their output after Document, with the exception of AftP their later albums are very spotty and there was serious decline after Up.

It was released almost 40 years ago. Stipeā€™s mumbling can be a bit irritating alright, I rarely listen to them now. I have Eponymous on vinyl, itā€™s a lovely selection.

Each to their own mate.

But you are talking utter rubbish when you say Radio Free Europe is shite.

By the way, I would be interested to get your take on Camera from Reckoning, one of my favourite REM songs.

The most popular musical genre on tfk.

Itā€™s like living in a Nick Hornby book at times.