Is Soccerball finished as a sport in Ireland

What do the young lads do in winter Mick?

Would have been nothing for us to play as young lads if the soccer was on in the summer.

Rugby would be the big winner I’d imagine.

The Clare league is dog shit.

Realistically how many games would you play from November to February each year? I’d say you could count one hand.

you half wit, you have a passing interest in this yet you are saying you know more than a guy head hunted from KNBV who is an expert in the field

I never said that you fucking cuntflap. This guy may well know what he’s doing but he’s now working for a complete fuck up of an organization that lurches from one crisis to the next and is being ran by a clown who pays himself €360k a year while the winners of the biggest league within that organization gets €100k for winning it. He’ll probably try to make a few changes, get frustrated by the clowns working in the FAI and leave with a big pay off after a year.

Over here it’s small sided football until U12’s when they progress to 11 a side on full size pitch and goals, 25 mins per half. I think they’re more than ready for the pitch, but full sized goals don’t work. Corners are taken a few metres in from the sideline. Teams don’t have set formations, generally 4-4-2 and then you see teams revert to 4-3-3 during a game. Playing out from the back is very much encouraged and no tackling until the full back receives the ball from a goal kick. Size 4 balls until U14’s (I’m very surprised it’s size 5 footballs all ages in Ireland). Yellow / red cards from U12’s.

Might be finished as a sport in Ireland, it’s booming over here. Our local club has 7 or 8 teams in all age groups from 5 years up to about 14. You cannot park close to the club from 6.30 am on a Saturday when the U5’s start at 8am until after 5pm on Sunday when first grade have played.

its his report you vile simpleton

Summer football being put on the back burner for now, won’t be a runner, hasn’t really worked for Clare or other counties who have moved from Winter. Its an FAI development plan formulated by Dokkter, and foisted upon SFAI who tried in vein to resist, no harm either as they are very conservative, with little or no vision. u12s 9 aside, u9/10s 7 aside, mix of 3v3, 4v4, 5v5 at younger ages, the way it should be really. Size 5 ball I’m not sure about, but why not try it, it’s not like we’re producing world beaters as it is. u17 league of Ireland part of the plan, SFAI will fret about this as their best u16s will progress there, but a clear pathway for talented players is sorely needed

Well then Ruud Dokter wouldn’t hurl spuds to ducks, fuckhead.

fuck up the pair of ye and start quoting each other without me in it.

On the plus side this means that schoolboy association football players will get to change (“tog out” for those reading in provincial areas) in better weather, although on the downside that may well mean it’s a paedophile’s charter. The United Churches League will no doubt be happy at this new method of grooming players, however.

This for the U-6’s then

A big problem for schoolboy soccer here is that there really is no connection with the clubs once you get to your mid teens. Playing underage GAA and rugby there was a direct line up to adult level and minis would stick around to watch. That drives a longer connection to clubs and you’ll get fathers more willing to stick around, have a few pints and invest in a club.

Soccer comfortably had the worst facilities of any sport I played and if I were a parent I’d understand preferring a local GAA club where everything is covered. The FAI should have tried to tackle this a long time ago, grants for clubhouses won’t cover everyone. In fairness to the FAI the way things developed wasn’t all their fault, the GAA is amateur and rugby was too so there’s always been that connection from grassroots to the top of the game. Cabinteely FC have the right idea I think. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cabinteely_F.C.

[quote=“Horsebox, post:45, topic:19454, full:true”]This guy may well know what he’s doing but he’s now working for a complete fuck up of an organization that lurches from one crisis to the next and is being ran by a clown who pays himself €360k a year while the winners of the biggest league within that organization gets €100k for winning it.

:open_mouth:
Fucksakes, you couldn’t make this shit up/

I’m surprised that’s the case @Tim_Riggins
Here, there’s definitely a link between underage and adult and at our club we have a number of 16 / 17 year olds in the 1st grade and Reserve grade men’s squads. Not sure with your point about the GAA and Rugby (formerly) being amateur and having that connection to grassroots. Professional soccer in Ireland is only a miniscule part of the game and the vast majority of the sport is along the same amateur and volunteer based lines as the GAA. I’d say a lot of it is that the GAA is just a more professionally run organization with a lot more vision. There seems to be no awareness in the upper echelons of the FAI of what is actually happening in the game. I know from talking to people at home they feel no support or connection to the FAI and pretty much everything they achieve at club level is despite, not because or, the organization. It’s a fucking ridiculous situation when you consider what the gimp at the top of the pile is earning off everyone else.

Flesh this one out please, Tim. Are you suggesting that the reason that soccer in this country is so shambolic is because the GAA and rugby are amateur whereas there is a huge disconnect between grassroots level soccer and the Ferrari driving, champagne lifestyle of the Airtricity League players?

Maybe what is saying is that soccer clubs never got the same loyalty from players as rugby and GAA clubs would have. Due to the professional nature of soccer at the higher levels, with players bouncing from club to club, this attitude filters down to the amatuer levels. Players go from club to club and when they finish up playing they have no real affinity to any one club so are less likely to stay involved with them on administrative or volunteer level.

the gga have facilities because of the land commission

rugby has faciities due to Oirelands being ruled by the brits

despite these open goals football trumps these sports combined in terms of playing numbers

well done FAI

Yip, all it takes is one poor season and a team could lose two or three of its better players as they will move to a side with their house in order

I would have given this an Informative rating in our old house.