IT Professionals, Guilty

Have you tried power cycling the device?

Ah yes, the “Suck it and See” approach to software roll-out…

Dictum: “Never make changes to the system on a Friday!”
Characteristics: Applying a major upgrade in a slapdash fashion at 4:30pm of a Friday evening before turning off all phones and heading to the pub.

[QUOTE=“PhattPike, post: 1040160, member: 2799”]Ah yes, the “Suck it and See” approach to software roll-out…

Dictum: “Never make changes to the system on a Friday!”
Characteristics: Applying a major upgrade in a slapdash fashion at 4:30pm of a Friday evening before turning off all phones and heading to the pub.[/QUOTE]

Also known as ‘TFK Upgrade style’

[B]Independent Business[/B] ‏@IndoBusiness [/URL] [URL=‘https://twitter.com/IndoBusiness/status/529592347408232448’]9m9 minutes ago
#WebSummit[/URL] founder Paddy Cosgarve slams RDS for embarrassing wi-fi outage [URL=‘https://twitter.com/hashtag/summitnewsroom?src=hash’]#summitnewsroom[/URL] [URL=‘http://t.co/9R7vM4lEQM’]http://indo.ie/DMUyy

[B]Independent Business[/B] ‏@IndoBusiness [/URL] [URL=‘https://twitter.com/IndoBusiness/status/529592347408232448’]9m9 minutes ago
#WebSummit[/URL] founder Paddy Cosgarve slams RDS for embarrassing wi-fi outage [URL=‘https://twitter.com/hashtag/summitnewsroom?src=hash’]#summitnewsroom[/URL] [URL=‘http://t.co/9R7vM4lEQM’]http://indo.ie/DMUyy[/QUOTE]

He was quoted in the paper at the weekend saying there would be no repeat of last years wifi outage and that they had paid 400k to the RDS to ensure the wifi systems were capable of meeting demand.

FFS. The guys in the bay area are sniggering at us.

We should stick to food production and wild west financing.

This is embarrassing, as a real technology player we are clearly out of our depth.

[QUOTE=“Kinvara’s Passion, post: 1040187, member: 686”]FFS. The guys in the bay area are sniggering at us.

We should stick to food production and wild west financing.

This is embarrassing, as a real technology player we are clearly out of our depth.[/QUOTE]

The problem seems to be that the RDS (a horse Horse Society) insist on running the wifi infrastructure themselves.

@TreatyStones I assume the holding the meteor dongle on the roof of the RDS is at fault for this?

I’d say that little bitch Paddy Cosgrove is seething over this.

The lads flying into this must think the Irish are a right shower of gobshites. Sure wasn’t there not enough water for them to wash themselves in last year?

We no more water, wifi or bread,
We live on songs of hope instead

On reflection, it seems we’ve mugged off some of the most high profile nerds in the world. No water, no wifi and inflated hotel prices. I presume all the pubs in the area will jack up their prices accordingly.

Next year they’ll probably host the event in Athlone or Portlaoise.

To Ireland :clap:

[QUOTE=“TreatyStones, post: 1040199, member: 1786”]We no more water, wifi or bread,
We live on songs of hope instead[/QUOTE]

Listen for the shouts of the data miners,
Listen through the rubble for the IT teams,

FFS - Philippe Senderos is even a speaker at this yoke!

And don’t forget that tech guru Rio Ferdinand. :slight_smile:

“The price of defensive lapses”

“How to mug off large foreheaded project financiers”

In the town of Dublin you don’t surf easy,
Often the WiFi will flicker and fall

The work jacks is a fucking mess, shite caked to the side of the bowl and there is a woefull whiff lingering around the canteen.

Wouldn’t you know, There is group of Indians on a trip here today and tomorrow…

[QUOTE=“Kinvara’s Passion, post: 1047722, member: 686”]The work jacks is a fucking mess, shite caked to the side of the bowl and there is a woefull whiff lingering around the canteen.

Wouldn’t you know, There is group of Indians on a trip here today and tomorrow…[/QUOTE]
What the fuck is wrong with them? Are they afraid if brushes or what?
Aussie public toilets are ducking disgusting in general, but my experience with Indians are the same.

Worst and most bizarre came recently with a pair of afghan tilers and an English plumber. One of the cunts, and this is after doing a fucking savage job on the bathroom refurb, went for a disgusting shit in the new jacks and never flushed. What a way to leave an otherwise perfect job. Weirdo whoever it was.