January Transfer Window Thread

[quote=“KIB man”]Its only this year that former SPL Hall of Famer and proven CL performer Stiliyan Petrov has become a regular.

Shaun Maloney former SPL player of the year and CL ‘friendly’ goalscorer last night could barely make our bench at the end never mind command a regular place in the Aston Villa midfield.

Laughable[/quote]

Petrov took around 18 months to settle in at Celtic so he’s history of being a slow starter. He’s playing very well this season according to objective Villa fans.

Maloney found it very difficult to motivate himself at Villa, regretted the move straight away and was immediately angling for a move back to Celtic. As he said upon his return, he didn’t want to disrespect Villa, and they were good to him, but he wanted to play for a team where every game meant something and could be the difference between winning and losing trophies, along with Champions League matches too of course.

Martin O’Neill tried very hard to dissuade him, given he showed flashes of brilliance like his 2 goals at Chelsea, but hisheart wasn’t in it and he was adamant he wanted to get back playing for a huge globally renowned Champions League club. I suppose that’s the modern game - we suffered when his agent and Villa dangled more cash in front of him but at least he belatedly put his footballing principles first and made the return.

[quote=“KIB man”]
Brown is a run of the mill hustler midfielder. I’d say Nigel Reo Coker is better. Dont think he would be found wanting for stamina 20mins before the end of a CL tie at Aalborg for example.[/quote]

KIB, i’ve never come across a man like you for comparing players that are in no way alike…Reo coker is a pure get in the way headless donkey who couldn’t pick out a white horse in a coal bunker…brown has so much more football in him that can still be developed…reo coker’s fitness is all he has…once he ages he’s fcuked as he hasn’t the basic skills…whereas brown actually has technique and a bit of vision that will always stand to him when his legs go…

[quote=“Bandage”]Petrov took around 18 months to settle in at Celtic so he’s history of being a slow starter. He’s playing very well this season according to objective Villa fans.

Maloney found it very difficult to motivate himself at Villa, regretted the move straight away and was immediately angling for a move back to Celtic. As he said upon his return, he didn’t want to disrespect Villa, and they were good to him, but he wanted to play for a team where every game meant something and could be the difference between winning and losing trophies, along with Champions League matches too of course.

Martin O’Neill tried very hard to dissuade him, given he showed flashes of brilliance like his 2 goals at Chelsea, but hisheart wasn’t in it and he was adamant he wanted to get back playing for a huge globally renowned Champions League club. I suppose that’s the modern game - we suffered when his agent and Villa dangled more cash in front of him but at least he belatedly put his footballing principles first and made the return.[/quote]

now hinkel is proving himself to be one of the best right fullbacks in IONA if not the best, is there any left fulls lined up?

Agree with Gman. Forlan flunked at Manure but was a raging success in Spain. Crespo flunked in England but is a success in Italy. Robbie Keane flunked in Italy and a bunch of English clubs, but was a success at Spurs and Coventry in the EPL. Ince was a success in England but not as much in Italy. There’s an endless list of players lads, its not just confined to England and Scotland.

kevin doyle flopped at st pats but is a star in the EPL -EPL team is the champions of europe- now all loi clubs fucked apart from Rovers - therefore Rovers are the defacto best team in europe

Hinkel is class.
Celts have any songs about him Bandage/NCC?

But he was a star at Cork City - like all us muldoons, he didnt take kindly to Dublin!

[quote=“Pikeman”]Hinkel is class.
Celts have any songs about him Bandage/NCC?[/quote]

dont think they have any yet - he is only coming into form recently so maybe now they might

bandage would know better though

Lots of West Ham talk from bbc.co.uk gossip column:

[i]Spurs will go for Diarra if Zokora does join Real - and Aston Villa midfielder Nigel Reo-Coker, West Ham goalkeeper Rob Green, Portsmouth right-back Glen Johnson, Middlesbrough winger Stewart Downing and Pompey striker Jermain Defoe are also on boss Harry Redknapp’s radar. (Daily Express)

West Ham captain Lucas Neill wants a pay rise to sign an extended deal at Upton Park but the Australian international defender is likely to have to accept a huge pay cut in order to stay at the club. (The Times)

Neill could even be sold in January if the Hammers receive a suitable offer. (The Times)

West Ham boss Gianfranco Zola’s priority is to keep hold of goalkeeper Rob Green and defender Matthew Upson but he will sell midfielder Hayden Mullins, defender Danny Gabbidon and forward Luis Boa Morte. (The Times)

Defenders Calum Davenport and Jonathan Spector and midfielders Lee Bowyer and Nigel Quashie are also up for grabs as West Ham look to reduce the size of their first-team squad. (The Independent)

Upson has emerged as a 10m target for Manchester City, who could turn to Everton’s Joleon Lescott if the Hammers refuse to do business. (Daily Express)[/i]

Of the players mentioned there, I wouldn’t mind seeing the back of most of them. As long as we keep Green and Upson we should be okay. Dyer is due back and if Wham can get him fit and playing we’d have a serious player back again.

Also mentioned that Celtic are looking at “want away” striker Craig Bellamy for 5 million. What a load of auld cobblers! where would Celtic get 5mill for one player :smiley:

Hinkel’s been excellent since late October and has really been reproducing his Stuttgart form but he needs to keep up this level of performance consistently now. There was a ‘Hinkel, Hinkel German star’ thing that got a few airings but was shelved due to being a bit rubbish. He deserves another song if he maintains his form though. We badly need a left back. I initially rated Mark Wilson when he came in 2006 but he hasn’t been up to much after all his knee problems. I don’t know if anyone’s on the radar but it’s a position that’s needed filling for ages.

sylvinhio has been linked
he would be grand for 18 months or so

As I was listening to a bit of Robert there-

Hey! Mr. Hinkel man, kick a hun for me,
I’m not sleepy and there is no place i’m going to.
Hey! Mr. Hinkel man, kick a hun for me,
In the jingle jungle morning i’ll come followin’ you.

Simple and crappy like all football chants should be.

Also mentioned that Celtic are looking at “want away” striker Craig Bellamy for 5 million. What a load of auld cobblers! where would Celtic get 5mill for one player ;)[/QUOTE]

A swap deal with McGeady :smiley:

Agree the comparison is ridiculous. The inital argument was Bandage’s though. He suggested as Reo Coker is not a regular in the Villa midfield then how could he be better than Brown. If anything I’m disproving his ridiculous argument

quality

Christ, a front six like this would be magnificent:

Brown_____Crosas

Maloney___Nakamura___McGeady

_Bellamy

no, you made the comparison by saying Reo Coker wouldnt fall short on fitness with 20 mins to go against Aalborg. so it was you, not bandage, who started the ridiculous comparisons.

[quote=“Bandage”]Petrov took around 18 months to settle in at Celtic so he’s history of being a slow starter. He’s playing very well this season according to objective Villa fans.

Martin O’Neill tried very hard to dissuade him, given he showed flashes of brilliance like his 2 goals at Chelsea, but hisheart wasn’t in it and he was adamant he wanted to get back playing for a huge globally renowned Champions League club. I suppose that’s the modern game - we suffered when his agent and Villa dangled more cash in front of him but at least he belatedly put his footballing principles first and made the return.[/quote]

Ya Petrov is playing well this season. You probably read that on here.

More of this bullshit. Maloney interviewed on his return to Glasgow Celtic, what would you have expected?.

He could also have said that he was frustrated as being on the bench. Not making much of an impression when given countless chances. He knew he was only going to be third choice wide man or even fourth. I was at the game where he made his debut at Reading. He did pretty well so I was disapointed that he failed to made an impact. Far too weak on the ball, no pace, no left foot. Still a skilful player so I’m happy for him to be back scoring again.

MON taking him off at half time against Chelsea was not his finest moment of man management. MON sold him back to Glasgow Celtic at a profit, having bought him on a Bosman. Maloney obviously loves Glasgow Celtic so much that he put off signing a contract until it ran out. Depriving the club of a couple of million of badly needed funds. He comes back and he is a hero. Very strange.

Yes he wouldnt. That is surely a fact. Not a comparison

they are both defensive central midfielders who like to get stuck in.

Brown may have better technique which wouldnt be hard. Brown was once described on here as having one of the best engines in Europe. Possibly the same person, not sure, commented that he was fucked with 20 mins to go against Aalborg.

The only vision Brown has are the two eyes in his head. His own manager doesnt even trust him to play in central midfield at times. Bit like NRC