Try keeping composed when the interviewer suddenly switches to gaeilge half way through
Be early for the interview.
Even if you are never early afterwards for the actual job.
Thatâs the kind of attitude that causes fuck-ups in the first place. They prefer to hire someone that toes the line and doffs the cap. Competence for the job is of secondary concern. They didnât ask him what paper he read it in or probe him further on this opinion.
Try keeping composed when the interviewer suddenly takes out his sangwidges half way through.
Or when one of the panel falls asleep âŚ
this happened a fella I know. He put down Spanish as a second language on his CV and there was a Spanish lad doing the interview. He had decent Spanish but yer man completely threw him. Instant swamp ass and interview over
Ive done it,
my worst performance in an interview was with a software company in Cork. I was interviewed by a Spanish lad and a lad from West Cork. I couldnât understand either of them.
After about 5 minutes I stood up and said I donât think this is for me lads, shook hands and moved on.
It isnât Enda Stenson anyway. Heâs probably over in Brussels again giving it big licks.
I know a lad who did the same with Irish. Interviewer turned out to be a fluent gaelgoir and your man nearly died of exposure. Same lads Irish was probably A leaving cert standard but that was it, he was in no way prepared when your man conducted the first half of the interview in Irish.
Irish was in no way a requirement for the role so I donât know why he put it on the CV but Iâd know the interviewer as well and nothing would make him happier than watching someone squirm.
He actually got the job after but it didnât have much to do with the interview
Itâs the kind of attitude that ensures you never get the job. Thereâs a difference between considered, constructive commentary on the team youâre applying
for and naked, insulting generalisations.
whatever about doing that in an interview but coming out afterwards and boasting about it to lads is very odd behaviour, especially in a company you already work for.
an interview for promotion is not the place to air grievances.
Heâd have been as well off saying what he knew, what he didnât agree with and proposing a solution to the problem, instead of trying to be a smart arse
His card is marked in that place for sure now
The real job interviews are when you donât know youâre being interviewed.
Like when a van pulls up and the chloroform cloth is put over your mouth?
I told them, but they said âcome anywayâ. Recruitment agent obviously pushed me to go.
Whatâs your experience with recruitment agencies? Mine are 90% bad. Bullshitters of the highest order. Like car salesmen.
once you understand the parameters and use them to your advantage they are grand.
Itâs a mutually beneficial situation. They are looking to get you placed, have contacts within the recruitment departments of big companies and the better ones have experience in some industries.
Once you realize they are getting a commission out of you, make them work for it. Extract as much out of them as possible. Donât let them push you to a role you arenât comfortable with.
The country went bust cos banks werenât being properly supervised. His statement was hardly a naked generalisation.
Ah, weâve met before it seems.
It was very revealing that they didnât question him on his response.
The fact they are getting a commission out of me says enough. A few years back I sent in a CV to an agency, and got about 4 calls from 4 different people within the company within a week, all picking out keywords relevant to the type of job they were trying to hawk. I just find it hard to trust what theyâre telling me. Theyâre all about you until youâre not worth anything to them.