Joe Canning, Unquestionably the GOAT

Ye need to find a goalkeeper as well.

Going to take a few years realistically. He’s taller and has a bigger frame than the brother has which will help him but look at the physical condition of some of the teams last weekend. Will take him some time to get up to conditioning level where he won’t get killed.

In fairness to the brother, what a free taker he is.

As expected, this new poster is spamming this whole site talking shite.

A good free taker, but he looked lost in open play.

Younger Niland would make as much as an impact now as his older brother.

It’s almost impossible to make it at the big time now if you’re a player like Evan Niland.

1. he’s short
  2. He’s not fast
  3. Even though he’s a great free taker, I feel he’s always turning onto his left which slows him up.
  4. I wouldn’t call him windy, but he’s not brave either.

His brother is rapid, taller and braver. He should be a brilliant player for Galway in 2025 forwards.

Maybe he could perfect the art of faking injuries and diving for frees, there’s room for both of those in the modern game if limerick are anything to go by

I don’t think it will take as long as others. I guarantee he will be one of the best 20s in the country next season.

He will start for Galway seniors in 2025. He will be unstoppable thereafter IMO. He has pace, decentish size, strength, unbelievable skill, scoring ability off both sides (not as one sided as some point out, although he does favour his left), and most of all serious heart. He is truly a magnificent talent and will be one of the best in the country for a decade like Canning.

Niland senior had serious pace at u20 level

Sounds like David Clifford with a hurley

That’s all great as a starting point, but how coachable he is and how driven are what will decide if he will have any impact at senior. I saw Galway minors play Antrim up here earlier this year, he still has a fair bit of work to do.

Yes, he’s next to useless imho. He’s been left behind completely, and Galway with him. Need him gone, and a modern thinker in place. S and C being off is unforgivable. Like putting dirty diesel into a car.
As an aside, I think cork are the second best side at present. They were very unlucky this year. If they don’t get out of Munster next year, I’ll be very surprised. Pat Ryan has given them the dog they lacked.

Just like their talisman Bill Cooper all those years Cork become a better team for their lack of hurling

The great Bill Cooper got married today.

Youghal is the place to be this week

I said it maybe on another thread. Cork are the best team Limerick played this year.

Lacking a small bit of nuance. They need to stick or twist with a few of the older lads. If they write of mext year like JBM did and blood lads they’ll win 3 or 4 in the next 5 years

He’s only 30 but he still has a lot of miles on the clock, Gillane catching the ball over him and burying that goal just didn’t happen with daithai up until last weekend

Burke has been the preeminent full back for a long time but I don’t think there’s anyone Gillane doesn’t do that to at this stage.

Take your point on board and maybe Gillane is just that good now. Huw handled him very well in last years final, we’ll so how that pans out in a weeks time