Joe Canning, Unquestionably the GOAT

You didn’t answer the question I asked. Do you begrudge everyone earning a few quid in their spare time or is it just Joe?

Pm please

I begrudge lads taking money from voluntary, community organisations to appear there. You don’t like that answer.

He took money from them? Did they tell the Gardai?

He’s a very strange chap. Excellent yesterday in fairness

He’s a great example to any young fella who wants to better himself. Given a talent, worked with it and put in the hard yards and is reaping some benefits.

I’d never any dealings with him only to stand at a grave side at a funeral for a grandmother of one of his team mates. He had no earthly need to be there in my eyes but there he was in the middle of the week below in a rural townland an hour away from his home, paying his respects.

22 Likes

It was like fellas giving out when I think it was Sean Og O Halpin supposedly looked for €500 to present medals up in Roscommon or some place. Probably a 300 mile round trip and fellas think just because it’s GAA he should have given up his whole weekend to drive up there for the good of the game.

It’s what you’d come to expect from him, an absolute gent, deserves anything he gets from the game

He either can or he can’t.

Looking for it to be a financially profitable outing for him is inexplicably wrong.

At civil service mileage rates, the accepted measurement for calculating expenses, he would have been losing money on it, let alone giving up 6 or 7 hours of his weekend.

He’s not working as a civil servant when he’s doing these things

It would probably take 100 quid at most for that trip. He would be put up for the night and given his breakfast in the morning. He’d have made 400 quid on it.

You can either do these things or you can’t. You shouldn’t look to be profiting from it.

Do you reckon he’ll pull a Colm the sticky fingered greedy tramp bony elbowed Cooper trick on his retirement and try and engineer a cash windfall wine and cheese evening for himself?

This presumably includes any and all coaches getting " mileage"?

Absolutely.

He’ll be running as a FG or FF candidate in the general election directly after his retirement as well.

A thieving bastard.

You have said enough.

At least they’re giving/providing something week on week in that capacity. I’d imagine being involved in an intercounty set up will take upwards of 10-15 hours of your week and you’ll be judged on your results.

I don’t think under the table payments are right, if its solely mileage and other expenses coaches are getting that is fine.

Trying to profit from voluntary and community organisations by appearing at a function is sleevenism at its finest though.

Any lad that goes to the grave of people’s funerals that he doesn’t know is a complete weirdo.

He went for his teammate’s sake you slow fool.

You need to clarify here, did he take money money from them or did they pay him?