John Delaney/ tugging off half the forum

Lucan United, I presume? Did Mark Kinsella play much for ye?

[QUOTE=“mickee321, post: 1126163, member: 367”]anyone at that game yesterday?
… Firhouse Clover who dumped us out of the intermediate cup are similar, a thriving club who would go bust of they they ever decided to go to play LOI
they are up the road form me…i thought they were nearer relegation from their current league than thinking of LOI ?.. :confused:

[QUOTE=“Sandymount Red, post: 1126169, member: 1074”]Therein lies the problem of the first division in Irish soccer. Eight teams playing in front of paltry crowds in such geographically diverse areas is a recipe for disaster.

There needs to be a huge shake up of the second tier. Divide it up into north and south regions and invite the crack teams from the junior circuit to make up the numbers, you could easily have two divisions with 12 teams in each. Promote the champions of the north and south into the premier league and relegate the bottom two from that division. I strongly believe that would be a huge shot in the arm for Irish soccer.[/QUOTE]

Soccer needs to be worked along the lines same as the gga.
Maybe a few teams in doobla, and outside there, county teams.

[SIZE=6]John Delaney calls on Sepp Blatter to quit as Irish support goes to Fifa rival[/SIZE]
[I]
Wednesday, May 27, 2015
By Liam Mackey

FAI boss John Delaney has called on Sepp Blatter to step aside and confirmed that the controversial 79-year-old head of Fifa will not be receiving the Irish vote in Friday’s presidential election in Zurich.

“Regardless of the good he claims to have done during his tenure, he has to recognise that Fifa has an incredibly bad brand image,” Delaney said. “We won’t be voting for him.”

Instead, the FAI will be joining the English and Scottish football associations in supporting the sole remaining rival candidate, Prince Ali Bin Al Hussein of Jordan.

Calling on Blatter to step down “for the good of the game”, Delaney told BBC: “If he was doing the right thing by football, which he says he cares for and loves, then he should step aside and let somebody else come forward and improve the image of the world game.

“Uefa’s image is very good, which is run by a good friend of mine, Michel Platini. I can go to Uefa and ask ‘can we increase the Euros from 16 teams to 24’ which I did, they get that. You can talk to UefaA about 13 countries hosting the tournament in 2020. It gets discussed and it gets done. But at Fifa, you can’t.

“Blatter has had a hell of a run at it. But surely he knows, in his private moments, he must know, that outside of the voting chambers, that the world, the football public, the players and supporters, want change.

“I have no problems telling anybody, telling the world now, that we will not be voting for Sepp Blatter. There is a permanent controversy at Fifa.”[/I]

Next day, six FIFA officials arrested in Zurich

:clap::clap::clap::clap:

John Delaney is the truth!

John Delaney gave those quotes yesterday in a press conference and they’ve been published in the media this morning. I wonder if the authorities in Switzerland acted in the early hours having seen Mr Delaney’s comments? He makes the valid point in the Liam Mackey article that he pushed for the 24-team Euros and the multiple host venues in Euro 2020. He’s a very progressive influence.

Some mess at fifa with 6 fifa officials arrested this morning in Zurich. Surely Blatter has to go.

Luckily for soccer he turned down more lucrative private industry jobs to follow his passion. :clap:

It would seem he more or less told Platini that the next tournament would be 24 and that’s the end of it :clap:

Michel Platini is just John Delaneys glove puppet. What ever John asks of Michel, it gets done, no questions asked. This guy is running European Association Football and is has never been stronger.
I assume when he gets this Blatter chap out and installs this Ali Baba character, it will be Open Sesame for John any time he has a helpful suggestion to make on World football matters.

John got €5 million off FIFA because someone handled a football, the man is a genius. Thought I’d post it over here in his shrine.

The best Taoiseach we never had .

John Delaney accepts bribes

“So Miss English what do you find so attractive about the 5 time millionaire Jon Della?”

“Delaney was also asked if he had ever been offered a bribe. Laughing, he said: “No, no. Not on my salary!””
Fortunately, JD pays himself enough that he never has to even consider taking a bribe. Corporate governance at its very best there. :clap:

Our hero put that 79 year old back in his box for ogling his moh. :clap:

http://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/international-soccer/john-delaney-sepp-blatter-stared-at-my-partner-emma-and-said-i-approve-i-told-him-to-move-on-31278411.html

By the way is that Caitlyn Jenner he’s going out with now

The reaction to John Delaney confirming the receipt of the money from FIFA is strange. It began with outrage on Twitter, fuelled by misunderstandings, gathered pace from there and has culminated in a series of articles this morning that are completely misreading the situation.

There were those outraged because John Delaney had done something and they couldn’t quite work out what it was. But they were angry because others seemed to be. Self-appointed voice of the fans, YBIG, fell into this category, completely unable to articulate what it was exactly that had them ired, but John Delaney was trending and they were seething at something as a result.

There were those who called the payment a bribe. There seemed to be some original misguided assumption that Delaney had received the money personally. When that wasn’t the case, the label bribe hasn’t gone away. Cathal Devan in the Sun is leading that charge. It’s always a good idea to run a million miles from any public declaration from Cathal Dervan.

And then you have otherwise seemingly sane people who believe the FAI sold us out by accepting money. Henry Winter has a preposterous article in the Independent (and Telegraph) calling the FAI’s actions a “betrayal.” Apparently, we will never “forget our disgust at Thierry Henry’s cheating and the Frenchman’s attempt to console heartbroken players like Richard Dunne.”

I thought we were told moved on as a nation since then. And then we have the aforementioned YBIG naively exclaiming excitement at this wonderful piece from Winter. Are we really that bitter about the handball since? Apparently so. It’s an embarrassing reaction. It was embarrassing then and it’s embarrassing now. Frankly, getting €5m for the hardship does nothing to dilute that but it is €5m more than anyone could really expect the FAI to wrangle out of FIFA for a referee making a poor decision.

Winter, egged on by the morons on Twitter, goes further in his article. “That hush money must feel like blood money… [Henry’s] unpunished offence handling the ball twice towards William Gallas to score and take France to the 2010 World Cup finals, was rightly deemed a crime against players like Dunne, against their own (magnificent and vocal) support and against the sport itself.” This is a serious journalist apparently, and we’re talking about crimes and using the Irish support for a nonsensical emotional appeal.

And then Winter joins the bandwagon of those who seem to believe, rather ridiculously, that Ireland still had a route to the World Cup Finals after losing out over two legs.

“The talk that night was of a replay. Take the money? That’s laughable, contemptible, inconceivable. How could anyone with any soul or simple respect for their fellow-man put a price on the heartache suffered by Dunne, those fabulous fans and a sport craving probity? How could the FAI consider with a straight face investing that Fifa “loan” into any stadium used by players who dream of reaching a World Cup?”

A replay was never on the cards. It’s an absurd notion. A legal case would have failed dismally. Obviously.

But this story got defined on social media initially when there was an outpouring of misunderstood reactions and has gathered pace from there. There are few actually taking stock of the fact that the FAI getting €5m from FIFA towards the Aviva Stadium actually represents a good negotiation. A legal case would have been disruptive and bad publicity for FIFA but would have had zero chance of success.

Ireland were offered a FIFA Fair Play Award and €5m for the disappointment at losing out to that poor refereeing decision, seemingly the only one in the history of football. The FAI declined the award and accepted the money. Any Chief Executive who had done the opposite shouldn’t really be in charge of an organisation.

Heartache? It was only a soccer match FFS.

[QUOTE=“Rocko, post: 1153635, member: 1”]The reaction to John Delaney confirming the receipt of the money from FIFA is strange. It began with outrage on Twitter, fuelled by misunderstandings, gathered pace from there and has culminated in a series of articles this morning that are completely misreading the situation.

There were those outraged because John Delaney had done something and they couldn’t quite work out what it was. But they were angry because others seemed to be. Self-appointed voice of the fans, YBIG, fell into this category, completely unable to articulate what it was exactly that had them ired, but John Delaney was trending and they were seething at something as a result.

There were those who called the payment a bribe. There seemed to be some original misguided assumption that Delaney had received the money personally. When that wasn’t the case, the label bribe hasn’t gone away. Cathal Devan in the Sun is leading that charge. It’s always a good idea to run a million miles from any public declaration from Cathal Dervan.

And then you have otherwise seemingly sane people who believe the FAI sold us out by accepting money. Henry Winter has a preposterous article in the Independent (and Telegraph) calling the FAI’s actions a “betrayal.” Apparently, we will never “forget our disgust at Thierry Henry’s cheating and the Frenchman’s attempt to console heartbroken players like Richard Dunne.”

I thought we were told moved on as a nation since then. And then we have the aforementioned YBIG naively exclaiming excitement at this wonderful piece from Winter. Are we really that bitter about the handball since? Apparently so. It’s an embarrassing reaction. It was embarrassing then and it’s embarrassing now. Frankly, getting €5m for the hardship does nothing to dilute that but it is €5m more than anyone could really expect the FAI to wrangle out of FIFA for a referee making a poor decision.

Winter, egged on by the morons on Twitter, goes further in his article. “That hush money must feel like blood money… [Henry’s] unpunished offence handling the ball twice towards William Gallas to score and take France to the 2010 World Cup finals, was rightly deemed a crime against players like Dunne, against their own (magnificent and vocal) support and against the sport itself.” This is a serious journalist apparently, and we’re talking about crimes and using the Irish support for a nonsensical emotional appeal.

And then Winter joins the bandwagon of those who seem to believe, rather ridiculously, that Ireland still had a route to the World Cup Finals after losing out over two legs.

“The talk that night was of a replay. Take the money? That’s laughable, contemptible, inconceivable. How could anyone with any soul or simple respect for their fellow-man put a price on the heartache suffered by Dunne, those fabulous fans and a sport craving probity? How could the FAI consider with a straight face investing that Fifa “loan” into any stadium used by players who dream of reaching a World Cup?”

A replay was never on the cards. It’s an absurd notion. A legal case would have failed dismally. Obviously.

But this story got defined on social media initially when there was an outpouring of misunderstood reactions and has gathered pace from there. There are few actually taking stock of the fact that the FAI getting €5m from FIFA towards the Aviva Stadium actually represents a good negotiation. A legal case would have been disruptive and bad publicity for FIFA but would have had zero chance of success.

Ireland were offered a FIFA Fair Play Award and €5m for the disappointment at losing out to that poor refereeing decision, seemingly the only one in the history of football. The FAI declined the award and accepted the money. Any Chief Executive who had done the opposite shouldn’t really be in charge of an organisation.[/QUOTE]

The fear would be that the €5 million was more than compensation to the FAI and may have come with some strings attached.

Such as?