John Delaney/ tugging off half the forum

[QUOTE=“HBV*, post: 1153747, member: 234”]does Delaney gain anything personal from being top dog in irish soccer?
apart from the luxery of being able to walk away from his missus and into the arms of a beautiful blonde[/QUOTE]

He was touted for a while for a Fianna Fail nomination in Waterford or South Tipperary - if you classify that as gaining personally?

[QUOTE=“HBV*, post: 1153747, member: 234”]does Delaney gain anything personal from being top dog in irish soccer?
apart from the luxery of being able to walk away from his missus and into the arms of a beautiful blonde[/QUOTE]
Ah here. A beautiful blonde?

[ATTACH=full]3098[/ATTACH]

If he was top dog like yourself he’d have walked into the arms of a beautiful blonde and kept his wife.

financially i mean? is it worth his while having this gig?

[QUOTE=“Fagan ODowd, post: 1153751, member: 706”]Ah here. A beautiful blonde?

[ATTACH=full]3098[/ATTACH][/QUOTE]
would you not like to be cosying up to her yourself fagan?

I believe he’s an independently wealthy man from the family bakery business. His FAI salary is not inconsiderable albeit seemingly significantly less than what he could command elsewhere in the market for a CEO role.

I don’t think so.

John Delaney has served Irish football well.

Family bakeries have proven to be a sure fire winner alright. That’s why there are so many of them left.

You’re dead right about the CEO role though. He could have doubled his money and got us all off the hook for the bank debt by sidling up to Trichet and Co and just uttering a few expletives. And maybe telling them to move along when they were eyeing up his burd.

are you not interested in young ladies?

Does she match that description?

Dunphy on RTÉ at the moment defending the decision to his credit.

Mr Blatter certainly approves and he is about your vintage.

Had he anything to say in relation to the debit?

[QUOTE=“Juhniallio, post: 1153695, member: 53”]I’m not confusing anything. You are disregarding all prior evidence of the fai’s reluctance to discuss accounts as I’ve mentioned.

http://www.irishtimes.com/sport/soccer/national-league/answers-at-a-premium-at-fai-agm-1.1879778

Save your patronising tone for crotty’s ladyboys please.[/QUOTE]
That’s a completely different matter. The fact that the FAI don’t have much transparency in their financial reporting doesn’t mean that the loan wasn’t put through the books. And, if the money wasn’t disclosed properly in the financial statements, then that’s an issue. But it doesn’t mean the money “wasn’t put through the books” as some are suggesting.

This issue seems to be bouncing around from a bribe, to hush money, to a pay off, to FIFA corruption, to betraying the fans etc. Now it’s an accounting issue. I don’t know if the payment was accounted for correctly. Nor does anyone else. But getting excited about a financial reporting issue is odd when there was no breaking news on that topic yesterday.

It’s an extremely odd national and international reaction to the story. People got annoyed, had no idea what they were getting annoyed at and now everyone’s annoyed at different things. I have some sympathy to those covering the international FIFA story who think this is crazy double-standards from FIFA to be giving money to the FAI for one decision in one match because it sets a ridiculous precedent that’s unsustainable. But I don’t believe that translates to taking issue with the FAI for accepting that money. They made a fuss, they got money. It wasn’t as good as going to the World Cup (which was impossible) but it was better than nothing. If Delaney hadn’t accepted the money it would have been a fairly reckless financial decision.

Just reading there about the 5m Delaney got as hush money from FIFA - Disgraceful carry on. The bastard should be hung.

[QUOTE=“Rocko, post: 1153784, member: 1”]That’s a completely different matter. The fact that the FAI don’t have much transparency in their financial reporting doesn’t mean that the loan wasn’t put through the books. And, if the money wasn’t disclosed properly in the financial statements, then that’s an issue. But it doesn’t mean the money “wasn’t put through the books” as some are suggesting.

This issue seems to be bouncing around from a bribe, to hush money, to a pay off, to FIFA corruption, to betraying the fans etc. Now it’s an accounting issue. I don’t know if the payment was accounted for correctly. Nor does anyone else. But getting excited about a financial reporting issue is odd when there was no breaking news on that topic yesterday.

It’s an extremely odd national and international reaction to the story. People got annoyed, had no idea what they were getting annoyed at and now everyone’s annoyed at different things. I have some sympathy to those covering the international FIFA story who think this is crazy double-standards from FIFA to be giving money to the FAI for one decision in one match because it sets a ridiculous precedent that’s unsustainable. But I don’t believe that translates to taking issue with the FAI for accepting that money. They made a fuss, they got money. It wasn’t as good as going to the World Cup (which was impossible) but it was better than nothing. If Delaney hadn’t accepted the money it would have been a fairly reckless financial decision.[/QUOTE]
You’re spot on @Rocko. Especially after Delaney saying, it’s not about the money it’s about sporting integrity :smiley:

What do you think his negotiation position should have been? “We’ll take anything. Give us a few bob.”

The reaction of the whole country about sporting integrity etc was ridiculous. But if it produced an offer of €5m then he’d be an idiot (and a shit Chief Executive) if he turned it down.

[QUOTE=“Rocko, post: 1153791, member: 1”]What do you think his negotiation position should have been? “We’ll take anything. Give us a few bob.”

The reaction of the whole country about sporting integrity etc was ridiculous. But if it produced an offer of €5m then he’d be an idiot (and a shit Chief Executive) if he turned it down.[/QUOTE]
Personally, I don’t believe there was a negotiation, much less a negotiating position. What sort of gobdaw would (a) believe that the FAI had taken any steps to bring a legal case for a laughable claim, or (b) believe that FIFA believed for a second that that it had any legal or financial exposure.
I expect FIFA decided they’d throw a potato at Paddy, sure in the knowledge that he’d stick it in his gob and have to shut up and stop making an eejit of himself.

[QUOTE=“Fagan ODowd, post: 1153793, member: 706”]Personally, I don’t believe there was a negotiation, much less a negotiating position. What sort of gobdaw would (a) believe that the FAI had taken any steps to bring a legal case for a laughable claim, or (b) believe that FIFA believed for a second that that it had any legal or financial exposure.
I expect FIFA decided they’d throw a potato at Paddy, sure in the knowledge that he’d stick it in his gob and have to shut up and stop making an eejit of himself.[/QUOTE]
I think that’s more or less spot on. Buy he’d be a bigger eejit to turn it down in favour of continuing to act the eejit.