John Delaney/ tugging off half the forum

[QUOTE=ā€œRocko, post: 1153941, member: 1ā€]I havenā€™t said they should say nothing. Iā€™ve said a few times that I think thereā€™s a worthwhile investigation to be done in how it was treated. Thatā€™s not the reason for the uproar though. Iā€™m astonished by the number of eejits talking of betrayal and sell-out and bribery. None of that is true and none of it has any relationship to the FAIā€™s bookkeeping.

Iā€™ve no desire to absolve the FAI of any bookkeeping anomalies. But the stuff being levelled at them so far is weird and largely irrelevant. Fellas getting annoyed that it was income and that it was amortised. I mean thatā€™s laughable anger.

Just because you donā€™t understand something doesnā€™t make it wrong. It doesnā€™t make it right either of course. But maybe people will wait to see if thereā€™s anything untoward in the financial reporting before jumping up and down about it. It strikes me that some have now latched onto that (which isnā€™t a new issue for the FAI) out of embarrassment because their original protestations about hush money and crap like that proved idiotic.[/QUOTE]

Whereā€™s the fun in that? Who has time for a worthwhile investigation? They werenā€™t too worried about a worthwhile investigation when they were chucking poor oul Bernard O Byrne under a bus over three miserable hotel bills so they could keep on the right side of Bertie for the Bertie Bowl.

If you are innocent enough to think that this will be decided

[QUOTE=ā€œRocko, post: 1153941, member: 1ā€]I havenā€™t said they should say nothing. Iā€™ve said a few times that I think thereā€™s a worthwhile investigation to be done in how it was treated. Thatā€™s not the reason for the uproar though. Iā€™m astonished by the number of eejits talking of betrayal and sell-out and bribery. None of that is true and none of it has any relationship to the FAIā€™s bookkeeping.

Iā€™ve no desire to absolve the FAI of any bookkeeping anomalies. But the stuff being levelled at them so far is weird and largely irrelevant. Fellas getting annoyed that it was income and that it was amortised. I mean thatā€™s laughable anger.

Just because you donā€™t understand something doesnā€™t make it wrong. It doesnā€™t make it right either of course. But maybe people will wait to see if thereā€™s anything untoward in the financial reporting before jumping up and down about it. It strikes me that some have now latched onto that (which isnā€™t a new issue for the FAI) out of embarrassment because their original protestations about hush money and crap like that proved idiotic.[/QUOTE]
Whereā€™s the fun in that? Who has time for a worthwhile investigation? They werenā€™t too worried about a worthwhile investigation when they were chucking poor oul Bernard O Byrne under a bus over three miserable hotel bills so they could keep on the right side of Bertie for the Bertie Bowl.

If you are innocent enough to think that JDs fate will be decided by GAAP this or that, good luck to you. This will play out over the weekend and he will survive until the FAI decide he is too much of a liability. If he could bring himself to shut the fuck up for a month he might have a job at the end of it.

[QUOTE=ā€œHBV*, post: 1153747, member: 234ā€]does Delaney gain anything personal from being top dog in irish soccer?

Everybody loves him

Who else would employ him?

[QUOTE=ā€œJulio Geordio, post: 1153831, member: 332ā€]According to Newstalk, just there, it seems they took ā‚¬1 million in 2011 & ā‚¬4 million in 2013 as ā€œincomeā€.
Aside from the shadiness of hiding it in income, how can you classify it as income in 2011 when youā€™ve no idea whether it needs to be paid back or not.
.[/QUOTE]

Because they knew FIFA wouldnā€™t look to collect it?

LOUD NOISES.

Ireland were victims of a bad decision . No guarantee of winning the thing over two legs regardless . Possible redres is mooted but all any sundry agree no legal avenue to pursue damages . Lo and behold the damaged party is awarded 5million !!!

The head of the organisation who negotiated and benefitted from this settlement is getting lambasted by all and sundry .

I am now convinced the country is gone mad .

I have received a number of pms asking for me to break my silence and comment on this matter.
The clamour is understandable:

• I am a reasonably distinguished football player
  • I am a leading figure in business
  • my sister is a respected accountant
  • I am a respected whistleblower (see the juhniallio gable end affair expose)

Having examined the facts in this case I can only conclude that Mr Delaney should immediately draw down 500k as a bonus for himself for having outwitted Fifa in this affair. 5 million invested into Irish football was a fantastic result and perhaps if the gga had someone of his calibre at the helm they wouldnā€™t still be banging on about Garth brooks. An outstanding business man and an inspirational sports administrator.

Too be honest lada, I donā€™t know what all the fuss is about. Iā€™m not a huge soccer fan but Iā€™ve know abput the 5 million for at least a couple of years. Thought it was common knowledge

Just a couple of thoughts here lads,

(1 Why the fuck do they need to broadcast internationally the 5 million once the horse has left the stable in a cowardly manner.
(2 Why wasnā€™t this money put into grassroots soccer, Where the fuck did it go, most likely Delaneyā€™s inflated wages - Iā€™m not seeing it in Limerick Junior clubs anyway.
(3 Looking at point 2, as much as I dislike Rugby cunts, Irish International soccer teams wouldnā€™t have the Aviva if it wasnā€™t for them.

The FAI are a fucking disgrace and a shambles, All you have to do is look at the state of the LOI football, No wonder weā€™ve a shite international team and havenā€™t developed a decent player since Keane, Duff etcā€¦

JD under pressure on the news now.

JD speaking now.

27th November 2009 meeting for a sporting solution.
4th December WC draw
12th December financial solution agreed

JD & FAI looked for a sporting solution until after the World Cup draw.

FIFA document shows their real concerns of legal threats. The World Cup draw seeding was a particular problem for FIFA and made them vulnerable. Also Blatter spoke on 30th November about the first meeting and betrayed confidentiality and damaged the FAI with his skit - that impacted on FIFA feeling financially vulnerable.

JD going through the accounts. Showing bank statement of the money coming in on 10 January 2010.

Wasnā€™t disclosed as single item in financial statements because of confidentiality agreements. There was a fee of $250k written into the contract if the confidentiality was broken and FAI were not permitted to disclose.

5m was in bank and loans on balance sheet. FIFA wrote down 1m in 2011 and that went to turnover. Remainder written down by FIFA in 2013 and in turnover in that year.

[QUOTE=ā€œRocko, post: 1154063, member: 1ā€]JD speaking now.

4th December WC draw

FIFA document shows their real concerns of legal threats. The World Cup draw seeding was a particular problem for FIFA and made them vulnerable. Also Blatter spoke on 30th November about the first meeting and betrayed confidentiality and damaged the FAI with his skit - that impacted on FIFA feeling financially vulnerable.

JD going through the accounts. Showing bank statement of the money coming in on 10 January 2010.

Wasnā€™t disclosed as single item in financial statements because of confidentiality agreements. There was a fee of $250k written into the contract if the confidentiality was broken and FAI were not permitted to disclose.

5m was in bank and loans on balance sheet. FIFA wrote down 1m in 2011 and that went to turnover. Remainder written down by FIFA in 2013 and in turnover in that year.[/QUOTE]

:clap::clap::clap:

[QUOTE=ā€œRocko, post: 1154063, member: 1ā€]JD speaking now.

4th December WC draw

5m was in bank and loans on balance sheet. FIFA wrote down 1m in 2011 and that went to turnover. Remainder written down by FIFA in 2013 and in turnover in that year.[/QUOTE]

What about the neglect of the game in this country @Rocko, The cunts in the FAI on a different scale are just as bad as Blatter and the boys.

That or they are just fucking completely incompetent.

If youā€™re explaining youā€™re losing.

Dela mugging off all his detractors.

Hereā€™s the loan agreement:

http://www.fai.ie/sites/default/files/atoms/files/Doc%201.pdf

Hereā€™s the loan being written-off:

[ATTACH=full]3099[/ATTACH]

I forgot Waterford United are really winning the hearts and minds of the public in the south east.

if only John Delaney was running the country

[QUOTE=ā€œThe Most Infamous, post: 1154066, member: 1783ā€]What about the neglect of the game in this country @Rocko, The cunts in the FAI on a different scale are just as bad as Blatter and the boys.

That or they are just fucking completely incompetent.[/QUOTE]

Neglect of the game in this country? Elaborate.