Jordan Peterson šŸ vs CH4

I am several thousand miles away and honestly have read/listened to little of Peterson. Some of what he says I think is interesting, some I think is a huge leap. I have not absolutely scrutinized the manā€™s work to have a strong opinion either way.

What I do know is that since he arrived on the scene there has been people desperate to jump on whatever he says as proof of him being an alt rightest or whatever.

The simple fact is that he is attracting an audience. It is comforting to some to portray this audience as X and Y (I made a quip about them above), but for the most part these are normal enough people who work normal jobs and many of whom have families. Some are lost or whatever, Iā€™m not sure why itā€™s funny to leer at men in their 20s for their position in life when the rate of male suicide is so high. The reality is that the majority of people are normal, non Tommy Robinson types, to which his message resonates.

You can criticize elements of that which is fair. You can even say that the taking the place of religion element of these types is concerning- but that isnā€™t restricted to the right or left wing. But I think the constant need to have a gotcha ā€œheā€™s racist/sexist/transphobicā€ moment with him is telling. You are not going to convince any of the millions who have turned to the likes of Peterson with that type of attack.

I donā€™t think Iā€™ve ever even called Peterson alt-right, never mind anything else. I donā€™t know enough about him to do so, the little I have heard from sounds deeply uninteresting, pseudo-intellectual and basically amounts to little more than a whinge about society not being like the 1950s like you might get from some middle aged man drinking alone in a pub.

I think @Fagan_ODowdā€™s description of him got it spot on - heā€™s a gobshite.

Itā€™s tremendously funny how youā€™re so offended at humorous digs about Petersonā€™s audience being made up almost exclusively of white men, while you so fully embrace the Trumpā€™s politics of vilification which cause actual harm on a massive scale against minorities and genuinely vulnerable people.

Right-wing identity politics is one of the saddest, most obviously pathetic things ever invented and the people who embrace it are the saddest, most obviously pathetic people around.

I know this fella. Heā€™s sound. Does some good stuff cos he believes in it. Does some other stuff because heā€™s trying to get elected for the greens. I hope he gets elected and then does stuff for real.

Sorry did you not see my post several hours ago where I talked about the same thing about them being all bald men?

Save this shit about ā€œwhite menā€. Ireland remains substantially a Caucasian country. The Green chap (and you) and transferring that straight from your US twitter timelines. Actually go to the US sometime and see what a multi racial population looks like, not some illusionary stuff on Twitter.

I just pointed out that I think the Green guy is either lying or an absolute weirdo. I know it made you chuckle, and youā€™re precisely his target audience, but cā€™est Ƨa.

Like paying for a ticket for Jordan Peterson then pretending he didnā€™t just to give himself some profile?

You appear to be very confused about whatā€™s funny and what isnā€™t, whatā€™s bullying or vilificatory rhetoric with actual consequences and what isnā€™t. Quelle surprise.

Jordan Peterson may be Canadian but most of what he says appears to be rooted in US right-wing politics, specifically right-wing identity politics. Those who obsessively follow him here are the people trying to import that sort of discourse to this country. You canā€™t criticise somebody for engaging with or taking the piss out of them through their own terminology.

Earlier on you were defending two people who went on the basis that ā€œmaybe they had an open mind?ā€

Now youā€™re getting all offended by somebody turning up and offering genuinely humorous insights into what they were hearing. It doesnā€™t seem weird at all to me that somebody would take a free or cheap ticket and go to an event like this, perhaps with some preconceived notions of what they would hear but at the same time curious as to what that would be. Thatā€™s actually the very definition of open mind. Itā€™s no different than being offered a free or cheap ticket for a gig by an artist youā€™re not into and going along.

If that seems weird to you, well, your threshold for whatā€™s weird is much lower than mine is, but sure I guess thatā€™s the conservative coming out in you.

Iā€™d say the ticket was free but heā€™s trying like fuck to maximise his profile on twitter talking about it in order to be elected. Wannabee local politicians are weird like that.

I donā€™t doubt he is trying to maximize it.

I think it neatly ties into what weā€™re saying.

I find it strange, weird even, that anybody would complain about somebody trying to maximise any small amount of media exposure they can garner for themselvesā€¦at a Jordan Peterson event.

The irony.

How is it weird?

I would think he is being quite transperant. He is charging an extortionate fee to see him, after all.

The other is on Twitter desperately trying to get kudos from the likes of yourself. It worked, fair play to him. I guess life is always transactional, when when you take a free ticket to a social night out with a friend.

The double standard is weird.

One is a shameless media whore whoā€™s clearly more interested in coining it in rather than in genuine intellectual debate, the other is some little known person apparently involved in local politics posting genuinely humorous insights taking the piss out of what heā€™s seeing and hearing.

If the latter has maximised any small exposure he has, fair fucking play to him.

I donā€™t see how one would complain about the latter but not the former, itā€™s rather contradictory.

How it is a double standard?

One of pretending he didnā€™t pay for a ticket and went along on a social occasion with a friend. He then proceeded to live Tweet and belittle the event and people he got a free ticket for.

We all know thatā€™s a lie to try and build a profile for himself for a local authority election (:grin:).

The other is quite transparent in him being there to make money.

Fair play to the Green guy, itā€™s worked a treat with chaps like yourself. Up at all hours railing against the ā€œwhite manā€ who goes to these type of events on Twitter.

Sausages in a pan.

Have a sleep on it and Iā€™m sure youā€™ll work things out, Tim. :wink:

Early days here buddy.

He talks basic common sense by and large, which is ironic as paying ninety notes, and an evening of your life to listen to it is as far from that as you can get.

Thatā€™s a good article.
Iā€™m glad he cleared up the following (I was about to take it up with the paper)
ā€œThis article was amended on July 21st to attribute a maxim to Epictetus rather than Marcus Aureliusā€

She? Very balanced, she read it with an open mind youd think. As aside from commentators who have never read it but feel they can make a definitive call on him

Agreed