Jordan Peterson šŸ vs CH4

What did ye have for lunch?

People are different for a whole host of reasonsā€¦ Even language shapes how we see the world differently.

Weā€™re on about something differentā€¦ Are we born a blank slate where boys and girls can be shaped to have completely different gender norms in any society? Men, in any culture, are invariably risk takersā€¦itā€™s how we learn. Are you saying thatā€™s solely down to their society or is there a nature to men thats inherent regardless of society expectations?

Iā€™ve never said I donā€™t believe it pal.

yeah but youā€™re making the assumption we all start as a clone of something. A perfect thing.

We donā€™t. Some people will have some imbalance or some thing that makes them think they arenā€™t the sex they are born in to.

A man born with male instincts and raised to be a male will more than likely be a happy male but not always. He might like to dress up as a woman for sexual kicks. (EstafinaSexface har har)

Who the fuck knows.

Did these feelings first start when you moved to Cork?

Youā€™ve been sniffing around this thread like a @sidney around a ladies toilet waiting for a chance at that. Fair play to you

I used to identify as an Apache attack helicopter but I was living a lie.
I now identify as an A-10 Warthog

BBRRRRRRRRRRRRT

I support your right to identify as an A-10 Warthog.

If you feel like a woman, despite not being born one, do you have the right to be called a woman by everyone?

I donā€™t think so. I donā€™t think there is a legal requirement.

You can insist on calling them a man if you want, all they can do is ask you not to be a cunt and respect their view.

Some people are more militant about it both ways I presume and then you have a cunt off

Iā€™m in awe at ladā€™s stamina and linguistic gymnastics on this issue alright. Iā€™ve found myself becoming slightly more of a traditionalist as I grow older and have married it into my live and let live ethos. Iā€™m comfortable with that.

Yeah thatā€™s a different story. If a close friend of mine insisted on being called a donkey I would (maybe with a quiet word in the ear) but I donā€™t think it should be a legal requirement.

thatā€™s a good place to be

is your brrrrtttday coming up soon?

you arenā€™t legally obliged to call anybody anything. People are legally able to change their gender. That doesnā€™t mean you HAVE TO call them it. Itā€™s just down to social awareness after that. The person mightnā€™t mind too much what theyā€™re called. The may and ask you. You may or may not want to.

You can either do it, ignore it or fight it.

Itā€™s like somebody legally changing their name but someone still insists on calling them by their old name

Just got my virtual hands on his first book. I wouldnā€™t agree with everything he has to say, but would give him the time of day, and in that original C4 interview, he buried her.

Thereā€™s certain traits or nature to both sexes that are intrinsic. We see it with every animal. Itā€™s why thereā€™s two sexes in the first placeā€¦gender roles/norms can vary by society but they are in line with our biological and intrinsic nature. Men are generally more aggressive, learn by risk taking, are more interested in things, remember places by directionā€¦ Women less aggressive, submissive, remember places by detailsā€¦ Societies are forged by placing these intrinsic biological and mental traits within gender norms. We can agree that these vary from place to place and how we interact socially but why humans think they can be born in the wrong body has to be a mental disorder/illness. Our unique ability to see ourselves as an identity or being different or separate from the world leads to all kinds of neurosis. Skinny People see themselves as fat and we say they have a mental disorder. Iā€™d never deny that a person who feels like theyā€™ve been born in the wrong body genuinely feel that way but brushing it aside as an argument merely as a right to identify overlooks something much deeper. How can you be born in the wrong body? Itā€™s like saying your body is not you and that you are something that exists inside your bodyā€¦ If I exist as something inside my body, where the fuck am I located? Come on lads, get fucking real. Thereā€™s no you separate to your body. People have a very unfortunate mental disorder or illnessā€¦ If itā€™s fixed with an operation, good luck to them, let them have it. But letā€™s not skirt around it. A large amount of trans men end up still being attracted to females even after their opā€¦ Now I know sexual orientation is a different argument but I canā€™t see how we can get away from a mental illness.