Jordan Peterson 🐐 vs CH4

If it triggers a woke fanny like you it’s time well spent.

“Do your own resertch!”

I love how self proclaimed “anti-woke” obsessives like this are simultaneously down the rabbit hole of a far right conspiracy “revolution” “theory” they call “The Great Awakening”. :grinning:

And see no contradiction at all. :grinning:

“Look for your inspiration to the victorious lobster, with its 350 million years of practical wisdom. Stand up straight, with your shoulders back.”

How is this craic ‘common sense’? This ráiméis is just off the peg primitivism, a weak rerun of the notion that ‘civilization’ represses. Would we look to lobsters for a paradigm of sanitation? But JP thinks lobsters comprise a paradigm of gender relations.

JP is basically Ivor Cummins or George Hook with an Ivy League degree. He made a shrewd move, financially, in pandering to angry middleaged white men who hate Greta Thunberg. His emphasis on women and feminism remains cynical but effective.

JP is essentially a YouTube grifter. More broadly, he is a depressive – as he has acknowledged himself – who needs ‘religion’ to keep himself ‘sane’. Fair enough – but ‘religion’ mainly means, for him, the right to be angry, a lot and at predictable targets. For him, ‘religion’ is the equivalent of seasteading, a fantasy of absolute autonomy. Steve Bannon and Nick Land and Peter Thiel and Curtis Yarvin are simply a more aggressive and much darker version of the same dreary ‘end times’ schtick. Seasteading derives from the same psychological afflatus that sent Jim Jones to Guyana.

We had Dale Carnegie. We do not need Jordan Petersen, lighter though he may be than Steve Bannon, as Dale Carnegie for the social media age.

As I say, I’ve only seen his Cathy Newman interview. Otherwise I don’t pay him much heed. He seemed balanced and reasonable in that.
WRT George hook, I’ve a pal went to see him at a talk in Sligo thinking it’d be about rugby. He said it was a frankly deranged rant (not about rugby)

Sure there’s no helping you flatty.

You are some fuckwit. And a vulgarian, like all greasily confident fuckwits, just a lad who wonders about the salary of other fathers at the school gate in the way yer average lad worries about penis size.

Probably.

Sounds like a good few lads

If we are all so “weak” and so “vulnerable”, and you urge such compassion, why do you keep sneering about people with Long Covid?

A lot of white middle aged anger on display here.

'Tis always great fun when the lads who tell you to read Peterson’s books turn not to have read them themselves.

His target market is so thick he could release a book of 300 pages, all blank, and there would still be lads here telling you it was genius. :grinning:

To be fair, if he did release such a book it would be by far the most sense he has ever made.

The seethe is real. I’d say the blood vessels are fit to burst.

We like Roy
We like Roy

The retreat into a fantasy world of make believe and la la is real.

I do not think one TV interview is much of a basis for assessing the nature of anyone’s contribution. To my regret, I have read quite a bit of JP, time I can never get back – mainly because his reception was a phenomenon in itself. His writing is dire.

We had all this craic before, 150 years and more ago. His names was Samuel Smiles.

He’s not much on the radar other than that interview though. I’d never heard of him before

I don’t. I believe post viral syndrome is quite common, but the long covid thing is clearly another media driven loosely defined notion that compromises everything from blood clots to narcissism

‘Seethe’… ‘Woke’… ‘Snowflake’… ‘Greta’…

The greased fuckwit alphabet, for those who can only think in clichés.

“Clearly”