Clarification, he came 9th in one stage of the Tour. He may have got top ten in an amateur classic but certainly not in a pro one. He nearly won the milk race as well as an amateur. His best Tour performance was 131st. I think that he was an ordinary rider, just my opinion. I also think he underachieved as a pro. As for the doping don’t think anyone diagrees about the need to tackle it, I’ve posted on this before. But i think he was ungrateful to insinuate that Kelly and Roche doped, that was a bit close to home in my view.
But they did.
And in fairness to Kimmage (not that I agree with it) he nearly went out of his way to excuse the two guys in the first edition of the book. But he was pressed and pressed by the Irish media and basically said nobody was clean. And he still got hounded by the two lads (neither of whom have clean pasts) and so there’s a prologue in the book addressing that now. If you read it without that prologue it’s almost reverential towards Roche and then deeply frustrated by the corruption of the entire sport.
Ungrateful? I don’t think Kelly or Roche ever rode his bike for him. Everyone involved in cycling had a chance when he released that book to do the right thing. And they didn’t do it. Roche was on the Late Late making out that he won everything riding on baguettes and Volvic.
As regards being an ordinary rider, sure he was a domestique but that is still being one of the best in the world. A local club guy is an ordinary rider, a pro, any pro, is being one of the best in the world.
The book is hugely complementary to both Roche and Kelly. As Kimmage says in the prologue now “the fawning references to Roche remain” and this is despite of the bitterness between the two now. I would have thought less of Kimmage had he denied these guys doped instead of basically refusing to answer the questions which is the path he chose.
if humphrie had sex withis girl is it automatially rape?
if so whats the normal term for this?
its statutory rape as opposed to normal rape and the ‘surprise’ defence is out as well. its a strict liability offence as well which means theres feck all defences if the act is proven.
Maximum sentence is 14 or 15 years in prison, cant remember which
if he did do this then 15 year is the least he should get
Lads before there’s even a charge brought I don’t think it’s reasonable to be speculating about the sentence and time served etc.
I came home at 6.30pm, went on here to see if there was anything happening in the world of the users on here. Read this thread and it is only now that I have calmed down enough to post after reading that utter cunt thraweens posts.
You my friend need help. Serious, serious help. Honestly, you need a psychiatrist.
If what the Sunday World are saying is true this Humphries prick deserves to be put in jail for life, death is the easy option for him. What he allegedly did is inexcusable, he abused a position of trust and had a sexual relationship with a 14 year old girl. 14. What a sick cunt. For Thraween to say stuff like, ‘ah sure its legal in germany’ and ‘some 14 y/o’s would eat you for breakfast’ is sickening beyond belief. If there are more people in Ireland like that Thraween cunt we are in a bad, bad position. Imagine Thraween got called for jury duty on a underage rape case. It doesn’t bare thinking about.
Also this absolute bollocks about, ‘it was consensual’. What the fuck? She is 14, he is 47. I don’t give a flying fuck if it is deemed to be consensual this sick freak Humphries got his kicks out of having a sexual relationship with a child and people like thraween defend him?
The only people that come out of this in a good light are Humphries wife and daughter. Fair balls to them for informing the Gardaí, that must have been a very hard thing to come to terms with and go through with. Also the family of the 14 year old must be destroyed.
Thraween are you 18/19? You need serious mental help from a professional.
Lads, I don’t have time to review every post on here so if you’re posting on this thread then:
please refer to the fact the allegations are allegations from the papers at this stage
please don’t speculate on sentences for the alleged offences.
I think most people have had their say at this stage. I’m loathe to stop the thread because it’s generally been a mature debate and nobody has said anything other than what has been in the mainstream media but let’s keep it that way. If it becomes too much hassle to moderate then the thread will have to be locked.
Sure Farmer i left school early and only did a few FETAC courses and i even got it.
If Ifs and buts were candy and nuts. No problem Rocko.
Just want to clear this one up as that was not what I was saying at all.
I had said that TH seemed like a fundamentally decent man, one of the reasons why I believe this is because of his profession and his position at the most noble of newspapers.
Someone asked, fairly ridiculously imo, if I believed Gary Glitter to have been a fundamentally decent man also. I replied that I didn’t think being a 70s glam rocker would indicate that someone is fundamentally a good person because it’s a seedy industry. My point is that you could look at TH’s position and his professional achievements and say “yes, he’s probably a decent fellow” while there’s no way you could do the same with Gary Glitter. Of course plenty of glam rockers are decent, but you wouldn’t go thinking that they’re good citizens just because they had a string of top-10 hits in 1974.
Whether that’s a load of bollocks or not, it’s nothing like what you’ve said Farmer. Just to be clear.
he was a gga propagandist, he was their goebels in regards to tallaght
he was so fat he needed to pay for 2 seats on a plane
he is a cunt
So basically what you are saying Thrawneen is:
TH is a well respected journalist, writing for a good newspaper and this indicates that he is a fundamentally decent man.
Gary Glitter, works in the seedy glam rock industry , and this indicates that he is not a fundamentally decent man.
I don’t think that is too far off what I attributed you to have meant.
Leaving aside the alleged crimes in the case of TH, and proven crimes in the case of Glitter, such reasoning is really incredible I must say. There is absolutely no evidence to suggest that ‘decentness’ as you call it, is linked to a certain type of profession. There are great people and cunts in all walks of life.
incorrect- all GGA journalists are cunts
Theres no debate on this. If this was your daughter or sister or whatever and there was some sick 50+ year old man doing whatever to her what would you do?
Sick cunt.
How does something like that even start? Oh theres a young one about the same age as my daughter shes a bit of alright.
Sick, sick cunt.
*Allegedly.
I shocked to learn that the age of consent is 14 in some countries.
That’s ridiculous. At 14 a girl is still a child and regardless of any of the bravado some young girls might go on with, they are barely teenagers and in no way capable of handling a serious sexual relationship.
No matter how much the girl may have instigated this (and I’m not saying she did) any man should have enough cop on to walk away, and even if he as Sid put it “made an error of judgement” as soon as he went back a second time then any hope of using that or diminished responsibility as an excuse goes out the window.