Bit weird.
A pal of mine is involved in the Dublin scene and was chatting to Eddie Hearn the other day when he was over for the press conference.
Eddie is full of bravado but a grand fella by all accounts. Anyway he did do some giving out about the Croke Park head honchos who had a problem for every solution as regards getting this fight on in the first place. In the words of Eamon Dunphy, âwhere did you get these guys from?â was the gist of it.
Anyway, Saturday night will be judge and jury as regards to who was right and who was wrong as regards that stuff.
Eddie thought he was a good one until he met the boys in Croke Park
![]()
![]()
![]()
This is the difference between the National Broadcaster and some Essex wide boys doing the build up. Telling the lads on here who fell for the latter, a lot of Footix overlap.
Thatâs terrific work by Shane Mulrennan.
Youâve always been a man who understands the nuances of the Greater Dublin Area.
Live update on the pubs in Fairview. Gaffneys is closed. The Strand House, Kavanaghs and The Annesley House are open. Its very quiet around. Youâd barely know anything was on. Though when i was turning left off Fairview strand by Joeyâs school there was a big bronzed brassy blond with a complicated looking white leather dress on crossing the road. Iâm not sure if she was a traveller or a gangsterâs moll but her jabbers were hanging out anyway. I had to jam on and sent all the groceries (or messages as they say in Summerhill) skittering all over the back of the car.
Really hope it all goes well for Katie Taylor herself, all the kids who are going and for womenâs sport in general.
Pubs closing seems a bit much. In a similar vein (spelling?) I remember a cup final down in the Aviva in around 2010 era between Shamrock & one of the other Dublin clubs. A load of pubs like Slatteryâs closed for the day, fearing naughty scenes.
Flora Pilli will have to be 10 points better to beat Katie by 1. What time are Westlife getting proceedings under way?
Has there been a massive influx of young girls into womenâs boxing since Katieâs emergence? Iâd say sheâd have inspired more playing soccer for the WNT.
As a droll Offaly man (cc @Fat_Pox) said to me yesterday. Her legacy will be half the young girls in the country in gyms bateing the head off each other.
Hard believe theyâre not putting any seats on the hill. Surely take from the atmosphere a bit and given the insane demand for tickets theyâd have to have sold it out
Itâs all kind of intangible stuff but she has definitely been a hugely positive role model for women in sport. This is just a testimonial but what harm.
The fact that a female sports person sold out croke park for any type of event is phenomenal really
There was a well publicised attack on a pub in Ringsend at one of the recent FAI cup finals. St Pats were hosting some pre-match gig there and a hape of Bobâs fans (I think it was Bogs, anyway) attacked the gaff, causing pandemonium
My mistake . I was in there last weekend and they were planning in opening
Both PP and Betway boosting Katie by KO/TKO/DQ to 7/2. Maybe they know Katie will take it to the distance for fans to get their moneys worth and also aware she wonât be beaten on points in hometown
Are we in least knowledgeable boxing crowd in the history of boxing territory tonight?
Iâd say so. Know so many up there tonight that legitimately havenât seen a womenâs boxing match before.