Key 2007 Wexford Inter-County Championship Fixtures

FAO: Our foreign based members, Bainne and superleeds, who both got a little bit emotional in Wexford Park yesterday as Wexford brushed Meath aside with a display of attacking verve and imagination:

Peil:

Meitheamh 3rd:
Bank of Ireland Leinster SFC
An L/Cill Mhantin v Loch Garman (Pirc an Chrcaigh)
An Mh/Cill Dara v th Cliath (Pirc an Chrcaigh)

Meitheamh 24th:
Bank of Ireland Leinster SFC Semi-Finals
Loch Garman/An L/Cill Mhantin v An Iar Mh/Longfort/Laois
An Mh/Cill Dara/th Cliath v Ceatharlach/Ubh Fhail (Pirc an Chrcaigh)

Iil 15th:
Bank of Ireland Leinster Football Championship Final

Iomint:

Meitheamh 9th:
Guinness Leinster SHC Semi-Final
th Cliath v Loch Garman (Nowlan Park)

Iil 1st:
Guinness Leinster Hurling Championship Final

Iil 22nd:
Guinness Hurling Championship Quarter Finals (2)

Iil 29th:
Guinness Hurling Championship Quarter Finals (2)

Lnasa 5th:
Guinness All Ireland Senior Hurling Championship Semi-Final
Leinster Champions/QF Winner v QF Winner

Lnasa 12th:
Guinness All Ireland Senior Hurling Championship Semi-Final
Munster Champions/QF Winner v QF Winner

Men Fmhair 2nd:
Guinness All Ireland Hurling Championship Final
(Replay 23/09/07)

From gaa.ie:

Cooper calls time on Model career
Thursday, April 19

'Wexford netminder John Cooper has decided to end his intercounty career in the run up to this year’s championship as a result of work commitments.

The 37-year-old Garda told Model County football manager Paul Bealin that he would not be able to give the required commitment this year and dropped off the panel.

Cooper’s decision ends a 12-season intercounty career and comes as a major blow to the county’s Leinster aspirations. Bealin has already lost John Hudson and Diarmuid Kinsella, who is moving to Hong Kong with work.

Wexford will now have to face either Louth or Wicklow in the Leinster Senior Football Championship on 3 June without Adamstown clubman Cooper.’

Not sure why he would play the full league campaign and then drop out but probably the right time to go. Although he made several very good saves against Meath in the championship last year he’s been looking less and less agile since then. Didn’t look too comfortable in the few league/O’Byrne Cup games I attended this season and while he was an excellent shot stopper in his day his kick-outs have never been the best. The thing is Anthony Masterson from Castletown quit the panel earlier on in the league as he was frustrated that Cooper was still number 1 - Masterson is a far better 'keeper than the lad Hughes from Kilanerin who’s been understudy since he left.

Cheers for the fixtures Bandage hi5 thought you had forgotten
Hadn’t noticed this post, nearly slipped through the net, but for the unfortunate news about
Cooper…the tar eis an cluiche visit to “Coopers” just won’t be the same :drink: :drink: ;D

What’s you’re thoughts on the best weekend/s to ear mark for a trip / session?? ???

bainne, if you were half a fan you’d have them all ear marked. looking forward to following those two peaches in a bag around coppers :o

Quietly confident of beating Louth/Wicklow so that’d set up a potential Leinster Semi against Laois (probably) on June 24th which should be a good game and will be a double header with Dublin and someone else.

Provisionally looking at heading down to Kilkenny and staying over for the night seeing as we’re playing Dublin in the hurling on a Saturday night. Could be a bit of a laugh. Obviously whoever wins this will get thumped by KK so best bet is either of these two games I think.

Hopefully we’ll have a first Leinster Football Final in years too on July 15th.

Our minor hurlers beat Carlow by 1-12 to 2-04 in the Leinster Championship at Wexford Park tonight. This was actually a good result as they’d lost to the same opposition by 2-12 to 0-11 last year and Carlow had a good chunk of survivors from this side and we had 1. They’d also beaten Cork in a recent challenge match and are improving and developing at underage level so it was an encouraging result for us. Liam Dunne and Tom Dempsey are joint managers of this side so I was expecting a vast improvement from last year’s shambles. Need to go on now and keep working - it’s actually a disgrace that we haven’t won a Leinster Minor since 1985.

Have Dublin had a minor outiing yet Bandage do ya know?

Dublin and Kilkenny are straight through to the semi finals based on both of them being the most successful sides at this level in recent years afaik.

There’s a convoluted way to get the other 2 semi finalists. Not sure I’m correct here but I believe there’s 8 other teams involved. There’s 4 ties, like tonight’s one, but no county is eliminated at this stage. The 4 winners of these games are kept apart and play one of the 4 losers. The winners of these ties progress to the quarter finals and the winners of these two games go on to play Dublin and Kilkenny.

So it’s conceivable you could win your first game and lose your second and get eliminated but lose your first and win your second and go through to the quarter finals.

I think.

I think Cork hammered Wexford in the minor challange match Bandage.

Indeed Appendage. Cork beat us 1-24 to 3-07 but Carlow also beat them by a goal recently too.

Not as straighforward as it would appear. Apparently it was played in a storm and in near darkness last night. From the indo:

Wexford capitalise on luck

Wednesday April 25th 2007

Wexford 1-12

Carlow 2-4

Leinster MHC

A LATE scoring flourish helped Wexford to an unconvincing victory in this exciting Leinster MHC opening round game at Wexford Park last night.

With just one minute of normal time remaining, Carlow were leading by a single point, 2-4 to 0-9, but then disaster struck. A long speculative lob from Lee Murphy slipped from the grasp of keeper Kevin Kehoe to finish in the net.

Inspired by this breakthrough which gave Wexford the lead for the first time since the fourth minute, the Model County finished with three unanswered points, two from substitute Jason Rackard and one from Edward Walsh to snatch a rather fortunate victory.

Carlow led 2-1 to 0-6 at the break, the goals coming from Paudie Kehoe and Jason Brennan.

SCORERS - Wexford: L Murphy 1-6, 5f; E Walsh, J Rackard 0-3 each. Carlow: P Kehoe 1-1 frees; J Brennan 1-1; C Clancy 0-2.

WEXFORD - J Byrne; C O’Shaughnessy, D Murphy, E Doyle, J Gahan, J Lacey, C Walsh, P Morris, E Kent, N Walsh, E Walsh, L Murphy, P O’Keeffe, S Tomkins, E Moore. Subs: J Kelly for Moore; S Murphy for D Murphy; S Murphy for N Walsh; J Rackard for O’Keeffe.

CARLOW - K Kehoe, A Corcoran, M Ryan, D Byrne, B Doyle, D Kavanah, D English, M Mullins, D O’Brien, C Coughlan, E Byrne, P Kehoe, D Grennan, D Murphy, J Brennan. Subs: C Clancy for Grennan; J O’Hara for D Byrne (inj); T Nolan for E Byrne; E Kavanagh for Coughlan.

REF - D Connolly (Kilkenny).

http://www.unison.ie/

John Cooper has reversed his decision to retire and is back in the football squad according to today’s national dailies. Apparently he spoke to his Sergeant and they’ve come to an arrangement. You’d swear the Gardai actually do anything - no offence to dancingbaby of course.

Cmon the yella bellies!

Was over in Wexford Park earlier watching my old club, Sarsfields, play Starlights from Enniscorthy in the Senior Football Championship. We lost 2-7 to 0-8 after conceding 2-2 in the first 5 minutes and then missing a whole host of chances after that. We have one really good player upfront called Cian Hore who I think could do a job on the county panel. I don’t know the lad at all as he’s lived in Dublin most of his life but I know a couple of his cousins. These lads are d1icks but it doesn’t alter the fact that Hore is an excellent footballer.

you must be joking bandage? he’s not that good. after all why would he have transferred to the sarsfields if he was? plus his cousins are far better footballers!!

The footballers were due to play Carlow and Offaly over the last few days in their final challenge games before opening their Leinster campaign on June 3. Any Wexicans know how these games went? John Cooper injured his arm in a gardening accident last week and is now doubtful for that game. We’ve a load of niggly injuries that we could really do with clearing up before then.

There’s a full round of local club hurling games on this coming weekend so hopefully the players will come through unscathed. We lost 2-18 to 0-20 in a challenge down in Tipp the weekend before last in what was meant to be a decent work-out. Overall, we appear to be in good shape ahead of the Dublin game on June 9.

Wexford minor hurlers drew 0-17 each with Offaly in the Leinster Quarter Final yesterday. Apparently an excellent game.

Just been talking to a Wexford hurler. They played Limerick last night in a challenge and drew 1-22 to 4-13. He was saying that he expects Nigel Higgins to start against Dublin as he has been very impressive and bagged two goals last night.

They play Waterford on Saturday in last game before facing Dublin on June 9th in Nowlan Park.

Limerick are playing the day after us against Tipperary so we should be at similar levels in our preparation. Not overly enthused about conceding such a large number of points to them and we need to be scoring more points ourselves as we won’t be able to rely on 4 goals every game. I heard about it being a draw, stevie G, but I hadn’t heard about how anyone played. Anyone else looking like forcing their way in other than Higgins? Is PJ Nolan back? Is Ciarn Lyng going the dual player route now?

Ye he is. Dont think he’s likely to figure against Dublin from the start anyway. Not alone is he trying to combine inter-county hurling and football but also the leaving cert.

As for PJ, well he’s doing exams up here at the moment and the impression I get from him is that he is not likely to be considered for the Dublin game. He didnt travel down last night as he had an exam today and so his chances are few and far between. he’ll be there or thereabouts tho from here on in i reckon.

I agree about the game last night. We need to be scoring more points although it’s always good to have a forward line capable of getting goals. our forward line could look wuite different to what it was in the league with Lyng, Higgins, Nolan, and Stephen Doyle all back in the fold now.